We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic day out!”

Discover Hawaii Tours
Ranked #23 of 336 Tours in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Leave those giant motor coaches to the herd. Savvy travelers join Discover Hawaii Tours on our small-group tours that include the Road to Hana, island sightseeing, eco tours, private tours and much more. Our huge selection of tours and our friendly, professional tour guides create an unforgettable experience of Hawaii that you'll love. We want you to feel at home in our islands, and it's our mission to provide the perfect tour for your Hawaiian vacation. We want you to love our tours so much that you’ll tell your friends! Since 1995, we’ve hand-selected the finest tour guides in the islands. Our guides are experts on Hawaiian history and culture, including Pearl Harbor and ancient Hawaiian folklore. When you choose Discover Hawaii Tours, your tour guide will be as memorable as the breathtaking sights around you.Discover Hawaii Tours is a locally owned and operated company with headquarters in Honolulu.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

My family and I had only a few days in Hawaii so decided to take a tour. We were so glad that we decided on Discover Hawaii Tours! Dennis our guide was fabulous! His sense of humour, obvious love of what he does and knowledge made for an informative fun day! We went to Pearl Harbour, and around the island, visiting Dole Plantation and the set of several series made in Hawaii, magnificent beaches and Diamond Head to name a few things. On our tour lunch was proved as part of the charge and it was very nice. I would recommend this company and Dennis to anyone who wants to see Oahu and have a laugh along the way.

Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,863)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,680 - 1,684 of 3,863 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

We met this tour at the Ala Moana Hotel. Pickup was on time, the driver (Keanu) was full of information and lots of fun. We toured the Arizona Memorial and the USS Missouri, visited the Veterans Cemetery, and did a tour of Honolulu. It is very nice to be on a tour, as you can get into these very popular attractions quickly - no long lines.

1  Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Mahalo Nui Loa from your Kenau and your Ohana at Discover Hawaii Tours, until we meet again.....Aloha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

My husband and I booked this tour on 6 December 2013. Last minute we changed from the climate controlled bus to the windowless safari bus. Excellent decision. Not only was the weather perfect, but it allowed for pictures from the bus. Our tour guide was a very knowledgable, friendly energetic young man. I loved all of the stops, but my favorite stop was at a local fruit stand. It was a lot of stops crammed in the day and we were exhausted when we got home, but it allowed us to circle the entire island, see many of the beautiful beaches and sites and not have to drive (traffic is a nightmare). We will return and when we do, we will look into taking another of their tours to cover what we were unable to see during this trip. We were made to feel very welcome during the entire trip. We didn't have a bad experience with any of the discover hawaii tours employees. Recommended!

1  Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Aloha from Discover Hawaii Tours. We are delighted that you had such an awesome experience with us and wish you the very best for a great 2014!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We booked Discover Hawaii’s “WWII Start to End” tour (AKA “Battleships of WWII” tour, tour #8). Several advantages to this tour include transportation in small vans, not large buses; a knowledgeable, friendly guide (Kauka, known as Special K); several options for tour times; and a tour including the Pearl Harbor Memorial with the USS Arizona Memorial and two museums; the USS Missouri; a drive through Punchbowl cemetery; and a short tour through Honolulu. It did not include the USS Bowfin submarine nor the Pacific Aviation museum. The disadvantage, if it can be called such, is that even at about 7 hours, we felt rushed, although that was mostly a reflection on how much there was to do. If there were a way to take parts of this tour on two days, I’d recommend that, but I don’t think anyone offers such an option. In lieu of that, this tour was an excellent way to go.

1  Thank Geekguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

My family and I took a full day tour of Pearl Harbour with Discover Hawaii Tours.
We visited the Arizona Memorial, the USS Missouri, the USS Bowfin submarine, the Pacific Aviation Museum and the Punchbowl National Cemetery of the Pacific.
We were picked up from our accommodation at 06:15 AM and dropped back at the end of the day, about 4:30PM.
This tour is a long day, but well worth it. There is a lot to see, but we were given adequate time at each attraction. There was also time built into the tour to stop and have lunch at the Blue Heaven Cafe, attached to the Pacific Aviation Museum.
We had a fabulous guide who knew his subject, and kept us entertained throughout the day.
He made sure we were in the right place at the right time, so as to not miss out on any of the important sights as we made out way around Pearl Harbour.
The cost of the tour included all entry fees.

Thank Peter_Beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discover Hawaii Tours also viewed

 

Been to Discover Hawaii Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing