We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“To relax and enjoy life” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Ranked #30 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“To relax and enjoy life”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

After a long flight fron NZ, and getting through immigration the friendly recption staff were great.

The room very clean and comfortable, with a bonus sea view, and in the middle of Waikiki walk.
Just great guys, thanks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LAMB7520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Aloha LAMB7520, thank you for your review and making the long journey from New Zealand! We're delighted to hear of your stay here at our Beachcomber, and especially appreciate your comments about our clean, comfortable hotel and great, friendly reception staff. We hope that you enjoyed Waikiki, Oahu and all Hawaii has to offer and that you'll return in the not-too-distant future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    899
    1,144
    344
    72
    31
See reviews for
752
888
130
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (666)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber is nice hotel that's right in the middle of the action. Upon arriving the staff was friendly and helpful, and our room was ready and clean. The views from our balcony was nice, you could see the ocean in between other hotels. It was nice that the hotel provides beach towels at the pool area if you are going to the beach, but get there early or they may run out by the afternoon. The hotel is near the beach and walkable to just about any kind of shop or restaurant you can imagine. The annoying things about this hotel was that you have to valet your car at a steep rate of $30 per day ($25 for platinum members). Another odd thing is that the lobby is actually on the second floor, and if you go to the street level on the elevator you get out by the parking garage at the back of the hotel. Aside from that we enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn Beachcomber and if we are lucky enough to revisit Waikiki we would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dblev76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Aloha dblev76, thank you for your review and for staying at the Beachcomber during your recent Hawaii visit! Yes, we're in the middle of the exciting Waikiki resort area and we certainly appreciate your recognition of our friendly, helpful staff. Sorry about the parking fees, but we try and stay as competitive as possible with our neighboring hotels - and this way, we don't assess resort fees. We hope you return to visit us again in the future! Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel was really great for the price. We had a partial ocean view that was fantastic. Staff were very friendly and great and the hotel was also very clean.

The location of the hotel is superb. Waikiki beach is very close and you are smack dab in the middle of a shopping and restaurant hotspot. The International Marketplace is also right next door where you can get the best souvenirs for the lowest possible prices! Even though there was a lot of hustle and bustle going on outside of the hotel, it was never loud when we stepped inside or even when we hung out on the balcony.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Aloha JennyR and thank you for your review of the Beachcomber! Superb location, great for the price and clean rooms are music to my ears, but especially gratifying is your acknowledgment of our friendly staff. Our team works hard to take care of our many visitors and we certainly appreciate your kind words. Mahalo for your business and support. /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

It is central to everything. Really great rooms and good prices and great services too, nothing is a bother to the staff, all you have to do is ask and they are straight onto it. I'll be coming back for sure.

Room Tip: If you can afford an ocean view get it, you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Aloha MickR, thank you for your kind words and for choosing to stay with us here at the Beachcomber! Central location, great rooms and service and good prices say it all! And it's great to hear that you'll be coming back - thank you for your support! Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
316 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

I have stayed at this property several times and for some strange reason, I tried different hotels in Waikiki (mostly business related) and they were clearly not as good of a hotel. I just stayed at the Beachcomber again and found it to be only perfect. This is a Holiday Inn, and the rate can be slightly higher than other properties, but this place has great service, great location and simply delivers everyting you need.

Until we move to Honolulu, this is my hotel of choice. I think if you give this place a try, you will too conclude that it's simply perfect. The hotel general manager is Dean and he runs a wonderful hotel. If you get up early like I do, say hello to Jenny at the front desk. I have found Jenny to be very informative, wonderful personality, and just a great person. My hat's off to the staff at this hotel.

Stay there, I seriously doubt that you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 678855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Aloha 678855, thank you for your kind review and most importantly, for your continued business and support of the Beachcomber! We never get tired of hearing about our wonderful service and location, and especially enjoy hearing about our awesome staff, including Jenny at the front desk. Yes, until you move to live in Honolulu, we're delighted with the opportunity of welcoming back to your home in Hawaii - the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort. Mahalo and hope to see you again soon! /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Loved this location and how close to the beach and shops this hotel offers. I especially enjoyed the friendly service we received on multiple occasions from Sydney at the front desk . She helped us beyond our expectations and made our concerns feel like no problems at all.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TommieDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Aloha TommieDean and thank you for your review of the Beachcomber! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed our hotel, its location and the friendly service. And thank you for mentioning Sydney at the front desk! Our entire team works hard to take care of our many visitors and we're delighted when our guests mention this in their online reviews. Thank you for your support and we hope you return to stay with us again in the near future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights in June. It was a great hotel. It was on the Main Street, great for shopping and getting to the beach. The restaurant was great! Great staff and food was amazing! Awesome atmosphere and good pool facilities! Would recommend this place to everyone. The staff were great!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Staceyjmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Aloha Staceyjmill and thank you for the review of your recent Beachcomber stay! We certainly appreciate your kind words about our location and restaurant, but most of all, we're delighted to hear you describe our staff as great! We thank you for your business, support and recommendation and hope you return to the Beachcomber in the not-too-distant future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
#34 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#42 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5049 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. It is home to the Magic of Polynesia show, the one and only Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant & Bar, and Macy's Waikiki department store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing