We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour, awesome tourguide”

Discover Hawaii Tours
Ranked #21 of 335 Tours in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Leave those giant motor coaches to the herd. Savvy travelers join Discover Hawaii Tours on our small-group tours that include the Road to Hana, island sightseeing, eco tours, private tours and much more. Our huge selection of tours and our friendly, professional tour guides create an unforgettable experience of Hawaii that you'll love. We want you to feel at home in our islands, and it's our mission to provide the perfect tour for your Hawaiian vacation. We want you to love our tours so much that you’ll tell your friends! Since 1995, we’ve hand-selected the finest tour guides in the islands. Our guides are experts on Hawaiian history and culture, including Pearl Harbor and ancient Hawaiian folklore. When you choose Discover Hawaii Tours, your tour guide will be as memorable as the breathtaking sights around you.Discover Hawaii Tours is a locally owned and operated company with headquarters in Honolulu.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I travel a lot and have joined many tours. I wasn't expecting to book a tour in Oahu since I've been to Hawaii several times, but my friend has already bought us a tour package.

To my surprise, Hana, our tour guide and driver was amazing. He was enthusiastic, full of energy from the minuet of departure til the end when dropping us off at the hotel. His Hawaiian style humor and narration of the history and culture of Hawaii made the trip fun and educational. Like the name of the tour company Discover Hawaii, I discovered the Hawaii I never knew.

1  Thank curtisw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your tour. We are thrilled to hear that your tour guide Hana was amazing, and that he was able to help you discover Hawaii. We take great pride in showing off parts of the island that many visitors do not know about. We hope that we will see you on tour during your next trip to Hawaii.

Mahalo,
Discover Hawaii Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,844)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,784 - 1,788 of 3,844 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were very pleased with the points of interest included in this tour. Our driver/guide, Keith, was very informative and included many historical and current tidbits and anecdotes that made the places come alive. It was great to learn from a native Hawaiian who obviously relished providing the information while making the trip an entertaining one. The bus was comfortable and there were sufficient stops to allow for stretching of the legs and superb photo opportunities. It was a full day and a decent lunch was included in the price. A tour well worth taking.

Thank ErrolnMyrna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Well if i could rate a zero I would. We never had the chance to experience the "experience" due to the fact that they forgot to pick us up. We booked the road to Hana tour and were so disappointed in the fact they just didnt bother getting us. We called at 530am to confirm our 6:45am pick up from our Hotel - Aston Kaanapali Shores, and they confirmed. My family and I waited and waited called and called, spoke to several reps none of which could ever reach the tour driver, were left on hold for 20 minutes at a time, assured we would not be forgotten. Told the driver was on his way, told us he may be delayed in traffic, then told us they would call us back....well over an hour later, after numerous calls ou OUR PART they finally got a supervisor on the phone who informed us that we indeed had been forgotten. Then to add insult to injury they offered us one free ticket in lieu of their mistake. If the cost were an issue we wouldnt even had booked the tour its very expensive, our main thing was we were looking forward to visiting one of the many wonders in Maui and were not able to do so because of Discover Hawaii Tours, our other days were booked with other activities so were are unable to reschedule a tour with any other company. Again we were very disappointed, and unfortunately we will never be able to see the Hana road tour unless we come back to Maui. This trip was a bucket list, and the opportunity probably will not be available to us again. WILL NEVER RECOMMEND THIS TOUR COMPANY TO ANYONE WANTING TO "DISCOVER HAWAII"! zero stars ....

5  Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Aloha,

We are very sorry with the result of your tour and deeply regret that you were not able to take our Road to Hana Tour with us. We have taken actions with this incident, and hope that you can see passed this error.

As a result of your experience, the tour guide that was due to take you on tour has been terminated, and all of our remaining tour guides have gone through mandatory tour guide training so that this will not happen in the future. We hope that the full refund that you were given and the offer of a discounted tour was some consolation for this missed opportunity. We'd like to take this chance to remind you that the offer for a discount stands, should you return to Maui at any time.

We hope that you enjoyed your trip to Maui, and again, we apologize for this mistake.

Mahalo,
Discover Hawaii Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We booked the Oahu Circle Island tour and had a fabulous time! Our tour guide Jessie made the tour fun and he was full of information. One stop was prettier then the next! I would highly recommend Discover Hawaii over other tour company. They use a small bus instead of a large bus like others use which keeps the tour more personal.

Thank Tropicalfun101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your tour! We are so happy to hear that you had a fabulous time on your Circle Island Tours, and that Jessie helped to make your tour fun. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Hawaii and that you are making plans to return soon.

Mahalo,
Discover Hawaii Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife and I took the all day island Discover tour with "Kimo" as our tour guide. He was so much fun and very informative. My wife and I got the personal touch with this young man from Discover Hawaii Tours. I believe the Pearl Harbor and South Shore Oahu Sightseeing Tour (4B) is the best choice to see the Oahu Island. This tour company is the best on the island and a very memorable experience with this tour company. Thank you again Kimo and Discover Hawaii Tours we will never forget you. John and Pat from Ontario, Canada.

5  Thank John6069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discover Hawaii Tours also viewed

 

Been to Discover Hawaii Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing