We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Packed with history, Pearl Harbor is a must do/see in Oahu”

Discover Hawaii Tours
Ranked #22 of 332 Tours in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Leave those giant motor coaches to the herd. Savvy travelers join Discover Hawaii Tours on our small-group tours that include the Road to Hana, island sightseeing, eco tours, private tours and much more. Our huge selection of tours and our friendly, professional tour guides create an unforgettable experience of Hawaii that you'll love. We want you to feel at home in our islands, and it's our mission to provide the perfect tour for your Hawaiian vacation. We want you to love our tours so much that you’ll tell your friends! Since 1995, we’ve hand-selected the finest tour guides in the islands. Our guides are experts on Hawaiian history and culture, including Pearl Harbor and ancient Hawaiian folklore. When you choose Discover Hawaii Tours, your tour guide will be as memorable as the breathtaking sights around you.Discover Hawaii Tours is a locally owned and operated company with headquarters in Honolulu.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Packed with history, Pearl Harbor is a must do/see in Oahu”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Greg, our tour guide, was prompt for pick up and drop off, very friendly, knowledgeable and delivered precisely what we wanted - a full Pearl Harbor experience with poise, facts and the warm friendship of a long time friend! Well done Greg and Discover Hawaii Tours (especially for hiring Greg).

Helpful?
Thank mattmartindale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,776 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,019
    404
    134
    98
    121
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Jesse was our tour guide & he was awesome! Very friendly, funny & informative. We had a great time with him. The tour group size was perfect.

Helpful?
Thank jgolbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service and staff!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012


Great job by lana and hana.
Everything went as planned.
We even got to see filming of a hawaii 5-0 episode when we were on our city tour.

Helpful?
1 Thank fingerlakes59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ultimate Circle Island Oahu Tour”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I'll start with positive: Our Tour Guide Bruce was very informative and well spoken. They will take you around the island and show lots of cool spots. Unfortunately, my pros ends here. Negative: I call this type of tour the 'Kodak Moment' tour. Mostly of spots we visited, including beautiful beaches, we had only 10-15 min to take a pictures. Small group tour? I doubt it. 22 people on our bus, I don't consider as a small group. Being the first pick up and last drop off added 3 hours to an already 8 hour island tour, totaling 11 hours! When we finally get off the bus, we were exhausted, hungry and unhappy. My recomendation for 'Discovery Hawaii Tours" is please make improvements with pick up/ drop off planing. The first people to pick up, should be the first drop off as well. It would be fair to everyone. Bottom line, if you like to see the island, this is tour for you. If you like EXPERIENCE and adventure, you might be dissapointed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Guest Relations Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Aloha Tanya M,

Mahalo for your thoughtful feedback. We’re pleased that you enjoyed your tour and guide, Bruce, but we regret your disappointment with the amount of time spent at certain stops and the size of your group. Our circle island tours are designed to highlight as many of Oahu’s spectacular sights as possible in the allotted time. Your tour also included an approximate 2 hour stop at Waimea Falls where our guests hike through a rainforest before arriving at a Hawaiian waterfall where an amazing swimming experience awaits them. We have found that many guests prefer a smaller tour group, and our tours hosts no more than 24 guests per vehicle. This is in comparison to other companies that use large motor coach buses that can hold in excess of 60 passengers.

Even with our tours at capacity, our pick ups take approximately 30 minutes and drop offs take approximately 20 minutes. Our records show that you were picked up and dropped off within this time frame. Perhaps your 3 hours delay was with another company because that certainly did not happen with us. We also offer private charters in which you can customize your itinerary to include the amount of time spent at your selected spots. Again, thank you for sharing your experience with us, and we hope that you enjoyed your stay in the islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Incredible Tour of Pearl Harbor and North Shore”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We arrived in Honolulu on Golden Princess, October 16, 2012. We wanted to visit both Pearl Harbor and the North Shore of Oahu but Princess one offered one or the other...not both as they were at the same time. We booked with Discover Hawaii Tours a private van for 6 people...price was great... approx $240 per person. (We had to book a private tour because the regular Discover Hawaii tours left earlier than our arrival time into Honolulu). This was less expensive than the two separate shore excursions Princess had to offer! We spent all day going from Pearl Harbor to the North Shore. We ate lunch at the Crouching Lion, which was delicious. We spent time at the beach and even went in the water. Our time at each location was not hurried, and we were able to take some time taking photographs, video, etc. without the rush of loading and unloading a big motor coach bus.

Kevin, our tour guide was incredible. He talked to us about the history of Oahu and its beautiful beaches. We stopped everywhere we wanted to go. Kevin even stopped the van, at my request, for shaved ice. That made my whole tour!

As a travel agent, I thoroughly recommend this tour company for its professionalism, product knowledge, timeliness and integrity. Mahalo, Discover Hawaii Tours!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discover Hawaii Tours also viewed

 

Been to Discover Hawaii Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing