We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pearl harbour tour” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Discover Hawaii Tours

Discover Hawaii Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$104.70*
and up
Oahu Circle Island Tour
Ranked #20 of 316 Tours in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Leave those giant motor coaches to the herd. Savvy travelers join Discover Hawaii Tours on our small-group tours that include the Road to Hana, island sightseeing, eco tours, private tours and much more. Our huge selection of tours and our friendly, professional tour guides create an unforgettable experience of Hawaii that you'll love. We want you to feel at home in our islands, and it's our mission to provide the perfect tour for your Hawaiian vacation. We want you to love our tours so much that you’ll tell your friends! Since 1995, we’ve hand-selected the finest tour guides in the islands. Our guides are experts on Hawaiian history and culture, including Pearl Harbor and ancient Hawaiian folklore. When you choose Discover Hawaii Tours, your tour guide will be as memorable as the breathtaking sights around you.Discover Hawaii Tours is a locally owned and operated company with headquarters in Honolulu.
australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“pearl harbour tour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Took the pearl harbour tour as we found the concept of ticketing at pearl harbour confusing and we figured if we went with a tour company they would have tickets and not have to queue up etc. Big mistake - tour guides still have to line up to get tickets. Tour guide doesn't accompany you at any time in Pearl harbour so essentially they operate as a shuttle - a very expensive one. If we went ourselves we would have saved $150. So just get yourself to pearl Harbour. Our tour guide was friendly and pleasant but we would have been just as good on our own. I must also say that stilettos don't allow you to drive at your best - the ride was quite jerky on and off the accelerator. So, my major complaint is the cost and the fact the tour guide doesn't accompany you at any stage around Pearl Harbour, even though I do understand this is the rule of the Pearl Harbour managers. You spend a lot of money as a tourist and Pearl Harbour can be done much cheaper than going with a tour company.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank dreamers45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Guest Relations Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Aloha dreamers45,
We’re pleased you found your guide to be friendly and pleasant, but we’re sorry that you believe the cost of your tour did not meet your expectations. Our Pearl Harbor tours include round trip transportation from Waikiki and includes an informative narrative of Pearl Harbor’s history enroute to the Visitor’s Center. While we make every attempt to secure the USS Arizona Memorial tickets for our groups in advance, there may be times (albeit rare) in which the guide must pick up the tickets upon arrival. These tickets are for the group’s pre-determined tour time, unlike if you were to do the tour on your own, with the uncertainty of even receiving a ticket as they are distributed on a first-come, first-served basis. There are many other aspects that can be easily overlooked when trying to tour Pearl Harbor independently. Parking is limited, and our staff makes the arrangements for our guests to have facility-provided guides where applicable. Our guests also have the benefit of guides who can provide tips and information that can be easily missed when touring on your own. We thank you for your thoughtful feedback and hope that you enjoyed your stay in the islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,863
    382
    128
    92
    115
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pearl harbor / polynesian cultural center tour not good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We are staying in kauai and wanted to take a day trip to oahu to see pearl harbor and see part of oahu. They do not tell you than you will spend less than 2what hours at pearl harbor, barely get a chance to see much of it at all and then you spend your entire afternoon at the polynesian cultural center which is like being at disneyworld - if i wanted to go to disney I would have. I feel like a captive and am typing this review during the tour. Do not book this unless you really want to see the polynesian culture center and have no desire to really see much of pearl harbor. I feel like I wasted my money and a full day of hawaii.

Helpful?
2 Thank tmtp77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Guest Relations Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Aloha tmtp77,
We’re sorry that your visit to Pearl Harbor and Polynesian Cultural Center was not to your expectations. We have many guests who enjoy the combination of these two attractions as they are among the most visited on Oahu, with Pearl Harbor at the top of the list. Our website lists the approximate amount of time that will be spent at each venue for all of our tours so that guests will know their tour’s scheduled itinerary in advance. More comprehensive Pearl Harbor tours are available on our website for guests who wish to visit other Pearl Harbor attractions, in addition to the USS Arizona Memorial. We are constantly striving to improve the tour experience for our guests and thank you for sharing your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hawaii Anniversary Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We took the Discover Hawaii Tours Ultimate Circle Island Eco-Adventure tour on Oct 12th 2012 and had a fantastic time. Our tour guide Bruce was the best guide we have ever had. He was a native Hawaiian and told us so many stories and gave us so much information we were totally satisfied. Couldn't have had a better guide or time. The best part was the secret lunch location, what a great time, was able to relax for 1 1/2 hours on a secluded beach talking with others in our small tour group of about 26, not 45-50 like ohter companies.
We highly reccomend this company to everyone and hope to use them again in the future.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank crjohnson111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Island of Hawaii and Volcanoes National Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was a very well organized tour and the tour leader was excellent. He answered all our questions and kept us on schedule without making us feel pressured. I enjoyed meeting some of the other people on the trip and I think there was somethign that appealed to all of the people on the tour. We had a great time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“October 2012 Pearl Harbor tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our tour guide, Joey, was outstanding, as were the supporting tour guides at the various stops during the Pearl Harbor tour. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank academyhtml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discover Hawaii Tours also viewed

 

Been to Discover Hawaii Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing