We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Ranked #31 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Nadi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location and rooms”
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel before our cruise and found its location to be great. The rooms were very clean and large enough for two adults, toddler and a crib for our infant. Whilst the pool is small our 4yr old loved playing around in it. The breakfast at Jimmy Buffet which was included in our package was also great and offered plenty of choice. The gym also small but very functional. Would certainly stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Aloha Matthew T and thank you for your kind review! We have many guests that stay with us before their cruises leave and they are eager to come back to port to stay with us again before heading home. It sounds like your family really took advantage of all that we have to offer at our property. Saying that you would certainly stay here again is a huge compliment -- thank you so very much! Mahalo, Roy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    990
    1,219
    365
    78
    36
See reviews for
825
962
140
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (727)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
267 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

There are some great positives for this hotel but obvious negatives too.
Positives: It's on Kalakaua Avenue which runs through the heart of Waikiki. You're not paying the ridiculous prices of the hotels which sit right on Waikiki beach but you're only literally 2 minute walk away. The rooms are very clean and you get a sizeable lanai too. Housekeeping were great and the place is clean and well laid out.
Negatives: It's right in the heart of Waikiki so if you have a low floor room then noise will be an issue. We were given a 9th floor room and we could hear everything outside. We got moved up to the 20th floor and the noise level dropped significantly enough. Also get a west facing room rather than east facing as those rooms are beside the International Market Place.
The staff are not smart and although tried to help they just didn't seem to work things out logically. I won't go into details but simple questions seemed to confuse them and they needed to ask advice from higher managers to try to resolve things, but then still not. One exception was Roy on front desk. We did have an issue and he not only resolved it but handled it professionally, promptly and even went above and beyond to make sure everything was handled in a appropriate manner. I sincerely thank him for his efforts and wished he had been on front desk each time we had a query. Well done Roy and we hope your bosses see this review because you are a standout among your colleagues.
This is a good place. Other reviews complained about slow lifts but seriously this wasn't an issue at all. Just hope the front desk staff take a lesson from Roy on how to do their jobs better.

Room Tip: High floor on West side of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Aussie2012,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from our staff. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karumba, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This hotel is a little tired in the outside but the room was large, very clean and surprisingly modern. In a fantastic location with everything at your door step. The staff were friendly and always there to help with anything you needed. We had a partial ocean view which is exactly what you got but as we didn't spend much time in the room we probably could have spent less and just had a room with no view.

Room Tip: The higher you get means less noise and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KylieDarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I had booked this hotel for my son and now wife(they got married in Hawaii), using priority points. They said the room was nice and they had been given a bottle of champagne upon arrival which was a nice touch. As a priority member I was very disappointed that they couldn't get a late checkout which I was told was one of the benefits. They could have freshened up in the hospitality room for $30.00 for 30 minutes, disappointing to say the least. What is the point of a benefit if you can't use them?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deltadawn103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Would definitely stay at this hotel again. Just the perfect location for shops, restaurants and beach. Opposite is the Royal Hawaiian Shopping Centre where you can shop til you drop and not be far from your room. Hotel staff very friendly, and we particularly liked the on-duty security guard. Thanks for a nice memorable stay and we look forward to returning one day soon.

Room Tip: High floor, view of beach is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muriwaidonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Aloha Muriwaidonna,

Thank you for the awesome review. We are happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location and do some great shopping at the Royal Hawaiian shopping center. It is a favorite among our visitors and locals here in Oahu. Thank you for complementing our friendly staff and on site Security, we take great pride in providing great service and it's nice to know we could create a memorable stay for you. We will look forward to your return.
Mahalo,
Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I made reservations directly with Trip Advisor and I really regretted it. Party of five rooms and the payments, the hotel said, was not sent on time-we still weren't in some of the rooms an hour before check-in and we had flown from Japan and waited in the lobby many hours. People who booked on other competitive sites, were in their rooms by 1 or immediately. Good to know. I can't verify this, but keep it in mind.

As a gold member of IHG, they offered me a full ocean view upgrade. Other rooms were overlooking the roof and fans and this could have been clearer on the website. Partial ocean view hotel rooms are worth it. Location just couldn't be better; the beach is right across the street, and shopping abounds.
A very good choice. I would stay here again. Staff was extremely friendly and greeted you in the halls. Front desk staff were outstanding.

Room Tip: See comments above regarding double checking room reservations and payment information when booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorB325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

If you are not concerned with sleep then this is a good hotel, view is lovely if you pay for a premium room but the noise of traffic and trucks at 5am in the morning including hotel bins being emptied is just terrible. We were 14 floors up and we found it extremely noisy. Came across other guest with beach views commenting on the same, so it wasnt just us. Maybe more sound proofing?? Hotel is in a convenient location.

Room Tip: If you dont want a beach view ask for a quiet room at the back, if there is such a thing. If you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brandyloons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear brandyloons,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to hear that you liked the convenient location of our hotel. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. I am sorry that your visit was negatively affected because of the noise. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued guest, instead offer a relaxing and comfortable stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We hope that you give us a chance to improve this unsatisfactory experience.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,808 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#68 of 84 in Honolulu
277 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5049 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. Next door to the International Marketplace and home of the new Maui Brewing Co. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing