We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed! Ultimate Circle Island Oahu Tour.”

Discover Hawaii Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$104.70*
and up
Oahu Circle Island Tour
More Info
$136.12*
and up
Small-Group Oahu Ultimate Circle Island Eco-Adventure
More Info
$188.47*
and up
Pearl Harbor, Dole Plantation and Polynesian Cultural Center Tour from Waikiki
Ranked #20 of 332 Tours in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Leave those giant motor coaches to the herd. Savvy travelers join Discover Hawaii Tours on our small-group tours that include the Road to Hana, island sightseeing, eco tours, private tours and much more. Our huge selection of tours and our friendly, professional tour guides create an unforgettable experience of Hawaii that you'll love. We want you to feel at home in our islands, and it's our mission to provide the perfect tour for your Hawaiian vacation. We want you to love our tours so much that you’ll tell your friends! Since 1995, we’ve hand-selected the finest tour guides in the islands. Our guides are experts on Hawaiian history and culture, including Pearl Harbor and ancient Hawaiian folklore. When you choose Discover Hawaii Tours, your tour guide will be as memorable as the breathtaking sights around you.Discover Hawaii Tours is a locally owned and operated company with headquarters in Honolulu.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed! Ultimate Circle Island Oahu Tour.”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Let me start by saying my family of four did the Discover Hawaii Big Island Volcano tour in early Feb and it was absolutely fantastic. Our guide YB was amazing, so knowledgable and enthusiastic and despite having to return to Oahu due to maintainance issues with Go Airlines (which I've since read is quite common) we still had a full day on the big island and didn't miss a thing!.....
So with that fantastic experience to base our choice of tour on, we booked the Ultimate Circle Island Oahu Tour 2 days later. Our driver was Paolo and he attempted to be chatty and upbeat but did not quite meet our expectation and every stop seemed to be a rushed 5 minutes, including the bathroom visit. Waimea Falls we're closed due to risk of rock slides....fair enough, safety first (but nobody mentioned that when we booked the day before and then lugged bathers and towels around all day - also no refund for forgone entry fees at Waimea $15.00 each). Laniakea "Turtle Beach" was not even mentioned and when I enquired as to when we would "see the sea turtle beach" as the web site stated, the driver's answer was that sea turtles were not restricted to any particular beaches! (But he didn't mention sea turtles in relation to any of our stops). We did not see the Amelia Earhart Lookout though we must have stopped briefly just down the road, Laie Point Lookout was not mentioned or visited. Because of the rain we did not do a boat ride on Moli'i fishpond or have the outdoor lunch on a secret beach( this was unfortunate and no ones fault) but in true TOUR BUS style, apart from our lunch stop, our longest stop was at the affiliated macadamia shop. We felt like we were rushed all day ( I honestly don't know how we would have had time to "swim and walk at Waimea Falls"). We did go to Nuuanu Pali lookout even though the driver expected and was correct that the area was socked in by cloud and rain - so we elected not to get out and to the drivers credit we went and saw a wonderful view of Honolulu from Round top lookout which was a terrific bonus and probably the main highlight considering what had gone before.. I shan't go into his guitar playing session but it really was an unnecessary frustration when we felt rushed all the rest of the time. Reviewing our booking email we note also that we were supposed to "learn about Hawaiian legends, culture and geology with a visit to Hawaiian Heiaus" and visit "Native Hawaiian Botanical Garden" neither of which we can remember from the itinerary. In brief- even allowing for the inclement weather which we had experienced throughout our 12 days in Hawaii, we were disappointed by this tour and despite having sent this email to the company (twice) have not received any response.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Geoff and Vicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grisel S, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for providing feedback, and for booking a tour with us. I apologize for your experience and will speak with our tour director and reservations manager regarding your concern. Its our goal to provide our guests with the ultimate experience. If you have any specific questions, please reach out to me directly. Mahalo, Grisel grisel@discoverhawaiitours.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,759 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,010
    400
    132
    97
    120
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
“Circle Island Oahu with Pearl Harbor Tour”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Normally I don't get to do organised tours when travelling for work but this time I decided that I would, I had one free day in my week so wanted to fill it as much as possible and wow does this tour do that. Kevin or should I call him Cousin kev? What a fantastic guide very knowledgeable, and so full of energy. He kept us going through the whole day.

There are a lot of stops on this tour and while driving Cousin Kev kept us informed of local things, we slowed to watch whales breaching and fluking it was spectacular. A great way to see what the island has to offer, which can help you make up the rest of your itinerary for your stay.

Mahalo Nui Loa Cousin Kev, i take the beautiful island of Oahu and the time you spent with us away with me in my heart. Oh and the reason I didn’t give 5 stars is i wanted to stop at some of the places we travelled through but the tour has a schedule……

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MatokaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grisel S, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Mahalo for joining us, on behalf of Kevin and the Ohana at Discover Hawaii Tours, we hope to see you one day, Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great visit to Pearl Harbor”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Did the tour from Waikiki to Pearl Harbor for a half day. Pickup was prompt and our driver / tour guide DENNIS was super entertaining and friendly. He provided good history on everything and it all was planned out very precisely for us. I'd definitely do Discover Hawaii tours again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank TomNikl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grisel S, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
On behalf of the Ohana at Discover Hawaii Tours, thanks for visiting Pearl Harbor with us!! Until we meet again, Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Maui to Pearl Harbor Tour”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Full day but a great tour. Maui to Pearl Harbor, Dole Plantation, North Shore and the Polynesian Cultural Centre. We left the Grand Wailea on Maui at 4am and arrived back at 9:30pm but wow talk about packing alot into one day! Our tour guide Kevin, a native Hawaian was fantastic!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Sharolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grisel S, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Aloha and thank you for spending time with us, so glad you enjoyed your trip. Wow, sounds like you had a jam packed day, fun can be work lol!!!! We hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Hana Trip Ever”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We started with 2 breakfast burritos with eggs, cheese, and bacon!! After breakfast the trip began. Our driver was vey knowledgeable about the mountain ranges, gullies, waterfalls, and the ocean peninsulas. We ate lunch, made flower bracelets, and was entertained with beautiful hawaiian music at a beautiful plantation property.
We also had a 3year old baby and brought her car seat which I highly recommend. It was a long drive and the baby could sleep comfortable. The seats were very comfy.
I would recommend bring a jacket and extra clothes and towels. Great trip would recommend to everyone.

Helpful?
1 Thank KKALAULI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grisel S, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Mahalo for joining us on your Hawaii Adventure in Hana, its is truly an amazing place, you're right about bringing extra clothes (lol), we will suggest that to future guests!!! Sending you much Aloha from your Ohana at Discover Hawaii Tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discover Hawaii Tours also viewed

 

Been to Discover Hawaii Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing