We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, updated, well-staffed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Ranked #31 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean, updated, well-staffed”
Reviewed September 3, 2014

We stayed three nights with our young children for the first time in Waikiki. Valet parking was easy and the attendants were very helpful. Check-in was quick and we were pleasantly surprised that we were upgraded to a partial ocean view. In addition, I was surprised by a personalized welcome card in the guest room, along with a box of chocolate-covered macadamia nuts - such a nice touch, thank you! This is not a high-end resort, but the room was super-clean, updated and the furnishings seemed new. The balcony was basic and we could see the ocean, but there was significant noise from the construction site directly outside - it was fine with the door closed though. We did not have a chance to use the pool, but it looked small with a small number of loungers. The beach is a short walk away, and there were lots of options for shopping and restaurants on the strip. Our room was impeccably cleaned every day of our stay, even with all the sand we tracked in and the groceries we stored in the refrigerator area. We used valet parking every day, requested items from the front desk and ate in the attached restaurant - all staff were wonderful! We stayed on IHG points, and were very pleased with the value of this property.

Room Tip: Higher floor equals better view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for the great review and your continued loyalty as an IHG Rewards Club member. It is certainly wonderful to learn that you were able to enjoy a relaxing Beachcomber vacation using your reward points. The Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort takes great pride in the level of Hospitality and value that we are able to extend to our guests and it is greatly appreciated to be acknowledged of our many efforts to do this. We hope that you will return to the islands soon to enjoy another fantastic Beachcomber vacation.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    990
    1,218
    365
    78
    36
See reviews for
825
961
140
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (726)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2014

I've always stayed here when in Waikiki...Centrally located. Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are nice and clean. Good views if in a ocean view room. Hotel sits in the heart of Waikiki with shops galore in walking distance.

Room Tip: Junior suite is the way to go....
See more room tips
Green Features: Very helpfully friendly staff. Clean rooms, good views, Jimmy buffet restaurant and bar. Decent pool.
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Aloha,

A sincere Mahalo for your excellent review and you continued loyalty to stay with us while coming to Waikiki. We are certainly blessed to be in the heart of Waikiki and it is wonderful to learn that you can always enjoy the many great shops and eateries while you stay with us at the Beachcomber. We hope that you will be back to enjoy another fantastic Beachcomber vacation and Mahalo Nui Loa for the awesome review.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
185 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2014

Stunning location right in the middle of the strip....get the sea view it's worth it. Clean rooms but shame about building site next door. The bar and restaurant area not great... Service and variety limited.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms next to the International Market building site
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAFYDDHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for your time in reviewing your recent stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort! It is great to hear that you enjoyed our location as we are centrally located in Waikiki. Beaches and shops are easily accessible as there are many located within walking distance. I apologize that the restaurant and bar did not meet your expectations but I do have some excting news. For the first week of September, the restaurant will be temporarily closing in order to revamp. On September 8th, Handcrafted Restaurants LLC will be taking over and will reopen the restaurant doors with a brand new localized menu! We hope that if you return to Oahu one day, you will give our Beachcomber Ohana a second chance to fulfill your needs. Please contact us at hnlor@hibeachcomber.com and we can assist you with any further quesitons.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2014

We had two rooms here for three nights with our 20 month old son and my mum. Most of our requests weren't followed (king bed, cot in our room, adjoining rooms) however we didn't argue given that we arrived at about 10pm.
The cot situation was fixed immediately and it arrived in our room just as we did. Unfortunately us and my mother were three floors apart and on opposite sides of the building but we managed.
The rooms were nice, clean and well kept. Ours was quite compact, especially once we put the cot in and my mother rattled around in a huge room with loads of space which didn't make a lot of sense. Ours had a bath though which was handy for my son, but it did mean an elevator trip and a walk to warm up his dinner in the microwave. The air conditioning was a bit noisy and some design flaw seemed to mean that your could hear the wind whistling past our balcony but it didn't really bother us. We couldn't really hear the construction behind us with the door closed either considering it was pretty loud when we were on the balcony.
The staff were very helpful, there was no charge for receiving a posted package for us like we've had in some hotels. The pool was very nice and towels for the pool or beach easy to come by. The cheesecake factory was just over the road and an alleyway about 20 meters away took us straight to the beach.
We would stay here again, just maybe we would reconfirm our requests again a little closer to the time :)

Room Tip: Ask about construction locations. Level two has a microwave and ice machine so handy but will be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AzraelMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Aloha and Mahalo for the review. I sincerely apologize that we were not able to meet most of your requests during your Beachcomber vacation. The Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort is truly dedicated to offering our guests with Aloha service and although we were not able to meet these requests, it is wonderful to learn that you could enjoy a great vacation in Paradise. Should you return back to the islands, we hope you allow us a second opportunity to create an even greater vacation for you and your family. Please feel free to contact us directly at Hnlor@hibeachcomber.com as this will allow our Ohana to better anticipate your requests. Mahalo Nui Loa and until we meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2014

Just spent 3 days in Honolulu at the Beachcomber. This hotel is located in a great part of Honolulu. Less than a 5 minute walk to Waikiki Beach. Plenty of shops and restaurants nearby. I do not stay in a hotel for its views from the room, but for its convience to attractions, restaurants, value, and service. For me this hit everything I was looking for. If you want a hotel for the view, then this one probably isn't for you. Yes to be technicle some rooms have a ocean view. Service was great. I left my razor at home and the hotel sent housekeeping to give me one. I would advise not to forget or go to one of the 1000 ABC stores nearby to purchase one. If I come back to Honolulu, I will definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teknref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Aloha and sincere Mahalo for the awesome review. It is wonderful to learn that we could meet all of your expectations as the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort takes great pride in offering Aloha service and value. We truly hope that you will be back to the islands soon and we will certainly await your return for another fantastic Beachcomber vacation. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howick, Auckland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2014

Location is superb with great beach and sea views and of Diamond Head, Cheesecake Factory and soon to be Jimmy Choo's shoes across the road. Pool is smallish but excellent, great padded recliners, shade tent, 2 bars and restaurant metres away, hot tub adjacent. Wonderful pool to relax in early evening. Many guests bringing own food and refreshments to poolside.

Reception staff all very happy, efficient and extraordinarily helpful. Lifts work well and no long waits. Lobby decor excellent with surfboards ... .

Room size good, fridge had a night switch, bed very comfortable, luxurious pillows. Shower a little small but good. Vanity small but works. So much activity within the view that we and others spent a lot of time on the balcony, never turned the TV on which is a first. Some guests were taking surf boards up in the elevator, seemed to be accepted.

Next visit we will stay here again, maybe for a week. Pricing is competitive for location and service levels.

Room Tip: We took the spot on advice from Tripadvisor and booked upper level facing ocean. Middle of city is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidMallowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Aloha and thank you for the great review. The Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort makes every effort to provide our guests with exceptional service, value and comfort. It is fantastic to learn that you were able to enjoy our superb location that allowed for a complete Waikiki experience. We will certainly anticipate your return back to the islands and we can't wait to host you for another excellent Beachcomber vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2014

Location was great really central to everything. Staff friendly and helpful. Room was average but you only sleep there.Breakfast buffet yummy.Easy access to all shops and beach. Cheese cake factory across the road and terrific menu and meal size. Great for families and cheese cake is to due for

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Aloha and Mahalo for choosing the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort for your very first trip to Hawaii. It sounds like you were able to really enjoy and your stay with us. We hope that you will return for another fantastic Beachcomber vacation and Mahalo for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,806 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#68 of 84 in Honolulu
276 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5049 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. Next door to the International Marketplace and home of the new Maui Brewing Co. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing