We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Island Volcano Eco Tour”

Discover Hawaii Tours
Ranked #23 of 335 Tours in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Leave those giant motor coaches to the herd. Savvy travelers join Discover Hawaii Tours on our small-group tours that include the Road to Hana, island sightseeing, eco tours, private tours and much more. Our huge selection of tours and our friendly, professional tour guides create an unforgettable experience of Hawaii that you'll love. We want you to feel at home in our islands, and it's our mission to provide the perfect tour for your Hawaiian vacation. We want you to love our tours so much that you’ll tell your friends! Since 1995, we’ve hand-selected the finest tour guides in the islands. Our guides are experts on Hawaiian history and culture, including Pearl Harbor and ancient Hawaiian folklore. When you choose Discover Hawaii Tours, your tour guide will be as memorable as the breathtaking sights around you.Discover Hawaii Tours is a locally owned and operated company with headquarters in Honolulu.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was a great tour and a very long day, but very interesting thanks to our tour guide Steve who was like a walking encyclopedia. Our day started off with a very early morning flight from Oahu to the big Island where Steve was waiting for us, so we were on our way in no time. We began our tour throught Hilo Town where Steve gave us a great narrative of the towns history, then we continued on to the black sand beach where we stopped for some pictures and a little bit of exploring ( big difference to our lovely golden sand beaches here in oz ). We travelled along untill we reached the Volcano National Park sightseeing along the way with Steves expert narration. We watched a video all about the volcanos at the visitors center which was pretty good, although I have to admit to nodding off for a few seconds, not because it was boring but more because of the early start. We stopped at a local golf club for lunch and got up close an personal with a couple of NeNe, Hawaiis national birds (apparantly you don't get to see them that often so that was a bonus).We continued on our to the thurston Lava Tube where we got to walk through the lava tube, stopped at a waterfall, some steam vents, we got to see the steam billowing out of the crater and we walked on the lava fields where the last eruption had covered the road. At the end of our day we finished off at the Thomas Jaggar Museum for a birdseye view of the Volcano, we were hoping to get a glimpse of the lava but you don't get to see it untill nightfall when it gets dark, unfortunately we had to leave before the sunset to catch our flight back but Steve was great he let us stay as long as possible leaving at the last minute. I managed to get a few good pictures where there is a little bit of a red glow starting, night time viewing would be spectacular. It was a very long day but one that was well worth doing and thanks to Steve for his knowledge and making it a great day out.

Thank Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,799)
There are newer reviews for Discover Hawaii Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,002 - 2,006 of 3,800 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I loved our tour of Pearl Harbor. Our tour guide Joey was so friendly and helpful, plus being a local added so much to our tour. Even at our 6:00 am pick up he was full of energy. I would defiantly recommend the tour to anyone visiting Oahu.

1  Thank marie04581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for the kind words. We'll be sure to let Joey know how much you enjoyed the tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Don't waste your holiday money when there are cheaper alternatives for the same tour. We fell for this companies hype and paid more expecting great coaches and seats, on the first trip the coach was old and the upholstery was in poor condition. On the second trip the coach was of a similar age but seat back was broken.
We have sent this company three 'E' mails without reply, so can only conclude that they don't bother with customer service once they have your money.
On the second tour they were late picking us up and were over 30minutes late picking the group up at midday.
We coundn't recommend this company based on our experience.

2  Thank AucklandSteve762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Aloha AucklandSteve-

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on Trip Advisor. We take all of our reviews very seriously, and we use this information that is passed along to improve the quality of our tours. We do not want to make any excuses for your dissatisfaction. We are very unhappy that your e-mails have gone unresponded to. We would like to hear from you, and I guarantee a response. If you would like, please send us another e-mail to our Reservations Department, or give us a call directly to our Honolulu office at (808) 737-3700.

Mahalo,
Discover Hawaii Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This was one of the BEST tours I have ever been on! I come to the islands every year and am a former Oahu resident. I have been on all kinds of tours to every island except the Big Island. Discover Hawai'i Tours was recommended by a friend. Jay (Jason) was an excellent tour guide, very knowledgeable and friendly! We were met at the airport in Hilo right when we landed and were on our way in minutes. The morning was spend touring Hilo town between the liquid sunshine and went to Volcano National Park after lunch. Geting to see Mother Earth at work was amazing!
This is a very long tour and may not be the best for small kids or teens that bore easily.
The only issue we had was the 2+ hour delay for the flight back to Oahu which was NO fault of Discovery Hawai'i Tours!

1  Thank Gottico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I can't say enough great things about our experience on this day. From the pickup, to the tour with Bjorn, to all the beutiful scenery. My wife and I were not really interested in driving this ourselves, we both wanted to sit back and enjoy the views as well as get a narration on everything we were seeing. Bjorn was very informative and helpful with taking pictures for everyone in the group. One of the other bonuses of this tour is getting to see the "back road" of Hana, which is completely different from you start. You feel even more isolated and rental car companies supposedly restrict you from driving this portion due to the narrow, bumpy roads and isolation of the road. It was all very beautiful. I highly recommend this trip interested in doing the full circle of the Road to Hana.

2  Thank RiseUpRedSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Aloha!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are always so happy to hear that our valued guests had a great time. The back road to Hana is a treasure, and we are very fortunate to be able to drive that portion of the highway on a daily basis.

Mahalo,
Discover Hawaii Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discover Hawaii Tours also viewed

 

Been to Discover Hawaii Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing