We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location right on Waikiki! Clean and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Ranked #34 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel right in the heart of things, we stayed one night here when we first arrived and it was spacious, clean and staff were pretty friendly. Close to the action, right by the beach. There's little shops and restaurants right there. It was a nice welcome to Hawai'i for us :)

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,767)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,282 - 1,288 of 2,767 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

My wife and I were happy we stayed here rather than anywhere else. It is a perfect location right on the main strip in Waikiki and right next to the international market. It is across the street from the beach so you have really easy access to the beach without all of the traffic and busy staff that a beach front hotel can have. We had a perfect room with a balcony overlooking the beach. For the money and for the location I don't think you will find better. I stay in a hotel at least 14-20 days a month and this was a perfect hotel for my wife and I. I will, and have already, recommend this hotel to all of my friends and family going to Waikiki.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room with the ocean view on a higher floor!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RussDizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is the second time I stay in the beachcomber. The service was wonderful during my first time stay (Ohana). But for this time (when the hotel was owned by holiday inn), the service especially the front desk was horrible. The receptionist did not wear a smile on their faces and their tone of voice we're not friendly. I booked the hotel by friend and family rates for a king size bedroom. At the end, they gave me a double bedroom. The reason is because all king size bedroom are priority given to those who booked by regular rate. They did not mentioned in their website. If this is the case, i will not book by friend and family rates.Their responses made me felt that I was treated unfair. Because you are friend and family, we are not their valuable customers. Without our friend and family, how can they run the hotel ??? I requested a late check out as my fight was at midnight. I even didn't mention by room number and they just said no late check out was available..... Again, no smile on the receptionist's face.... What kind of service is it? Next time, definitely I will pay more for a better hotel and will not recommend beachcomber to my friends and families.....

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Pig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Aloha Pig W from Canada! Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologizes for the service you received. I will make sure your concerns are brought up to our management and staff. If you ever decide to give us a try again please contact me directly. Mahalo. Taryn W. FOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed here while we were in Hawaii for our 10 year anniversary and we were very pleased with our choice.

They "upgraded" us to a partial ocean view room since it was our anniversary and there was a box of chocolate covered macadamia nuts waiting on us in the room (hubby ate those up). The room size was fine for us, the bathroom size was fine, there was plenty of space for our suitcases and all the souvenirs we bought, free wi-fi in the room, and it was always very clean. We did a lot of walking and traveling around the island and it was always nice to return to a clean room to rest. It was quite peaceful. The service was great, too; we were always greeted with a hello and a smile and they were helpful with any questions we had. There is a small pool but we never went out there. The gentleman at the concierge desk was very friendly and helpful. There is also a small "convenience store" in the lobby if you need a quick, cheap snack or something for a headache.

The location really can't be beat. Its right in the heart of restaurants and shops (Cheesecake Factory is RIGHT across the street and Duke's is about 3 minutes down the road), easy to get to transportation, and since its not directly on the sand the cost is much more reasonable. It is only about 2-3 minutes to walk to the beach. Jimmy Buffet's is in the lobby and while the food isn't spectacular it is convenient and they have a breakfast buffet in the morning. If you're staying at the hotel you get a small discount at breakfast and lunch as well.

The only thing that would have made it perfect was a microwave in the room. :) I had some leftovers one night that I brought back to eat later only to find I had no way to heat it up (though there is a refrigerator in the room).

If we ever come back to Honolulu we would have no problem staying at this hotel again as we had a great time and

Room Tip: I can imagine if you were closer to the street there would be some noise (it IS a major thoroughfare...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Aloha Robin J and thanks for your kind review! It's great to hear that you chose to stay with us for your 10th wedding anniversary--what a special occasion! We are pleased to hear that our central location and friendly/helpful staff made your vacation a memorable one. It is unfortunate to hear about your cold left overs, but for the next time you stay with us, please remember that there is a microwave on the 2nd floor that is available for use 24 hours a day (also, if you would like a microwave in your room, you can have one brought up for a small daily fee). We look forward to seeing you again! Mahalo, Roy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here two times during our three week vacation. We were pleased both times. We would definitely come back again and would even consider staying for a longer stretch.

They are a two minute walk from Waikiki beach and right in the heart of all the restaurants, bars and shopping We did a lot of walking around and were happy to return to our clean, comfortable room to rest and clean up.

The staff are amazing. We were upgraded to an ocean view room on our second stay. Wow! View was great and we enjoyed watching the sun go down. Some reviewers comment about the outside noise. Yes, it is loud if you have your patio door open but isn't that what you would expect for being right in the heart of the strip? With doors closed we had a comfortable sleep both times.

We sent an email a few days before our arrival because we were arriving well before check in and our flight out was well after check out the following day. Reid response to us very quickly and was very friendly and shared a lot of useful information. The young lady at the desk was very nice to us. I wish I could remember her name. She gave us a lot of ideas on how to spend our limited time in Honolulu and did her best to get us early check in and late out based on availability.

We spent some time in the bar and had dinner at Jimmy Buffets. Very nice. We also used their concierge to book a morning tour.

Definitely would stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank KK71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Aloha KK71 and thank you for your kind review! We are glad that you enjoyed both of your stays with us within 3 weeks. It is wonderful to hear that Reid was able to provide you with excellent service; he is a valuable assett to our hotel--of course, along wit many other employees as well :). Thanks again and we look forward to hosting you on your next visit to our island! Mahalo, Roy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel before our cruise and found its location to be great. The rooms were very clean and large enough for two adults, toddler and a crib for our infant. Whilst the pool is small our 4yr old loved playing around in it. The breakfast at Jimmy Buffet which was included in our package was also great and offered plenty of choice. The gym also small but very functional. Would certainly stay here again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Aloha Matthew T and thank you for your kind review! We have many guests that stay with us before their cruises leave and they are eager to come back to port to stay with us again before heading home. It sounds like your family really took advantage of all that we have to offer at our property. Saying that you would certainly stay here again is a huge compliment -- thank you so very much! Mahalo, Roy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

There are some great positives for this hotel but obvious negatives too.
Positives: It's on Kalakaua Avenue which runs through the heart of Waikiki. You're not paying the ridiculous prices of the hotels which sit right on Waikiki beach but you're only literally 2 minute walk away. The rooms are very clean and you get a sizeable lanai too. Housekeeping were great and the place is clean and well laid out.
Negatives: It's right in the heart of Waikiki so if you have a low floor room then noise will be an issue. We were given a 9th floor room and we could hear everything outside. We got moved up to the 20th floor and the noise level dropped significantly enough. Also get a west facing room rather than east facing as those rooms are beside the International Market Place.
The staff are not smart and although tried to help they just didn't seem to work things out logically. I won't go into details but simple questions seemed to confuse them and they needed to ask advice from higher managers to try to resolve things, but then still not. One exception was Roy on front desk. We did have an issue and he not only resolved it but handled it professionally, promptly and even went above and beyond to make sure everything was handled in a appropriate manner. I sincerely thank him for his efforts and wished he had been on front desk each time we had a query. Well done Roy and we hope your bosses see this review because you are a standout among your colleagues.
This is a good place. Other reviews complained about slow lifts but seriously this wasn't an issue at all. Just hope the front desk staff take a lesson from Roy on how to do their jobs better.

Room Tip: High floor on West side of building.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Aussie2012,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from our staff. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,524 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,874 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5049 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $213 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. Next door to the International Marketplace and home of the new Maui Brewing Co. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing