We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, Fantastic Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Ranked #31 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, Fantastic Location”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights after a cruise from Sydney to Honolulu. Great location, go down stairs, walk across the road and Waikiki beach is right there. good clean hotel, room was always beautifully cleaned, top quality toiletries, staff were always very friendly and helpful, concierge Ben was full of helpful information regarding day tours. Already planning our return visit.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Aloha and thank you for the excellent review. We hope you were able to enjoy the adventurous voyage from Sydney to Oahu and we certainly hope you had a relaxing and wonderful stay with us at the Beachcomber. Ben is a great member to our Ohana and it is awesome to learn that he was able to provide you with great tips to create a magical experience during your stay. Mahalo for the great review and we will anticipate your return back to the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    976
    1,204
    360
    77
    36
See reviews for
815
945
140
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (719)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights and had a very comfortable stay. I had requested a quiet room with premium ocean view and that is exactly what we got. 18th floor, well away from elevator and great views straight out to sea with views of Diamond Head. Very happy!
Huge, spacious rooms with extremely comfortable beds and pillows and very clean amenities.
Concierge James was very helpful with advice and checking us into our homeward bound flight.
The hotel is so well placed for location in Waikiki

Room Tip: 18th floor and above away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Aloha and thank you for the amazing review. We are extremely pleased to learn that we could meet all of your expectations with the prefect room for you during your stay. James is an exceptional asset to our Ohana here at the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber and he certainly knows how to create a memorable experience for our guests. Mahalo Nui Loa and we hope that you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Had a great room on 25th floor. Overlooked the "Royal Hawaiian Hotel and Waikiki beach. Big room and giant bed. Coffee machine provided in the room. We stayed three nights after a cruise from Sydney to Hawaii.

Green Features: Excellent use of signs to put on beds indicating not to change sheets
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Aloha and thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort. We are truly happy to hear that you enjoyed your three nights with us after your cruise adventure from Australia. Thank you for acknowledging our efforts as a "Green" friendly property and we hope that you can come back soon. Warmest Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We arrived 11am - 3 hours prior to checkin.We were prepared to just leave our suitcases and go to the beach. But as soon as we arrived at the front desk the lady said our room was ready! After a 10 hour flight we could not have been happier. Check in was very quick and everything was explained. We were in our room within 10 minutes of arrival. We requested an ocean view room when we booked the accommodation and we were not disappointed. The room on the 22nd level was absolutely perfect. Ocean view to one side and city/mountain view to the other. We had 2 double beds which were so comfortable as were the fluffy new pillows! Needless to say we had a perfect nights sleep each night. The location is so central. The area is very safe even late at night which was one of the reasons we wanted a hotel that was on a main street as 3 ladies travelling we did not want to be walking down back streets late at night. There was no noise to be heard from the street below or the International Market construction. The room and bathroom was extremely clean and furnishings were all kept well. The coffee machine was a bonus as we did not have to go downstairs first thing in the morning for a coffee. The coffee supplied was also of good quality. The toiletries supplied were also good quality, the shampoo was good as was the body lotions etc. Generally toiletries supplied at other hotels we have stayed at you would not use to wash your dog in!! Our room was cleaned each morning by "Marilyn G". Each afternoon when we came back to the room was like we had walked into a new room! The bathroom was sparkling and fresh towels each day. Only if all people were as thorough as Marilyn. We happened to come back our room whilst it was still being cleaned, only to find 3 or 4 bottles of cleaning products and disinfectants that Marilyn was using to clean the bathroom and basin area. The room smelt like it was fresh and we knew it was spotless. 100 points to Marilyn. Please pass on our thanks to her.
The staff at the reception were always helpful with whatever we needed throughout our stay of 10 days.The facilities were also kept up to date and clean. The pool area was always clean and tidy. The lifts were really quick to arrive and did not have problems at all. There was a newspaper available each morning. One other thing that I felt was a bonus was that after about 10pm there was a security guard sitting next to the lifts. This was definitely a secure place to stay!
Of course the beach was across the road, cafes, restaurants and shopping all just outside the hotel. Being "shop-a-holics" having Macy's just downstairs was a dream come true!
This is my 4th time in Waikiki and have stayed at other hotels, but I would never go back to them now that we have found the Beachcomber! Thank you to all the staff you have working there as it is obviously a reflection of how good the management is.
Mahalo!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Evelyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Aloha and thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us on TripAdvisor. It brings us great pleasure to learn that we were able to accommodate to you after an extremely long flight from Australia. With our central location, it sounds like you found paradise as a true shop-a-holic and it is the most gracious honor to learn that you will not return back to Waikiki without staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort. Thank you for making a personal recognition to Marilyn as she is a tremendous asset to our Ohana. Mahalo Nui Loa and until we meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed here for 10 nights and being a travel agent we are picky with things but this property exceeded my expectations, I was expecting a good stay but I got a lot more than that, great property with extremely helpful staff, nice and clean, great location, will definitely be recommending this to anyone going to Oahu,

Before this job I was working in a luxury hotel in Dubai and comparing Beachcomber to those properties I am very happy with the comparison of standards, also make sure to check out Jimmy Buffets down stairs

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanTodd237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Aloha and thank you for the commending words. It is absolutely wonderful to learn that we could exceed your expectations in every way and being mentioned in the same breath of luxury properties in Dubai is an outstanding recognition of our true efforts of service. Gracious Mahalo for the awesome review and we hope to see you here at the Beachcomber should you plan a return visit to the islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, part of a group. Great clean hotel and will stay here again without hesitation. Right in the heart of Waikiki and opposite the cheesecake factory, Macy's downstairs and Ross Store around the corner. Staff very friendly, and helpful. The sink in my bathroom was blocked, and someone was there within the hour and was fixed and then even left a box of chocolates for the inconvenience. I stayed on the 7 floor, and even though it was right in the heart, the room was nice and quiet at night, and couldn't hear the cars at all. The hotels bar/restaurant Jimmy Buffett's has a fantastic menu and the food was great and fairly cheap! Next time I return, will be happy to stay here and recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amanda19_76_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Aloha and thank you for the awesome review. With our great central location, it really allows our guests to take advantage of the complete Waikiki experience and it is wonderful to learn you were able to do just that. I do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with your sink but do hope you were able to enjoy the delicious chocolates. Mahalo for the wonderful review and we will anticipate your return back to the Beachcomber.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This was my third time staying at the Waikiki Beachcomber and I love it and will return again.

I don't have a negative thing to say about this property because every time I have stayed here it has been pleasant and without any issues.

The best thing about this hotel, aside from it's location (right in the centre of Kalakaua Ave, the main drag and opposite the Cheesecake Factory), is the premier bedding and pillows. I have NEVER slept better in any bed in my entire life! It is worth staying here just to get a good nights sleep!

Even the valet parking was easy to use and although it was a tad on the expensive side at $30 USD per night, still worth it because of the convenience of having the car right there when we needed it.

The pool is small, but being so close to the beach, there's really no need to use the pool except those times when you're either too tired to walk across the road!

The other good thing about this property is that they do not charge resort fees unlike some other properties. WiFi is included in the rate and is of a high quality.

One last thing to note is that at the moment there is construction going on right next door at the former International Market Place - not sure how long this will be going on for, but it is quite noisy regardless of which side of the hotel you're on (unless you're facing Kalakaua, then maybe it's not so noisy), which means you cannot leave the balcony door open for fresh air without putting up with lots of noise.

Overall this is the best hotel I have stayed at, and would highly recommend to anybody.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor...I prefer the Diamond Head side of the hotel because I love the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiger6780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Aloha and thank you for the amazing review. It is such a great compliment to be named your favorite hotel in Waikiki and excellent to learn that your best sleep comes from a stay at the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber. It is absolutely wonderful to know that you can find true comfort during your vacation with us. While we take great pride in our No resort fee property, it is excellent to hear that you took advantage of our standard amenities including free Wi-Fi. Warmest Mahalo for the kind words and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#39 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5049 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. Next door to the International Marketplace and home of the new Maui Brewing Co. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing