We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time to Honolulu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Ranked #31 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Tennant Creek, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First time to Honolulu”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The view from our room was very average. The beds were very comfortable. i didn't like the enclosed toilet and shower, with open vanity.

Breakfast and dinner was available from the separately owned restaurant.

Ideal location, surrounded by all the brand shops. A short walk to Waikiki beach. Buses available to Alo Moana shopping centre.

Very relaxing

Room Tip: If you want a view, ask for one. If it's not important, you can always go for walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg132009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Aloha Greg132009 and thank you for your comments on your recent Beachcomber stay! You're right - our location is most convenient and we think our hotel offers an overall good value, too. We thank you for choosing to stay with us on your business trip last month and hope you'll consider us again when you return to Oahu, whether on business or holiday. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    990
    1,218
    365
    78
    36
See reviews for
825
961
140
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (726)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We go away for a girls week every 2 years and after staying at Holiday Inn Beachcomer we wont stay anywhere else.
So close to everything and we are all so happy with the rooms, housekeeping and service.
We will be there again at the end of February and are counting the days!
An overall wonderful experience.

Room Tip: If you have shopped hard enough or made the most of the Hawaiian experience you wont notice any nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Aloha KylieF and thank you for your kind words! Yes, we are close to almost everything here in Waikiki and I'm most pleased to hear that you're happy with our rooms, housekeeping and service. Our team works hard to take good care of our many guests and your compliments are music to our ears! We'll see you again soon... mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

The holiday inn is a functional hotel close to waikiki plus pretty good value for money for the location. We didn't eat at the hotel, there is plenty of choice all around. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judethmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Aloha judethmc and thank you for your comments on the Beachcomber! We agree with you that yes, we're a good value and also that there are choices all around. Whether the beach, shopping, dining or entertainment, the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort is a favorite among Waikiki visitors. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed here for the last 2 weeks, lots and lots of loud noise both inside the hallways during the night and outside. When I went down to the front desk to ask them about the noise, worker was almost rude saying it is pro bowl week. (which not being foodball fans had no idea what that ment) Also we payed to upgrade to a full ocean view, which meant you saw a small part of it, if you leaned over you railing. Not what we expected from something called a Full Ocean Veiw. If you want to sleep at night and not get woken up by the noise of the hotel go else where. Parking valet where awsome, and very helpful and friendly. Jimmie Buffets breakfast was also a good value. But overall we would never stay here again!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Aloha MeganL and thank you for your review of your recent Beachcomber stay. I sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the view and that the noise kept you from a good night's sleep. I'm also concerned to hear your comment about the front desk being rude - this is not acceptable and will be addressed immediately. I'm glad to hear that you found our parking valet service and Jimmy Buffett's restaurant to your liking and hope that you do consider our hotel for your next visit to Honolulu. I'm confident that we'll fare much better - please reach out to me should you have any questions. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here for a week with a large group. Great location to roam around while waiting for people to get ready. Beach just around the corner. Very crowded on the streets outside. Not recommended if you're trying relax. Had a car and valeted every night (worth the nightly rate). Drove around the island on a regular basis to check out other beaches and hiking sites. Worth having a vehicle to get away from the crowded strip and eat where the locals dine. But overall convenient if you don't have a car. There are free shuttle services in that area for those who don't rent a car (check with help desk at hotel).

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S_traveler_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Aloha S_traveler_F and thank you for your review of the Beachcomber! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and agree with you that our convenient location makes a Waikiki vacation so much more enjoyable. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your return in the not-too-distant future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel is about 150 yards (or meters) from Waikiki beach and yet it is in the busy shopping area of Honolulu's Waikiki. We stayed on 21st floor with a balcony having a partial ocean view. At this level we heard no noise from the busy street nor the aircondition units on top of neighboring buildings. The room was large for US standards, with very comfortable king-size bed, fridge, safe and coffeemaker, clean and well maintained. We stayed for 4 nights end Nov and were very happy to have chosen this hotel. because of its location. Bus stops are close to the hotel to go to the major shopping malls (Ala Moana Shopping Center, Ward Center) and to outlet center, but there are malls also next to the hotel as well as the international market place. The zoo and other attractions are within walking distance. We did not try the two bars/restaurants in the hotel because there are so many on the beach within 3 minutes walking distance. Nor did we use the pool with the ocean being 150 yards away (cross the street and walk down a path alongside another hotel to be right on the preferred part of Waikiki beach.
We will be staying in this hotel again in Feb/March this year.

Room Tip: Floors above 10th level have less a/c units noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hottedresden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Aloha hottedresden and thank you for your thorough review of the Beachcomber! We appreciate your business and for visiting Hawaii all the way from Germany. And we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your first visit and that you'll be returning soon. Mahalo for choosing the Beachcomber! /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saanichton, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at this property about three years ago and the rooms were getting quite dated. Under new ownership, the rooms that we stayed in had been nicely renovated, repainted and the bathrooms re-tiled. Rooms were very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Considering the price and the location on Kalakaua Ave and now the renovations, this is a very good deal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Aloha jwarden, thank you for your business and your kind review of your recent Beachcomber stay! We're glad to hear you enjoyed our fresh, clean rooms and especially delighted to learn that you found our staff friendly and helpful. We look forward to your return visit in the near future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,807 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#68 of 84 in Honolulu
276 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5049 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. Next door to the International Marketplace and home of the new Maui Brewing Co. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing