We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fun Family Oriented Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Ranked #39 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2013

While we were In Honolulu in July 2013, we stayed part of the time at the Holiday Inn Beachcomber. The Beachcomber is a fun family oriented hotel. The hotel is close to all the major sites and off the main bus line. If you are into shopping, the hotel is next door to a major shopping plaza. There are restaurants in the hotel as well as down the street'

The hotel roomsare big and well furnished. There is a pool and health club on the second floor.The hotel has many of the amenities found in the larger more expensive hotels.

Last, but not least, the hotel staff were found to be very courteous, helpful, and professional. We were able to book tours and others activities through the hotel activity center.

When we return to Honolulu, we would likely stay at the Beachcomber.

Room Tip: For a wonderful ocean view, walk across Kalakawa Street and down o the ocean. The ocean views are w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berg2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Aloha berg2405 and thank you for your kind review of your recent Beachcomber visit! We're glad to hear you enjoyed our central, convenient location and nice room, and am most pleased to hear your compliments about our very courteous, helpful and professional staff. Our team appreciates your business and support and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Mahalo, Dean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,846)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,371 - 1,377 of 2,846 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

My family and I stayed here for the first week in October 2013. What a location. Right out the front door and into the main action. The hotel was great, the staff were polite, helpful and meet all of our expectations. We could not fault the service at all. The hotel room we had was fantastic. The rooms were cleaned daily and looked and smelled fresh when we came home from a day out. The pool was a good size for the area. Either early in the morning or late afternoon for a swim is perfect. Thankyou for making our trip to Hawaii so relaxing and worry free. Well Done and see you soon. Mahalo

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonz66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Aloha Bonz66 and thank you for your kind words! You are spot on about being in the middle of the action; as we say here, the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort is in the "heart of Waikiki". We will be sure to pass your comments about the cleanliness/freshness of your room on to our Housekeeping Department, as they work very hard to ensure that all of our guests have similar experiences. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Mahalo, Roy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

As other reviews say it's in a good location, room is good, but as for the ocean view room!!!!!!!!! I am not sure what the difference is between the partial ocean view and the OCEAN view but don't bother paying the extra. Also with verandah door open it's very noisy from traffic/people noise.
I'm not sure that you can see the sunset from any room in this hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
4  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Aloha SueS and thank you for your comments on your recent Beachcomber stay! We're glad to hear you found our location and room to your liking, but am sorry to hear that the view did not live up to your expectation. Hopefully, you'll give us another opportunity next time you're in Honolulu and if it's a sunset you're looking for, I recommend a high floor Kalakaua ocean view room, our top room category. Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your visit all the way from Sydney, and we look forward to your return. Mahalo, Dean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My boyfriend and i stayed here for around 10 days in late September in a standard room. The location was perfect in the middle of the action, and we didn't mind not being beachfront, it was only a short stroll. We did miss ocean views though having come from a condo on Kauai with postcard views; ours was of a few air vents and the occasional window cleaner.

Rooms were a nice enough size, beds were comfy and the staff were very helpful. We wouldn't have a problem staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zulucherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Aloha ZuluGoose, thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us at the Beachcomber! Your comments about our central location, nice size rooms and friendly staff are spot on and much appreciated. We thank you for visiting Honolulu for 10 days all the way from England and look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber in the future. Mahalo, Dean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I very well located hotel with extremely friendly and helpful staff. The rooms at this hotel are a good size. Stayed for 10 nights and would definitely stay there again. The hotel is one street back from the main beach and very close to some excellent restaurants in Waikiki. Jimmy Buffets bar in the hotel complex is excellent value for food and drinks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Aloha Terry114, thank you for visiting with us all the way from W.A. and thank you for your kind review of the Beachcomber! WOW, 10 nights in Waikiki - you must have thoroughly enjoyed yourself and enjoyed all that it has to offer. Yes, we are in a most central and convenient location and I'm most pleased to hear you describe our staff as extremely friendly and helpful. Thank you for your business and support and we look forward to your return. Mahalo, Dean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile


The location of this hotel was perfect for us, it was only across the road from Waikiki beach and right amongst the shops and Restaurants; and within an easy walk to public transport, I would definitely stay here again when visiting Waikiki.

Stayed: September 2013
2  Thank Mark & Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Aloha Mark&KarenS and thank you for your kind review of your recent Beachcomber stay! We're delighted to hear that you found our hotel, location and staff to your liking and that you enjoyed your time in Waikiki. We look forward to your return to the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort in the near future. Mahalo, Dean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great experience staying at the beachcomber. I picked the hotel from reading the pervious reviews and found that 99% of the reviews were right. This hotel is not on the beachfront but its less then 300yards away. I had a double ocean view Kalakaua room, we stayed in room #2108 which had an outstanding view. We didn't have a problem with noise or with the elevators. The hotel bars was great (Jimmy Buffet). I would like to thank Mr. Reed who worked at the front desk. He assisted me with surprising my wife and sister-in-law with having a cake that I was having delivered to my room while we were away, and plus he sent a bottle of champagne to our room with a nice greeting card for the hotel. Great service! I will stay at this hotel on my next visit to Waikiki.

Room Tip: If you want a nice room try #2108, great views and no street noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank phatjaxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Aloha Phatjaxxx and thank you so much for this amazing review! You touched upon a few points that pretty much sum up the reason why people come back to the Holiday Inn Wakiki Beachcomber Resort year after year: our great location and our friendly staff. It's so nice to hear that Reid went the extra mile to ensure that your vacation experience was a memorable one. We are glad to hear that you will stay with us again on your next trip to Waikiki; this is one of the most rewarding compliments that you could have given us! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Mahalo, Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Aqua Oasis
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,650 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5049 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $228 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. Next door to the International Marketplace and home of the new Maui Brewing Co. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing