We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Day from Hell!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Discover Hawaii Tours

Discover Hawaii Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
and up
Oahu Circle Island Tour
Ranked #20 of 316 Tours in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Leave those giant motor coaches to the herd. Savvy travelers join Discover Hawaii Tours on our small-group tours that include the Road to Hana, island sightseeing, eco tours, private tours and much more. Our huge selection of tours and our friendly, professional tour guides create an unforgettable experience of Hawaii that you'll love. We want you to feel at home in our islands, and it's our mission to provide the perfect tour for your Hawaiian vacation. We want you to love our tours so much that you’ll tell your friends! Since 1995, we’ve hand-selected the finest tour guides in the islands. Our guides are experts on Hawaiian history and culture, including Pearl Harbor and ancient Hawaiian folklore. When you choose Discover Hawaii Tours, your tour guide will be as memorable as the breathtaking sights around you.Discover Hawaii Tours is a locally owned and operated company with headquarters in Honolulu.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Day from Hell!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our day started at 4:45 am, from Kaanapali as we were told we needed to MAKE SURE we didn't miss our flight, especially since we were not issued boarding passes or seats prior to flight. Upon arrival - no one to meet us. We went to baggage area and saw one of the vehicles. Knocked on door, driver was on phone, so we just waited outside. Finally he let us in, told us he was not our driver, was just told to pick us up, some kind of confusion with our driver and some other party. Then our non-driver just drops us off at the Arizona memorial, said here is your tickets go check your bags (so this was at about 9am). Told us meet our 'driver' at 12:30pm. Luckily we were smart enough to grab a hot dog on the go, as all our snacks were in our bags, as was our suntan lotion etc. Still can't pick up bag, brought us to the Missouri, said he was dropping us off and he was to go finish some other tour because somebody was going home sick (this was the day after St. Patrick's Day, so ???), this was about 1pm said he would pick us up at 3pm. Tour lasted about 35 minutes, looked around for about another 20 minutes and we were done. So another hour and 5 minutes to wait! At around 3:15pm tour company called one of the passengers and said driver was stuck in traffic, he showed up around 3:40pm, two hours and forty minutes after drop off, he took us back to Arizona where we could finally pick up our bags! So from 9am to 4pm we were without our bags. Then did a 'city tour' in total traffic jam, so not much of a tour. Then he drops us off at some hotel and says some other tour driver will take us back to the airport. This is now 5:15pm and we were supposed to be at airport by 5:30pm. My hubby is stressed out to the max. At 5:30pm another tour driver stops at hotel and says, he's not our guy. Then at 5:45pm another driver stops at hotel and says, he's not our guy either. Finally our tour driver shows up at around 6pm. Flight leaves at 7pm and remember traffic is horrible. Finally gets us to airport at 6:30 pm, barely made flight. We will never book with this tour company again. Also after spending almost $800, these were not deluxe tours at Arizona or Missouri, those would have come with tour headsets!

Visited March 2013
5 Thank Teri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Aloha Teri,

Thank your for taking the time to share your thoughts on our tour. We would like to offer some explanation to a few or your complaints.

1) Tickets are e-ticketed for this flight, and it is stated on your confirmation letter. Also, we advise a 1 hour check-in for the flight, which departs Maui at 8:00am.

2) You've made 2 references to the no-bags policy at Pearl Harbor. This is a strict policy handed down by the Federal Government and this policy is stated multiple times on our website. You were also notified of this policy on March 17, 2013 during your reconfirmation call with our Reservation Agent.

3) Traffic on a day to day basis is unpredictable, and traffic delays are entirely out of our control. This is also stated on our website.

4) At no time or place on our website was it stated that headsets were included with the tour. The expectation of these did not come from Discover Hawaii Tours.

We would like to apologize for the confusion with the drivers and tour guides. We ask that you contact our Operation Manger to discuss a partial refund for your tour.

Again, thank you for taking the time to review your tour. We do take the very seriously and use the information provided to improve our tours. We hope to share more of Hawaii with you should you return.

Discover Hawaii Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worth the Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

You have the option of a full day tour or just a half day tour. Discover will pick you up at your hotel. We visited Diamond Head, Crater Park, saw the "Beverly Hills" area and saw the taping of Hawaii 5-0 (Not part of the tour, just happened to be filming along our route)
Dennis was an informative tour guide. Very friendly. Bring cash to tip him at the end.

Visited March 2013
1 Thank MeAnn_Irvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
353 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Oahu in a day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

A great way to see Oahu in a day!

We are staying on the Big Island for the Lavaman triathlon in Kona. So only had a day on Oahu. Would have liked to spent more time at Pearl Harbor (and at the Dole plantation), but got to see a lot in one day.

Dennis was a good tour guide, with entertaining stories and corny jokes that kept us laughing. And despite a family of 8 who didn't seem to be able to tell time, he kept us more or less on schedule.

We had a mini-bus with 23 people. Box lunch was actually pretty good, a sandwich or salad. He also offered lots of recommendations for folks to come back in their rental cars if they wanted to see more.

I don't care for tour companies much, but would recommend this tour if you don't have much time, but want to see a lot.

Visited March 2013
1 Thank tazman1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pearl harbor experiance 2a”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Cousin Kevin was our tour guide, he was awsome and very knowledgeable. I felt we did not get enough time at the mighty mo or the aviation museum to see everything with out being rushed. We were the second to last hotel stop and we were back at 4pm. Not supposed to be back until approx 4;30pm. Maybe we could of spent more time somewere? I would recommend this tour if you want to see everything about pearl harbor. I wrote this paragraph on the discover website and the only part they posted was the first sentence. That I don't think is right.

Visited March 2013
1 Thank ervin321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We toured most of the Island of Oahu. We had a great time with our tour guild Dennis. He was funny and very informative! The tour itself was great, we went to most of the places we wanted to see. Just wish we had more time at some of the locations! It's an all day thing, so make sure you bring snacks! Thanks for the fun tour Dennis!

Thank Jeriberrry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discover Hawaii Tours also viewed


Been to Discover Hawaii Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing