We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Reasonably Priced Clean Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Ranked #30 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
St Louis Metro
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Reasonably Priced Clean Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We are back from our 2 week trip to Hawaii. We stayed 2 nights at the Beachcomber. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean and reasonably priced. Our "partial oceanview" room was just that. We were in room 700 and standing on the balcony we could look over the rooftop a/c units and barely see the ocean. Also, it was very loud. We could hear the music at the luau and also from the bars below us. We had 2 other rooms on this floor and 1 on the 4th floor and none of them heard the noise like we did. We stayed only 2 nights and ate in Jimmy Buffet's the first evening. The nachos are huge there! We enjoyed our meal. We did not have a car on this island and chose a cab to Diamond Head, which was just under $15 each way for 6 adults. The cabs do not charge per adult. We stayed at this hotel 10 years ago and knew it was a good choice. Right in the heart of Waikiki.

Room Tip: As for a room away from the noise of the show/luau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gramma2b08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Aloha gramma2b08 and thank you for your comments on your recent Beachcomber stay! We're glad you chose to return after your visit 10 years ago and agree with you that our location is a most convenient one, and that our rooms are clean and reasonably priced. I especially appreciate your compliment about our very friendly staff. Thank you for your business and hopefully, your return visit to Waikiki will be in the near future. :) Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    902
    1,144
    344
    72
    31
See reviews for
754
888
130
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is the second time we have used the Beachcomber for our holiday in Hawaii,the saff were very friendly and helpfull, Jimmy buffetts restaurant was great to eat at great food.
Have only just got back off our holiday and are looking at going back in August for another,looking forward to staying at the Beachcomber it makes the holiday even more enjoyable

Room Tip: Higher floors are not as noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Aloha WayneS, thank you for choosing us again and for your kind words about the Beachcomber! We're most delighted when guests return and it's especially pleasing to hear about our helpful, friendly staff and how much you enjoyed Jimmy Buffett's! Please let us know about your upcoming August visit as it tends to be one of our busiest months of the year. Mahalo for your business and support! /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This property is right in the middle of Waikiki. It is directly across the street from the beach. I personally like the north shore better its not as commercial. But this is one of the best place at a reasonable price on Waikiki. Our balcony looked out to the ocean and even got to watch the hotels luau one night from our balcony. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Remember all beaches in Hawaii are public so you can enjoy any of them on any island.

Room Tip: Ask for a ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christmas_man64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Aloha Christmas_man64 and thank you for your review of the Beachcomber! We agree with you that we're in the middle of all the Waikiki action and that we're the best, reasonably-priced place to stay. Mahalo for choosing to stay with us and we hope you return in the near future! /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Utah
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I had a top floor facing beach soy views were good. I could see diamond head and main street. My room had a baday. Room was big enough and clean. Hotel staff was friendly. It costs $30 per day to park car which i thought was a lot considering cost of hotel. Its not free.

There are a lot of places to eat and things to do close by. Beach is about a 3 minute walk from from front of hotel. Its not that close but its ok. No good places to wash up though.

Room Tip: Shop around and bargain with flea market vendors. Start at half what they ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plague07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Aloha plaque07 and thank you for your review of the Beachcomber! We agree with you about our convenient location and are especially pleased to hear your remark about our friendly staff. We're glad you enjoyed your Waikiki visit and hope you return in the future! Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I are just returning from a trip to Hawaii with 2 days at the Holiday Inn and 7 day cruise around the islands.
Honolulu is a very busy place, but everyone from the valet to the restaurant staff have their act together to be able to manage lots of tourist in very timely fashion.
We ate the breakfast buffet which was great and had lunch in JB's We were able to split an appetizer and hamburger with enough food to leave fries behind.
People complain about the cost in Hawaii but we've been to Alaska and found things were more expensive in Alaska. In all reality if you go to Hawaii for vacation and can't afford a $32 food tab for two people with drinks, you don't need to go.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kajunana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Aloha kajunana and thank you for your kind words about your recent Beachcomber stay! We certainly appreciate your comments, especially about having our act together, from the valets to Jimmy Buffett's. Hope your cruise was delightful as well! Mahalo and we hope you return to Hawaii again in the future! /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Not a bad location, not on the beach. I reserved an ocean view room, which should have been listed as a partial ocean view room as you can only see a small part of it. Balcony is facing parallel with the beach and the shoreline curves away so you can see a small part of the ocean.

Elevators are HORRIBLE! 4 elevators and you will wait at times longer than 5 minutes to get on one.

I think their beds are pretty average at the most, I don't find them that comfortable and the pillows are not that good either. I hate hotels that say they offer High Speed Internet...it is high speed compared to a 56K modem, but in todays world of technology, it is really SLOW.

They had a box of chocolate covered macadamia nuts in the room, which was a nice treat.

There are quite a few restaurants in the area, and Jimmy Buffets is attached to the hotel.

Pool closes pretty early, I want to say it was closing around 6 PM while we were staying there. There was one night it was reserved for a special occasion, but most of the time it is just closed and empty.

The AC unit has two vents in the room on the wall towards the top, it takes a while to cool down the room, and if you open the balcony door the AC turns off to conserve energy.

We were on the 24th floor, and could hear every car that passes by, and all the people yelling, whistling, and music that is happening on the street. So if you are a light sleeper, you might want to pack you some ear plugs.

Parking is 100% Valet only, and it is pricey! I want to say it was $30 dollars for 24 hours. They are fast getting your car if they don't already have a line of people leaving at the same time. Watch the street vendors, some dress to look like they work at the hotel (same clothes style, badges, etc) by the valet parking, but they work for a different "time share company" and they will try and rip you off.

Enjoy Waikiki! There are lots of great street performers at night that make a walk around town worth it!

Room Tip: The Higher the floor the better, better view, less street noise when you are sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SnowUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Aloha SnowUtah and thank you for your review of the Beachcomber! We appreciate your business and am delighted that you chose to stay with us for your recent Waikiki visit. Sounds like you enjoyed Waikiki and that you found our location to be a most convenient one. And thank you for your remarks and suggestions - we'll continue to work hard to make the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber a good value for all visitors to the Waikiki resort area. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort Hotel was very nice. The hotel staff were attentive and helpful. We loved the efficient valet parking. We had a basic king bed room.The linens were very nice and the bed was very comfortable but was nothing special the location however, was. It was right in the middle of the shopping district. All kinds of restaurants and shopping, some of them are beach side making them especially nice.

Room Tip: It would help to get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Aloha VickiM and thank you for your kind review of the Beachcomber! We're delighted that you found our hotel to be comfortable and in a good central Waikiki location, and your compliments about our efficient valet parking and attentive and helpful staff are really appreciated. Thank you for your support and business and we hope that you return to Waikiki and the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber in the near future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
#34 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#41 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#17 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5049 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. It is home to the Magic of Polynesia show, the one and only Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant & Bar, and Macy's Waikiki department store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing