We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, standard Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Ranked #34 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
NSW Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, standard Holiday Inn”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in early May. Location was fantastic, a block from the beautiful beach and in the middle of busy Waikiki. An average Holiday Inn - comfortable beds, good sized room, fridge & coffee machine. We were on 18th floor with a partial beach view. After staying in the middle of Times Square in New York we were surprised to find the noise from the street was far more intrusive here, making sleep difficult at times. The balcony was very small & the shutters did not keep much light out. The staff were very nice with a quick check in & out. We ate breakfast at the restaurant once & it was pretty ordinary, but there were plenty of places to eat outside the hotel. Overall it was a good standard hotel & I gave it a higher rating because the location was so good.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Dare2Dream1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Aloha Dare2Dream1 and thank you for your comments on your recent Beachcomber stay! We thank you for choosing to stay with us and are delighted to learn that in general, you enjoyed your visit. We appreciate your feedback and our team will continue to work hard and take care of our many guests from all over the world. We hope you return to Waikiki in the future and look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber again one day. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    1,238
    375
    80
    40
See reviews for
848
978
145
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (738)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gymea, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Family and friends flew to Hawaii for the wedding of my son and his fiance. The mother of the bride and I stayed here for 9 nights. When we first checked in we were on the 5th floor and our balcony faced a wall, however, we could see glimpes of the ocean to the left and the mountains to the right. We asked for a higher room but there were none available. We were very pleased we stayed where we were. Once the door was closed it was whisper quiet in our room. We looked down over the International Markets but we were never disturbed by any noise. My daughter and her partner were on level 7 and they found it really noisy. The only noise we encountered was the last night we were there when an obviously intoxicated woman was hammering, banging and possibly kicking a door of another room and screaming at someone. The beds and pillows were so comfortable I wanted to bring my home with me. Staff were very friendly and the valet attendants were very helpful when I had a problem sorting out our shuttle pick up when we had to get back to the airport to come home. Its in a great location too, close to everything. The whole experience was great, the wedding was beautiful and I can't wait to get back to Hawaii for another holiday. Would definitely stay at the Beachcomber again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roselilycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Aloha roselilycat, thank you for staying with us here at the Beachcomber for 9 nights and for your kind review of our hotel! We certainly are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay, that you found our team to be friendly and our location great. And Congratulations on your son's wedding - hopefully you all will be back to visit for future anniversary celebrations! Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Kristina has outstanding customer service skills. I would recommend the hotel to anyone and everyone because of the wonderful services of Kristina. She was the part of the stay at holiday inn Waikiki breach comber that made it worth while. The hotel itself was above average on its own. Kristina made the it Extraordinary!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevenmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Aloha stevenmay for choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort and for your most kind review of our ohana, Kristina! We receive many kudos about our property, but the ones that make us the most proud are when our guests mention our team members by name. We're delighted that Kristina was able to make such a positive impact on your recent hotel stay and we've already shared the good news with our entire team. We hope this means you'll be back for another visit in the not-too-distant future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

If you want to stay in Honolulu and want a good value hotel then this is what I would recommend mainly because of its location. The hotel is only a block from Waikiki beach so a 3 minute walk and you are by the sea. The hotel is also very close to several shops and restaurants. A Starbucks is just a 5 minutes walk away. However, here are other things you might consider: exactly because of its location the room was very very noisy. So our sleep quality was not good. We were in a room with a queen bed and partial view of the ocean on the 8th floor. Next to the hotel there is what they call an international market so early in the morning you could hear people getting ready to open the stalls, trash trucks, delivery trucks you name it. Even with the balcony door closed we could hear them. As for the room with a partial view: dont get yourself fooled. It is just a tiny tiny strip of the sea you can see among a row of buildings. We had to twist our neck over the balcony to even have a glimpse of it. What you could see sitting at the balcony were the other buildings. So I really dont think it was worth paying the extra buck for this room. The room itself was clean, good bed, clean bedlinen, standard Holiday Inn stuff. Flat screen tv that did not work and we had to call maintenance twice, they came, fixed it but it really never worked properly. Since we were not in Honolulu to watch tv we just gave up calling them after the second repair guy came. The hotel only has valet parking at 30 per day. We found out a parking lot 15 minutes away for $17 a day at the Banyan Hotel that accepts parking for people that are not staying with them if their lot is not full. We decided to go for it and had no problem at all. We could park the car ourselves and go in and out at our pleasure for the flat rate per day. The Holliday Inn hotel does not offer breakfast but that was not a problem since there are many places nearby to grab a bite. To summarize, it is good value for money and if you want a better location than this only if you stay at the beach resorts.

Room Tip: I would say that rooms on higher floors and not at the back of the building might be quieter. Rememb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Milepost2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Aloha Milepost2012 and thank you for the review of your recent Beachcomber stay! We're grateful for your recommendation and appreciate your feedback as we always strive to improve upon our product and service. Our team was pleased to hear your comment about our good, clean rooms, and will also follow-up upon the TV issue, which we'll work to more effectively remedy for future guests. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had a great 4 nights here. Room was spacious, layout practical. Tea/ coffee facilities there, although limited to one cup each per day which is a bit miserly. Fridge there too. We were on 14th floor with views down to marketplace and right to beaches that were only a few hundred metres away. Loved the balcony and listening to the various live music coming from the marketplace. Handy to shops and buses easy to catch to larger centres. Marketplace fun to walk around. Endless choices for meals with Waikiki full of pleasant and helpful service providers. There for Spam Jam, a colourful festival with endless street stalls, highlighting a favourite tinned meat!!!! Our street was closed to traffic all afternoon and evening to accommodate this, a lot of fun.

Room Tip: Be aware this hotel is bordered on 3 sides for the potential for noise of one sort or another, eithe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hazel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Aloha HazelF and thank you for your kind review of your recent 4-night Beachcomber stay! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed a great stay and also appreciate all of your feedback. Our team will continue to work hard to earn your continued support and business. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

This was my 7th trip to Honolulu, but my first stay at Waikiki Beachcomber. My husband and I stayed 7 nights in a partial ocean view room on the 18th floor. Our room was clean, the bed comfortable, and we appreciated having an in-room coffee maker and refrigerator. The lanai was tiny, and the partial ocean view was partly obstructed by the partition between the lanais. With the exception of hearing the odd siren late at night, we were not disturbed by street noise at all.
All hotel staff were very friendly. We spent an afternoon by the pool, and appreciated the convenience of Jimmy Buffet's restaurant poolside service. The pool isn't heated (refreshing!) which was great after lying in the sun for several hours.
You can't beat the location of this hotel-- directly across from the Royal Hawaiian shopping centre, 2 minute walk to beach, Macy's downstairs, international marketplace next door. Valet parking is $30/day (typical Waikiki), but there was no resort fee! The free wifi was great, and even worked by the pool.
I would definitely stay again, we had a great time!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 85er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Aloha 85er, thank you for choosing the Beachcomber and for your thorough review! WOW, 7 times to Honolulu - we're delighted that you finally discovered our hotel. We're glad that you found our central location to your liking and that you agree our hotel is clean and well-kept, but the most gratifying compliment of all is the one of our friendly staff. The team really appreciates hearing your kind words! Mahalo and hope you return to the Beachcomber on your 8th trip to Honolulu. /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parramatta
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and it was great. We had breakfast 3 mornings and 2 mornings it was fabulous and the 3 was ordinary, possibly a different chef.
The staff at reception where very accomodating and helpfull.
the location was very central to shopping, restaurants and the beach not more than about 250m.

Room Tip: up higher to get away from some of the noise when u have the balcony doors open
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank getaway63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Aloha getaway63 and thank you for your kind review of your recent Beachcomber 5-night stay! We're delighted that you were able to spend enough time to experience Waikiki and Oahu. And thank you for your kind words about our reception staff. On behalf of our ohana, we thank you for your business and support. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,841 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,480 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5049 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. Next door to the International Marketplace and home of the new Maui Brewing Co. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing