We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of money.Go on your own.Pearl Harbor Tour”

Discover Hawaii Tours
Ranked #22 of 332 Tours in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Leave those giant motor coaches to the herd. Savvy travelers join Discover Hawaii Tours on our small-group tours that include the Road to Hana, island sightseeing, eco tours, private tours and much more. Our huge selection of tours and our friendly, professional tour guides create an unforgettable experience of Hawaii that you'll love. We want you to feel at home in our islands, and it's our mission to provide the perfect tour for your Hawaiian vacation. We want you to love our tours so much that you’ll tell your friends! Since 1995, we’ve hand-selected the finest tour guides in the islands. Our guides are experts on Hawaiian history and culture, including Pearl Harbor and ancient Hawaiian folklore. When you choose Discover Hawaii Tours, your tour guide will be as memorable as the breathtaking sights around you.Discover Hawaii Tours is a locally owned and operated company with headquarters in Honolulu.
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Waste of money.Go on your own.Pearl Harbor Tour”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Tour guide was nice,but apparently her job was to drive us there then point us where to go then meet back up together with our group and we repeated this through the day. I could have done this and saved money and time.We got no extra information.
Go on your own,save money,enjoy & most of all pay your respects to all our servicemen past & present.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JimmyBoyBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Aloha JimmyBoyBob-

Thank you for taking the time to review your tour. We take all of our reviews very seriously, and we are disappointed that you were not happy with your tour.

Our tours are designed to allow our guests time to explore Pearl Harbor alone. This gives everyone the chance to explore the museums, memorials, and exhibits at their leisure, and to spend their time reflecting as they wish.

On tour, guests are guided throughout the day. Each Pearl Harbor museum provides a Tour Guide, and Discover Hawaii Tours Tour Guides provide a rich narration of the events leading up to the attacks during the drive to Pearl Harbor, and following the time at Pearl Harbor during the Historic Honolulu City Tour. During the drive to Pearl Harbor, our Tour Guides point out what is being seen, historic landmarks, and a few local favorite places. During the drive through Historic Downtown Honolulu, history of the most significant landmarks on Oahu is shared.

Mahalo for joining us on tour. We really appreciate your business and would love to have you on tour again during your next trip to Hawaii.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,776 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,019
    404
    134
    98
    121
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East palestine OH
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Circle the Island Tour”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This tour was a full day from pick up at the hotel to drop off. Our tour guide Bruce was informative and attentive to the needs of the group. The tour is organized and directions for time at stops were clear. This tour is an excellent way to see the island of Oahu and hit all the major attractions. We loved the tour from the beginning to end. If you want an overview of Oahu, this is the tour for you.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank frogpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Aloha Frogpat,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about your experience with us on Trip Advisor. We are so happy you got to discover Oahu's wonders with us. Bruce is a really amazing guide and we're thrilled he helped you have a great time on your tour.

We hope you can come back and visit us soon!

Mahalo Nui Loa & A Hui Hou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunbury
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pearl harbour tour Honolulu”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We have just completed our tour and were very fortunate to have Mat as our guide.
He wa very funny, informative and made our day very special,nothing was to much trouble for him.

We found the tour gave us everything and more. We recommend this company and try and get on Mats bus for a great day.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Aloha nellieSunbury,

Mahalo nui loa for writing about your positive experience with us on your Pearl Harbor tour. Mat is a great guide and we're so happy that he made your day at Pearl Harbor that much more amazing.

I'm sure he would be thrilled with your recommendation as a guide.

We hope that you can return to the islands and spend another day with us soon!

A Hui Hou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Volcano Tour - Terrible trip”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Signed up on 2/22/13 and received our confirmation/tour details for the tour on 2/25/13. Bus was late by about 30-40 minutes. When bus did show up we found out that 2 groups had flown in at different times. 1st fly in group was picked up and taken to Mauna Loa mac nut location. 2nd group was picked up and all of them went to Rainbow Falls and a black sand beach without us being picked up yet, so we missed these attractions and another one on our schedule. Called cust. service and was told that the rainbow was due to the color of trees, tour driver and other customers told us the falls and rainbows were great! Thanks for the info:-( Lunch was at a diffent location than what was on our schedule. We were told that the tour had not gone there for quite some time. As we were aout to leave the lunch, the tour driver directed us t olook at a map that he handed out to the fly-in group but not us. He was visibly disturbed when we asked for the map. Weather was iffy and when we got to one attraction, the driver went past it and told us we would get back to it. When we got back to the attraction, the weather had gotten worse and the driver did not stop, so we missed that attraction also. I would have thought that with the weather conditions, we would have stopped to view/take pictures before the weather got bad. In the end, we got lumped in with a fly in tour group which did have a different schedule than what we were sent. Later in the day, cust. service did call us back and told us that the rainbow falls and black sand beach were out our back door from where we were staying. This was funny because we were staying 30 miles out of Hilo in the opposite direction of the falls.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Aloha Richard-

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us on Trip Advisor.

We sincerely apologize for your tour and would like to address your dissatisfaction. The tour that you are speaking of was not operated properly and appropriate measures have been taken. We have flown our Tour Guide Supervisor from Oahu to the Big Island for re-training and the guide that operated your tour was removed from our schedule for 3 days of re-training.

The sites that you missed should not have been missed, and for our valued guests to miss out on Rainbow Falls and a Black Sand Beach is inexcusable. We would like to speak with you further about this matter, and would like for you to contact us regarding a partial refund for your tour.

Please contact our Honolulu office at (808) 737-3700.

Mahalo,
Discover Hawaii Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pearl Harbor and City Tour”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We booked this specific tour because it included the Bowfin sub, the USS Missouri, and the Aviation Museum in addition to the Pearl Harbor memorial.

Our day started very early - 4:00 am shuttle to the airport in Maui and a quick flight over to Oahu. The flight was pleasant and we had no trouble finding our guide. We liked the small buses very much. The complex at Pearl Harbor is amazing - we really enjoyed everything we saw. The museums are so well done and informative. We were not rushed in the least. Unfortunately, we were there on a windy and rainy day and did not get to to out to the memorial. The weather had caused cancellation of the boats running for several days, which was understandable. Our next stop was the Missouri - another very interesting place to visit. Still rainy at times, but there are covered areas on the decks so it was only an inconvenience. We then moved to the Pacific Aviation Museum and had lunch - this was good but there were several tours there at the time and the restaurant was packed! Still had plenty of time to eat before touring the museum and the hangars. This is a very well-done museum and the collection of aircraft is impressive.

Ok, after all of this walking and touring, I realized I would have been happy purchasing just this portion of the tour. The day was wearing on, and we were getting tired. Fortunately, we got back on our bus and did the scenic drive through Honolulu. I was just glad to sit down. It was raining again and well, Honolulu is just a big city with traffic. I will say I'm glad we did this portion just because of the Punchbowl Cemetery. On a driving tour, you really don't "see" much. (the Iolani Palace and the King Kamehameha statue are nice, but its a drive-by) The last stop was a "quick drop off at Waikiki Beach" which was really a drop off at the Westin Hotel. This part - I could have done without. I was surprised that our driver took off and told us another bus was going to pick us up - he had been with us all day and I got the impression that 'we are done with you now". We were only going to have about 30 minutes on the beach - barely time to walk a few steps. We tried to stop and have a drink at Dukes, just 2 doors away from the Westin, but couldn't even get served, so we wandered back out to the street to wait on the new bus. We were picked up promptly, but I wasn't the only person in the group that felt "dropped". We did make it back to the airport in plenty of time for our return flight to Maui.

Overall - I would skip the City Tour portion of this excursion if I were choosing again. I feel like this tour company is very good and would use them again. I would suggest they tweak that city tour though - in my opinion, if I wanted to see Waikiki Beach, I'd have stayed on Oahu and scheduled a proper visit there. Then again, it was a long rainy day and we were tired, so I realize that does play into my review.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank scoobagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discover Hawaii Tours also viewed

 

Been to Discover Hawaii Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing