We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Handy location and awesome concierge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Ranked #29 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Handy location and awesome concierge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The hotel room was very clean and spacious. The location was excellent, of course I'd love a beach front hotel but this was only a 2 min walk to the beach and far more reasonably priced. I was bit unhappy that we had requested an upper floor room 6 months ago but got the 2nd floor so no city or hills view just a the side roof balcony with men working on it periodically during the day so we couldn't open our curtains but that was the only down side. Being directly opposite The Cheesecake Factory and a 1 minute walk to our favourite eating place - Island Vintage Coffee (you have to try their famous Acai bowl) was a bonus.
The pool was great and they had beach towels available at all times. The restaurant was yummy but the service during the day on the deck was really slow especially compared to the restaurant at night which was excellent - Josh was so friendly and welcoming.
The best thing about this hotel is James Speight the best concierge out there. He listened to our questions, made excellent suggestions (the Ocean Joy snorkelling cruise is a fantastic day out) and even took time out of his day off to find some items for my daughter that she couldn't find within walking distance or at Alomoana - that's above and beyond service! Thanks James!

Green Features: The staff were very helpful and friendly, every time I asked for something they would always help with a smile on their face.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raechel32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Aloha and thank you for the awesome review. We truly take pride in the level of service we are able to offer our guests to create the perfect Beachcomber vacation and it is wonderful to learn that we could do this for you during your stay with us. A sincere Mahalo for acknowledging staff members Josh and James as they are both great assets to our amazing Beachcomber Ohana, Should you plan a return back to the beautiful island of Oahu, please do not hesitate to contact our Management staff to ensure a greater overall experience as we will do our best to accommodate a higher floor for you. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    877
    1,108
    337
    71
    31
See reviews for
728
865
126
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Beachomber, the room was great had a lovely view of the beach. Very close to shops and the beach. On our last day they were able to accommodate us to allow us to keep our room til 5pm at a very low cost as our flight back to New Zealand wasn't til 11pm. Would really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gwynneth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Aloha and a warm Mahalo for the fantastic review. We are truly happy to learn that you were able to enjoy a wonderful Beachcomber vacation with us and even more excited to discover that we could accommodate a late check out to ensure extra comfort during your departure. We sincerely hope that you will be back to the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort for another awesome stay and Mahalo for the raving review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamondhead, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Our stay was great!!! Seeing we were a military family, they upgraded us for free to a suite. They were helpful in every way. Our maid was so friendly and kept our room very clean! It was so spacious! Fantastic location right across from Cheesecake Factory! Right in heart of Waikiki. I didn't mind the very short walk to beach. Small but very clean pool! Definitely worth it and a great military discount!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Aloha and thank you for the awesome 5 rating review. Our Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Ohana takes great pride in the level of hospitality we are able to extend to our guests and we thank you for acknowledging our efforts to provide seamless service. We are happy to learn that you could enjoy a "Perfect" stay with us in one of our suites and we hope that you will come back soon for another fantastic Beachcomber vacation. Sincere Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Great hotel in the heart of Waikiki. Stayed 6 nights, views of the beach and Diamond Head from our room. Very helpful staff. Great pool, bar and restaurant area. Bus stop across the road. Shops and restaurants all around. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Aloha for the wonderful review. We thank you for taking the time to share your Beachcomber experience with us and it is fantastic to learn that our staff and location could create a "great stay" for you. We hope that you will come back to the islands and choose to stay with the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort and E Komo Mai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed here for 3nts on our arrival into Honolulu.
The location of the hotel is central shops and beaches. Rooms are spacious and clean. We were lucky enough to have been upgraded to a junior suite.
The sofa bed also came in very handy and must say it is one of the most comfortable sofa beds of any hotel I have ever used.
Highly recommended and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jellybaby88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Aloha for the awesome review. With some recent updates to our property, we make every effort to service our guests while keeping them comfortable and it is wonderful to hear that you found our new sofa beds comfortable and relaxing. We thank you for the approval of recommendation and hope that you will come back for another great stay with us at the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort. Warmest Mahalo and until we meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel had great service and was in a top location for a reasonable price. The rooms were clean and a fair size. We had a balcony overlooking the pool and street. We could even see a little of the sea!. Jimmy Buffets restaurant downstairs was pretty cool and had good food. The pool was small but for once the children weren't afraid to splash and play. The bar at the pool wa pretty handy too. Having a Macy's store downstairs was a little rough on the purse but shopping was fun. The markets were right next door and there were shopping malls all around. Most of them were high end or aimed at the Japanese market however we still found heaps of shopping to do. We also caught a nearby bus to the Ala Moana centre which had great shopping. There was plenty of public transport near the hotel and the beach was just across the road and through the walkway. The best restaurant was the Chesecake Factory across the road but you had to go and get a beeper at leat 45 mins before you wanted to eat. Very popular! The Starboys surf lessons down near the Duke statue were also good fun for the kids. Everything was within walking distance of this great family hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper levels facing Kalakaua Ave and you might catch a glimpse of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Aloha and thank you for the great review. The Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort is truly fortunate to be in the heart of Waikiki and we are certainly excited for the completion of the International Market Place as it will be a shopaholics dream come true. We hope that you and the family will be back for another wonderful Beachcomber vacation and a sincere Mahalo for the awesome review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Hotel in good central location, 5 minutes walk to beach and right near lots of shops. We had a room with full ocean view and glad we paid extra as vacant block right next door, in which building has begun!! Rooms were clean and staff helpful

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Holiday_Living
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simeon M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Aloha and thank you for taking the time in reviewing us on Tripadvisor. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations as we are committed to receiving the highest rating on Tripadvisor and satisfying every guest, every time, guaranteed. Please contact us as soon as possible so we may rectify your dissatisfaction. We are very appreciative of all our Australian guests and appreciate your comments about our central location as we are just steps from Waikiki Beach and all the world renowned shopping and restaurants. Thank you for your patience as the International Market Place is undergoing revitalization. Mahalo nui loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,723 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Park Shore Waikiki
#15 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
#31 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 929 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hotel
#32 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5049 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. It is home to the Magic of Polynesia show, the one and only Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant & Bar, and Macy's Waikiki department store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing