We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Ranked #40 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Beachcomber for 10 days at the end of January. The staff was very helpful with all our needs, asking questions about how to get here and where to eat. The in-famous James and the soon-to-be infamous Dave at the Expedia desk were very friendly and helpful, too. It was unfortunate that the luau they helped us booked was cancelled even when rescheduled. Who knew it rained in Hawaii?! One of the desks at the bottom of the escalators is one of those 'not a timeshare' deals so beware. We did it anyways for the #8 Island Nature Tour which was really great. We stayed in room 211 which is on the street side. We were there for the Pro Bowl street party. You could not hear it when you closed the patio door. The view was nice when the sunset behind the other buildings. We would have liked to have been higher during the street party as we could not actually see the street from our room. The room itself was great, nice and roomy. The safe was not working when we arrived, but we called the front desk. Within in minutes the maintenance man was there with fresh batteries! The only thing with the room was the small shower, the very small shower! We managed though as it had a hand held shower wand. The hotel itself does not have any local activities, but there is a magic show they have which we did not go see. The restaurant was Jimmy Buffet's so you know what to expect there. Thank goodness for the discount on the breakfast buffett, because it was lacking in variety and was not worth the $14. That is the one thing I would say needs to be improved upon, the hotel needs more restaurants. We went across the street most of the time to eat at the Outrigger, sorry to say. The food offered was better and of course had the view. The staff at the Surfing Museum bar was outstanding. You must try the Lava Lava Shrimp appetizer - awesome!! All in all, the Holiday Inn Beachcomber was a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Street side is great as it is not as noisy as some say. Higher than 4th floor though to actually se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NMP1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Aloha NMP1958, thank you for visiting us all the way from North Carolina and for attending the Pro Bowl! We hope you thoroughly enjoyed your 10 days on Oahu and that your holiday was most memorable. We're also really pleased to hear that you found our staff to be most helpful, especially the Expedia desk team. Mahalo for choosing the Beachcomber and we look forward to your future return, perhaps for the next Pro Bowl! /Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,816)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,538 - 1,544 of 2,816 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed in February 2013 for two days prior to departing on a 7 day Hawaiian Cruise. There was a mixup on our room booking that required a discussion with a Manager. This was resolved very quickly and we were placed on the 22nd floor with a partial ocean view. Room was clean and quiet. Breakfast buffet included with each night was impressively delivered in the Jimmy Buffet's restaurant. Breakfast included bacon, eggs, hash browns, cereals, yogurt and a waffle station. Hotel appeared very full as elevators most often required a 5 minute wait. Staff were friendly and hotel very clean. Best part is the wonderful location as it is walking distance to several shopping malls including one high end. We would definitely return here.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with a partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redhead049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Aloha Redhead049, thank you for your kind review and for visiting with us all the way from Calgary! Our team is pleased to hear your comments about our clean rooms and friendly staff and we hope that your cruise was most enjoyable and memorable. We hope you return to Honolulu in the near future and look forward to welcoming you back to the Beachcomber again! Mahalo, Dean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Good location, decent rooms, staff helpful. 14th floor still too low to leave patio door open and hope to get sleep. Not impressed with $14 buffet breakfast at attached Jimmy Buffet restaurant. Was slightly better than typical Holiday Inn Express free one. Front desk got us booked last minute to snorkel when we had given up hope.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mneilcihsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Aloha Mneilcihsos, thank you for your review and for visiting with us all the way from Iowa! We certainly appreciate your kind words about our hotel, location and helpful staff. We'll also be sure to share your comments about the restaurant and the front desk with all concerned. We appreciate your business and hope you return to the Islands in the not-too-distant future! Mahalo, Dean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Room OK - bed comfortable - very noisy at night but it's waikiki, right? It was our honeymoon, so we got an ocean view room + a bottle of bubbles, which was very appreciated! Great location - close from everything! Nothing fancy, but we did not stay in the room anyway! Clean and good value! No complaints!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KplusM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Aloha KplusM, Congratulations on your wedding and thank you for your review of the Beachcomber! We appreciate your kind words about our great location, clean hotel and good value and hope you return for one of your anniversaries! Mahalo for visiting Hawaii all the way from Montreal - we appreciate your support! /Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

It's been almost 30 years since we last visited Honolulu, and stayed at this same place! It's still a great place, and the location is perfect: close to the International Marketplace, Waikiki. Our room was located on the 4th floor, and it was quiet, nice size, and very clean. The furnishings were comfortable. Staff at the desk were very helpful. Only problem we had was not realizing we needed to use our "key" to reach our floor via the elevator. Only after advising the staff the elevator wasn't working properly did they tell us we needed to insert our key in a rather unoticable slot. We've traveled to many International destinations, but rarely had this situation, although we do appreciate the safety in having this. Still, it would have saved us and the staff time had we been told up front about using our key in the elevator.Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvgr8trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Aloha luvgr8trvl and thank you for returning to Hawaii and the Beachcomber after 30 years! Waikiki has changed, but we're glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay and agree with you about our perfect location, clean and comfortable rooms and appreciate your kind words about our very helpful staff. I apologize about not informing you about our elevator key cards, but you're right - it's an added security measure appreciated by most. Mahalo, Dean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel was perfect! Close to the International Market Place & everything else that there is to see and do in Honolulu. Our third person in our party didn't show up, so they credited us the $30. They were even willing to let us stay a bit later the next morning so when our third person arrived she could have gotten cleaned up. But, thanks to the airline she didn't make it there on time (we were on a cruise for the week leaving that same day). The breakfast at Margaritaville was really good for being a buffet. If I go to Honolulu again, I would stay here!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caribbean_smiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Aloha caribbean_smiley and thank you for your "Perfect" review of the Beachcomber! We're grateful to receive your rating and our team is most appreciative and will continue to work hard to take care of our many guests. Yes, our location is most central and convenient and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed Jimmy Buffett's / Margaritaville. We look forward to your return in the not-too-distant future! Mahalo, Dean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Visiting over Christmas period, hotel was extremely busy, however, staff always helpful and courteous. Great central location in Waikiki - close to beach, shops, restaurants. Standard hotel rooms - clean, and quiet.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Aloha TraceyH, thank you for spending Christmas with us and for your kind words about the Beachcomber! Yes, Waikiki was quite busy over the holidays and we are especially pleased to hear about our helpful and courteous staff. Our team works hard to take care of our many guests and your compliments are most appreciated. Mahalo and we look forward to your return to the Beachcomber one day. /Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
639 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#18 of 84 in Honolulu
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5049 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $189 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. Next door to the International Marketplace and home of the new Maui Brewing Co. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing