We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pearl Harbor and North shore”

Discover Hawaii Tours
Ranked #21 of 332 Tours in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Leave those giant motor coaches to the herd. Savvy travelers join Discover Hawaii Tours on our small-group tours that include the Road to Hana, island sightseeing, eco tours, private tours and much more. Our huge selection of tours and our friendly, professional tour guides create an unforgettable experience of Hawaii that you'll love. We want you to feel at home in our islands, and it's our mission to provide the perfect tour for your Hawaiian vacation. We want you to love our tours so much that you’ll tell your friends! Since 1995, we’ve hand-selected the finest tour guides in the islands. Our guides are experts on Hawaiian history and culture, including Pearl Harbor and ancient Hawaiian folklore. When you choose Discover Hawaii Tours, your tour guide will be as memorable as the breathtaking sights around you.Discover Hawaii Tours is a locally owned and operated company with headquarters in Honolulu.
Castro Valley, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pearl Harbor and North shore”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

What a wonderful day! Jonathan was our driver/guide. From the moment he picked us up until we were dropped off 10 hrs later he shared with us about his home he loves, Oahu. Being raised here he had great stories and lots of laughs. Before we started he ensured we were a family of one, we were together for the day and we would be there for each other. We started with the history of what led to the pacific unrest leading to the bombing of the lovely Pearl Harbor. When we arrived there, Jonathan ensured we were taken care of. The morning was the tour and we then left at 945 for our adventure. Along the way, Jonathan shared stories of the Hawaiian history,culture beaches, family life, towns, growing up and more. We had a wonderful lunchmeat spent time at the beach, went to lookouts, did a bit of shopping and more. The arrangements were easily made and confirmation showed wrong hotel, same name. This was easily fixed the eve prior. It was a wonderful fun exhausting day. Well worth it an highly recommend
Thank you Jonathan

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Debi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Mahalo for the gracious review. We appreciate knowing that Jonathan took good care of you on your tour. We will take “a wonderfully fun exhausting day” as a good thing. It was our pleasure to share the beauty, culture and heritage we're so proud of. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,773 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,016
    404
    134
    98
    121
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What makes a tour is the guide!”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Our guide was Jorge and he was fantastic. We came with friends who never experienced Hawaii and the Pearl Harbor, Dole, and Polynesian Cultural Center tour was perfect for first- time and return visitors. It really provided a look at many popular sites in one trip and provided good time at each location. Very informative and interesting. Would recommend it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Badnlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Mahalo for the review! We are so happy to know that you had a wonderful experience with us. It was our pleasure to share the beauty, culture and heritage we're so proud of. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Discover Tours Hawaii”
Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

We had a superb time taking the Circle Island Eco Adventure Tour with our tour guide John Bolay. He was extremely friendly, and so knowledgeable that we all thought he was a native Hawaiian rather than living here for just three years.
I would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Honolulu. The only thing I would suggest is that you take this tour in the beginning of your stay because John gives you so much information with such enthusiasm that you will want to go back to the sites he stops at so that you can explore these sites on your own.

Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Mahalo for the gracious review. We are happy to know that John took good care of you on your Circle Island Adventure Tour. It was our pleasure to share the beauty, culture and heritage we're so proud of. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Thoroughly awesome day!”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We started with a little problem: 7 in our party, but placed on 2 different buses: got it sorted with a phone call to base, and a swap at the first stop, Dole Pineapple Plantation, but not before our initial guide, Paolo, told everyone he didn’t usually like to stop there and was only going because he had to get us onto the other bus. Once we changed, totally different story: Greg, our tour guide made us extremely welcome, and made this day the absolute best. He went our of his way to actually stop at different places (some street market stalls, and somewhere where one tourist could buy special skin cream; we had 3 swims for the day, saw beautiful waterfalls, scenery, beaches, turtles, Buddhist temple, blow hole, Diamond Head crater..everything: one of the best day tours ever.
I would do it again in a heartbeat.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicity J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Mahalo for the gracious review. We appreciate knowing the circumstances that occurred during your tour. We are happy to know that Greg turned it into a “Thoroughly Awesome Day”. It was our pleasure to share the beauty, culture and heritage we're so proud of. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Pearl Harbour and Circle Island Tour”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We had to get up super early for this tour (pick up at 6.05am) we weren't actually picked up until 6.35 which was a bit annoying. Our bus driver took great pains to say that he wasn't feeling well, and he had personal problems that he was dealing with, so he was trying to find a replacement driver.

We arrived at Pearl Harbour and stood in the long queue to get our tickets. Once we were in, after the gates opened at 7am, the driver then queued for the tickets for us.

Pearl Harbour and the USS Arizona Memorial are so worth the visit. I learnt so much, and it wasn't overly biased - the aim was to talk about the facts of the time, which it did well. So sad that families didn't get closure with their loved ones, and they were in the sunken ship.

We actually signed up for the Pearl Harbour and North Shore Beaches tour, but as our driver went home sick, we joined another tour group and did the circle island tour.

The driver was informative. The bus was air conditioned and the driver did keep checking that the temperature was comfortable. We had lots of stops and clear directions for return times and waiting places.

The places we stopped at were good. Dole Pineapple Plantation (order your food first if you want food because it takes a while if they are busy) the macadamia nut farm (great complimentary coffee and very nice macadamias) a few movie locations for photo opportunities (PM me if you want more info) and the North Shore beaches.

We had a lunch stop at a ranch. Lunch was included and it was quite a good size serving. The only thing is that you can't change the order (I'm gluten free and vegan - so the salad had chicken and was g.f, but the vege sandwich couldn't be changed to g.f bread) with a bag of rice crackers, a bottle of water, and a cookie.

Unfortunately, Hanauama Bay was closed because of the impending hurricanes, so the driver was really sad for us. We got back there another day on the blue bus, so that was okay.

The tour had a real mixed range of ages and nationalities. There was a baby on the tour (the most well behaved baby I've ever met) and a few school aged kids, teenagers and adults. There wasn't any hiking or steep climbs, so perfect for any fitness levels.

We were back at our hotel around 6.30pm, so it was a big day.

I would recommend this tour, and this company. Please ask if you want any more information.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KiwiCat1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Mahalo for the gracious review. We value your feedback and patience with the extenuating circumstances that transpired. It was our pleasure to take you along and share the culture and heritage we're so proud of. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discover Hawaii Tours also viewed

 

Been to Discover Hawaii Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing