We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Your 15a - waste of money for Tour guide”

Discover Hawaii Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$104.70*
and up
Oahu Circle Island Tour
Ranked #20 of 322 Tours in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Leave those giant motor coaches to the herd. Savvy travelers join Discover Hawaii Tours on our small-group tours that include the Road to Hana, island sightseeing, eco tours, private tours and much more. Our huge selection of tours and our friendly, professional tour guides create an unforgettable experience of Hawaii that you'll love. We want you to feel at home in our islands, and it's our mission to provide the perfect tour for your Hawaiian vacation. We want you to love our tours so much that you’ll tell your friends! Since 1995, we’ve hand-selected the finest tour guides in the islands. Our guides are experts on Hawaiian history and culture, including Pearl Harbor and ancient Hawaiian folklore. When you choose Discover Hawaii Tours, your tour guide will be as memorable as the breathtaking sights around you.Discover Hawaii Tours is a locally owned and operated company with headquarters in Honolulu.
Victoria, VA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Your 15a - waste of money for Tour guide”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Polynesian Culture Center has an abundance of students in addition to the signage to give directions to the villages.
Dole Pineapple - they only allowed us 30 minutes & this place is huge. Our instructions were 10 minutes to get ice cream; 10 min. For bathroom; 10 min. To browse & head back to the bus.
One 10 minute beach stop to take pictures
Too much money for the little service provided.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MizDag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Aloha MizDag,

Thank you for taking the time to review your tour. We wanted to address some of your complaints.

This tour spends the entire afternoon at the Polynesian Cultural Center. Arriving around lunch time, your day at the center lasts until approximately 10:00pm, including your luau and the evening show, 'HA: Breath of Life'. We created this tour to satisfy the requests of guests who wanted to spend an extended period at the Polynesian Cultural Center. We have many guests who are able to visit all 7 island villages, enjoy the parade, eat lunch, and check out the extras that the center has to offer. We are not sure why you were not able to fit all of this in prior to the start of the luau.

The Dole Pineapple Plantation is a great place to visit. However, our tour is on a schedule and we must arrive at the Polynesian Cultural Center at a set time. 30 minutes to browse Dole is plenty of time, and in fact we have added some time to it recently, at the request of our valued guests. We choose to stop here because it is a very important part of Oahu, and do encourage guests to return if they wish to spend more time exploring.

The money that you paid for this tour covers all of your admissions to Polynesian Cultural Center, including the fee to enter the park, all you can eat BBQ lunch buffet, tickets and seating at the show, Ali'i Luau buffet, and the cost to participate in the luau. Plus, you expert tour guide for the day.

Thank you again for taking the time to review your tour. We hope that you enjoyed your trip to Hawaii.

Mahalo,
Discover Hawaii Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,896
    386
    129
    92
    115
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So many screw ups!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Pearl Harbor tour itself would have been great, except for the many mistakes made by this company! We were picked up first, then had to circle the block to go to a hotel across the street, then circled the block AGAIn to end up picking someone up at the hotel next door to us! This took over 35 minutes and seemed like HORRIBLe planning. We got to Pearl Harbor and we were dropped off and left on our own for 2 hours, then at pick up time, no guide. Another guide showed up to say our bus was broken, and about 30 minutes later our guide showed up and blamed another guide for messing up and screwing up the schedule. Not sure which one was lying to us. We were then driven and Dropped off again at the USS Missouri. I didn't realize this tour was actually just a glorified taxi service - the guides never stayed with us at the actual places! Once again came back out at pick up time (after rushing off the Missouri and missing half the boat). to then be left stranded another 45 minutes by our guide (who was obviously off with another tour- were they just double booked?) A couple phone calls to the dispatch center by some annoyed guests told us nothing, he was 5 minutes away for about 30 minutes. More lies. Overall I was quite disappointed in this tour, left feeling ripped off and with a sick infant with us, quite annoyed by the delays and lies!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KerryVara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Aloha KerryVera,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the fact that our guests take the time to review us, whether the reviews are positive or negative. We take the negative reviews quite seriously, and address each complaint individually, hoping to clear up any issues that have arisen. We would like to address what you have had to say.

The streets throughout Waikiki are one-way streets, and we are taking reservations for our tours up to the time that the tours depart from Waikiki. We aim to satisfy every single person who wishes to join us on tour, and sometimes it means adding a few extra stops as we go. The planning and routing might not seem to make sense to those on the bus, but there is a method to our routing. Remember, we have been doing this for nearly 20 years.

To refer to your tour and tour guides as a taxi service is very incorrect. Your tour guide is an expert in Hawaiian history, and the narration given during your drive is definitely something that you would not have gotten from a taxi service. On board the USS Missouri, you were given a thrilling tour of the deck by a guide from the USS Missouri. Those guides are included with the cost of your our, and as good as our tour guides are, the USS Missouri tour guides are experts on the battleship. We would love to be able to conduct tours on board the ship, be we must give way to other experts at times.

Often times, our tour guides are assisting each other in moving guests back to Waikiki and to other destinations. Your time on board the USS Missouri also gives our guides a chance to grab lunch. Again, we have many years of experience in operating tours. What seems to not make sense to others, makes perfect sense to us.

We are not quite sure why you have felt lied to. Our dispatch is in constant communication with our tour guides, and know their movements constantly. 30 minutes is enough time to drive from Pearl Harbor to Waikiki with minor traffic delays. And please remember that the traffic on Oahu can be a major factor in drive times.

Thank you again for your business, and for taking the time to review your tour. We hope you enjoyed your trip to Hawaii.

Mahalo,
Discover Hawaii Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
566 reviews
257 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“There were great things and then not so great...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was an interesting tour company. We took three tours with them, Circle Island, Pearl Harbor (with Bowfin, Missouri, and Air Museum) and the Chief's Luau.

The island tour had some wonderful things to see that you left you just gobsmacked by the beauty of the place. However, it also only gave us 20 minutes at the Dole Plantation. This was enough time to enter the shop there and spend money before leaving and not really seeing anything of interest. A waste of time really. There was another similar stop later on that did exactly the same thing, a macadamia coffee place where there were a few stalls selling stuff. Not what I expected. We've never had this on a tour so blatantly pushed like this.

Pearl Harbor and the associated sites visited was superb and well run.

The Chief's Luau was excellent, brilliant really and a review of it will follow soon. But Discover Hawaii Tours arrangements were below poor in regards of the pick-up. The address on the voucher emailed to us was for a hotel (the Miramar) and the street (Walina St) the hotel was supposedly on. However, Walina St was over the road from the hotel extending off the street the hotel was on (Kuhio Ave). Now this shouldn't have been too much of an issue I hear you say, but wait there's more. There's a large bus stop on Walina St, absolutely huge, there were five buses parked there when we arrived. There's a much much smaller one near the entrance to the Miramar Hotel. A small van and a bus were able to fit there. You were sort of left wondering which one they were going to use. Unfortunately you couldn't see one bus stop from the other with both being just around the corner so we stood on the corner waiting for the Discover Hawaii bus to pull up to one of them. It didn't. So we waited and waited and then from the VIP Tour bus a man comes over to see us to see if we're the ones he's waiting for. We were. The bus and us had been looking at each other for 10 minutes because they were in a bus not belonging to Discover. A joint tour type of thing I assume.

I know it seems silly in hindsight but I really believe it is not too much to ask that the correct address details for a tour pick-up are supplied to you at the beginning.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BagmanNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
loha BagmanNZ-

Thank you for taking the time to review your tour with us. We would like to offer a response to the points that you have made in your review.

Our Circle Island Tours are meant to show off Oahu's natural beauty, and your comments are great to hear. Taking a drive around the island and learning the history of Hawaii are the point of the tour. The stop at Dole Pineapple Plantation is to visit an important site in Hawaii's agricutlre history. Over the years, we have had numerous reviews and comments regarding our stop here, and we have found that the time allotted is the perfect amount of time. Dole offers a variety of treats to purchase, but if you choose to bypass the gift shop and head out the back, there is an abundant variety of pineapples from around the world.

As for your pick-up arrangements with Chief's Luau: Discover Hawaii Tours does not operate this activity. Instead, Chief's Luau provides transportation. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the luau, it really is one of the best. However, the transporation aspect of this is entirely out of our control. As is the pick-up arrangements at the hotels in Waikiki. Many of the hotels along Kuhio Ave. and Kalakaua Ave do not have an adequate pick-up area, and pick-up locations vary depending on the provider and the activity. We will be in contact with Chief's Luau to find a soluton for communicating pick-up locations.

We hope that you enjoyed your trip to Hawaii, and would like to thank you again for choosing Discover Hawaii Tours.

Mahalo,
Discover Hawaii Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent day at Pearl Harbor!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a perfect way to see Pearl Harbor! We had wanted to get the free tickets through the government website but, due to the sequester, there are fewer tours and the tickets were all booked. We signed up with Discover Hawaii and were not disappointed! We were picked up at about 6:00 am, on a small tour bus ( about 20 people). We were at Pearl Harbor by 7:30. Our tour tickets were for 9:30, which left plenty of time to tour the rest of the facility. Dennis was our guide and he was very knowledgeable and gave us a lot of tips ahead of time to make our stay more enjoyable. We left there about 11:15ish, toured downtown Honolulu and were back in Waikiki by 12:30 or so. If you a big history buff and want to read every word of every sign and see every bit of Pearl Harbor, this tour might not be long enough for you, but otherwise it was perfect!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pearl Harbor and City Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We searched Tripadvisor for the best tours in Oahu and booked our Pearl Harbor Tour and City Tour with Discover Hawaii Tours. The initial contact with the Customer Service Dept was not the best experience as we had told them the wrong hotel pick up and had to contact them repeatedly to fix, which caused some frustration on our part. However the tour and our tour guide, Greg were FABULOUS! Greg was very knowledgable and informative on city facts and did so with a smile and humor. Once we got to Pearl Harbor he provided a thorough and passionate description and explanation of the events that lead up to the attack. He also provided some information for all of us on where to sit on the ferry to the memorial to get the best view and pictures as well as things to look for. My family had a memorable visit to the site. We definately would use them again when visiting Hawaii.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank viennabrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discover Hawaii Tours also viewed

 

Been to Discover Hawaii Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing