We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay first time in Waikiki”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Ranked #34 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Our first family trip to Hawaii and what a great place to stary. Right in the middle of the action and shopping. If you want a quite secluded location this is not for you and it is not tope end 5 star but this is very good 4 star hotel within walking distance to evreything. The rooms are spacious beds very comfortable and a great bar area over looking the pool. James at the expedia desk is the standout for helping us organise trips and things both before we arrived via Email and once we were there. He personifies customer service and the staff at the front desk could take some lessons from him.

Room Tip: High floors for views
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OliDaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Aloha OliDaze and thank you for your kind review of the Beachcomber! We're delighted that you chose to stay with us on your 1st trip to Hawaii and hope you return in the near future. Yes, we're in the middle of the action here in the Waikiki resort area. Thank you also for mentioning James at the Expedia desk. And if you can provide more information about your front desk experience, I'd be interested in hearing from you. Our team works hard and appreciates your business and support. Mahalo, Dean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,768)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,462 - 1,468 of 2,769 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed here (Ohana Waikiki) on our honeymoon in 2008 and just loved every single minute of it. The reception area was under construction, so we got a good deal from the travel agent for the time we wanted to stay here. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the beach and opposite my favorite restaurant, the Cheesecake Factory. We had a balcony, where we could enjoy the sunset while drinking champagne that we got as a complimentary gift for honeymooners.Our room was spacious, clean and non-smoking, which was one of my criteria.
If I come back to Hawaii, I will stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank eur0peankiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Aloha eurOpeankiwi and thank you for your review of the Beachcomber! We're delighted to hear that you stayed with us back in 2008 and returned for another pleasant stay four years later! Thank you for your kind words and it pleases me to hear that you'd return again - we look forward to it! And by the way, Congratulations on your upcoming 5th wedding anniversary! Mahalo for your support! /Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I were there in Dec. 2010 for the Christmas holidays. The hotel is nothing fancy but you can't beat the location. Our room was on the 7th floor and we had a pretty good view of the main street and a partial ocean view. It's close to shopping (Macy's downstairs and the royal Hawaiian Shoping Mall is across the street), restaurants nearby, International Marketplace just down the street, and transportation right outside the hotel. It's a fiar value for your money-in comparison to other Waikiki hotels. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ibaol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Aloha ibaol and thank you for your review of the Beachcomber! We're delighted that you were pleased with you stays at our hotel and agree with you that our location is most central and convenient. Thank you for your business and support and we look forward to your return in the near future. Mahalo, Dean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Great location, steps away from the beach. Path to public beach is directly across the street.

Easy access to night life, shopping, restaurants and more! All walking distance.

Rooms have a balcony, ocean views are available and the staff is out of this world!!

I highly recommend this hotel.

A few pointers:

- get a high floor. International market is next door and its loud! Even high floors have some room noise

- pool is average and hot tub is only luke warm. Its beautiful out there during sun set and in the evening. Feels like city life in a beach town

- hotel partners with a restaurant on property so you get a great discount with your room key. Found better food options within walking though quality wise

- parking is expensive per day so we took a great shuttle service to/from airport and did a rental car for the day only with no over night. Plenty of excursions within walking that can be booked

Over-all, it was a great spot for our trip. Its not a full resort but you are steps to beach, its spotless and staff is amazing. Prices were 50-100 dollars per night cheaper than the beach front giants. Free wifi, bottles of water and great beds.

Very comfortable! I'd stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mcruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Aloha Mcruff and thank you for your review of the Beachcomber! We're delighted to have your recommendation, and are pleased to learn that you found our location, rooms and prices to your liking. There's no finer compliment than to read that you'd return and stay with us again, so I thank you and we look forward to your return to the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber in the near future. Mahalo, Dean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I spent a week at Beachcomber Resort for my kids' spring break. The location was perfect and service was outstanding. Amazing staff!! It is on Kalakaua, and walking distance to everything. Right next to International Market. What else can you ask for!!!! I wish jacuzzi was open later. And parking guys do not wear Holiday Inn name tag if they claim they are not part of the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keilani50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Aloha keilani50 and thank you for your kind review of the Beachcomber! It's especially gratifying to hear from kamaaina and we're glad to learn that you and the family enjoyed your recent spring break here in Waikiki. Yes, we're often told our location is perfect and are frequently complimented on our service as well. Thank you for your support and we hope that you return for a staycation next spring break, too! Mahalo, Dean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed 2 nights before heading to maui. Staff was polite, questions answered quickly. Room was clean, not big, but worked well for 2 adults and 2 kids. The baggage guys had the scoop on early (5:30 am)coffee locations and short cuts, as well as how to get to beach, etc. They quickly had taxis called, and went above and beyond call of duty to make sure we were satisfied.

Room Tip: Limos are available for the same price as a taxi..why not go in style?
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Aloha markd and thank you for your review of our Beachcomber! We're delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay, that you found our rooms clean and most importantly, our staff polite. We're proud of our team and we work hard to take care of our many guests from all over the world. And thank you for mentioning the added value of our (baggage team) front door, bellmen, parking valets and the information / tips they provided you to help maximize your Waikiki vacation! Hope you enjoyed Maui, too. Mahalo, Dean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent two nights at the Holiday Inn Beachcomber. It was a great location for us for those two nights. Our room faced the ocean (we paid extra for the view) and was comfortable. It really worked great for the two nights we were there but I'm not sure I would spend a week there. The bathtub was half size and our drain needed cleaning (which was done very quickly and without an inconvenience to us. But, by far, the best reason to stay was the Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville Restaurant and Bar! We are big parrotheads and spent a great deal of time sipping on Perfect Margarita's!

Room Tip: Spend the extra $$ and get the Kalakaua Ocean View room - it's at the front of the hotel facing...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Aloha kjb11, thank you for your review of the Beachcomber, and for your support of our hotel and Jimmy Buffett's! We're delighted you enjoyed your recent visit and are pleased to hear that you find our location central and convenient. Jimmy Buffett's at the Beachcomber has been a part of our hotel for over 4 years and we hope you and other parrotheads come and enjoy our Waikiki location. Mahalo, Dean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,525 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,874 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5049 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $212 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. Next door to the International Marketplace and home of the new Maui Brewing Co. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing