We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stones through from Waikiki”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Ranked #31 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Stones through from Waikiki”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

The holiday inn is a functional hotel close to waikiki plus pretty good value for money for the location. We didn't eat at the hotel, there is plenty of choice all around. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judethmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Aloha judethmc and thank you for your comments on the Beachcomber! We agree with you that yes, we're a good value and also that there are choices all around. Whether the beach, shopping, dining or entertainment, the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort is a favorite among Waikiki visitors. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    966
    1,191
    359
    75
    36
See reviews for
804
937
137
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (711)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed here for the last 2 weeks, lots and lots of loud noise both inside the hallways during the night and outside. When I went down to the front desk to ask them about the noise, worker was almost rude saying it is pro bowl week. (which not being foodball fans had no idea what that ment) Also we payed to upgrade to a full ocean view, which meant you saw a small part of it, if you leaned over you railing. Not what we expected from something called a Full Ocean Veiw. If you want to sleep at night and not get woken up by the noise of the hotel go else where. Parking valet where awsome, and very helpful and friendly. Jimmie Buffets breakfast was also a good value. But overall we would never stay here again!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Aloha MeganL and thank you for your review of your recent Beachcomber stay. I sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the view and that the noise kept you from a good night's sleep. I'm also concerned to hear your comment about the front desk being rude - this is not acceptable and will be addressed immediately. I'm glad to hear that you found our parking valet service and Jimmy Buffett's restaurant to your liking and hope that you do consider our hotel for your next visit to Honolulu. I'm confident that we'll fare much better - please reach out to me should you have any questions. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here for a week with a large group. Great location to roam around while waiting for people to get ready. Beach just around the corner. Very crowded on the streets outside. Not recommended if you're trying relax. Had a car and valeted every night (worth the nightly rate). Drove around the island on a regular basis to check out other beaches and hiking sites. Worth having a vehicle to get away from the crowded strip and eat where the locals dine. But overall convenient if you don't have a car. There are free shuttle services in that area for those who don't rent a car (check with help desk at hotel).

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S_traveler_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Aloha S_traveler_F and thank you for your review of the Beachcomber! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and agree with you that our convenient location makes a Waikiki vacation so much more enjoyable. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your return in the not-too-distant future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel is about 150 yards (or meters) from Waikiki beach and yet it is in the busy shopping area of Honolulu's Waikiki. We stayed on 21st floor with a balcony having a partial ocean view. At this level we heard no noise from the busy street nor the aircondition units on top of neighboring buildings. The room was large for US standards, with very comfortable king-size bed, fridge, safe and coffeemaker, clean and well maintained. We stayed for 4 nights end Nov and were very happy to have chosen this hotel. because of its location. Bus stops are close to the hotel to go to the major shopping malls (Ala Moana Shopping Center, Ward Center) and to outlet center, but there are malls also next to the hotel as well as the international market place. The zoo and other attractions are within walking distance. We did not try the two bars/restaurants in the hotel because there are so many on the beach within 3 minutes walking distance. Nor did we use the pool with the ocean being 150 yards away (cross the street and walk down a path alongside another hotel to be right on the preferred part of Waikiki beach.
We will be staying in this hotel again in Feb/March this year.

Room Tip: Floors above 10th level have less a/c units noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hottedresden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Aloha hottedresden and thank you for your thorough review of the Beachcomber! We appreciate your business and for visiting Hawaii all the way from Germany. And we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your first visit and that you'll be returning soon. Mahalo for choosing the Beachcomber! /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saanichton, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at this property about three years ago and the rooms were getting quite dated. Under new ownership, the rooms that we stayed in had been nicely renovated, repainted and the bathrooms re-tiled. Rooms were very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Considering the price and the location on Kalakaua Ave and now the renovations, this is a very good deal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Aloha jwarden, thank you for your business and your kind review of your recent Beachcomber stay! We're glad to hear you enjoyed our fresh, clean rooms and especially delighted to learn that you found our staff friendly and helpful. We look forward to your return visit in the near future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was our first trip overseas, and we stayed here from 21st November 2012.
We found this place really nice to stay, for a first timer to Waikiki it was very local to everything!
Right on the strip.

The only downfall I found, which was not due to the hotel, but the people downstairs trying to get people to sign up and book to come to the show at the Polynesian restaurant upstairs each evening.
They were very pushy, straight after coming off the escalator, they were onto you... Even when you politely turn them away, they keep at you, almost making a spectacle of you so you talk to them.

Very intimidating!!! Like I said... not the hotels fault, but which they could do something about them stalking just out front.

We ended up always exiting the building through the lift, right down to the lower level and walking out the back lane to avoid them.

Room Tip: Not near the lifts.... the bells are very loud and will keep you up all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peta2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Aloha Peta2013 and thank you for your review of the Beachcomber! We certainly appreciate your business and the fact that you enjoyed your first visit to Hawaii. Regarding the pushy folks selling their show downstairs, we'll address the situation. Again, thank you for choosing the Beachcomber and we look forward to your return visit to Honolulu in the near future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary here last September and found the hotel a very comfortable and clean place in a very central location. We wanted a view of the water and to be close to the beach, shops and places to eat. This hotel covered all our wishes. We enjoyed just sitting on our balcony and people watching. We found the staff very nice and always willing to assist us. If you are looking for a hotel right in the hub, this one is for you. We are already planning to return as soon as possible.

Room Tip: A room from the 7th floor up looking over Kalakau Avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Aloha LibbyD, Congratulations on your 25th wedding anniversary and thank you for your review of the Beachcomber! Yes, we are conveniently and centrally located in the heart of Waikiki on Kalakaua Avenue and combined with our nice and friendly staff, our hotel has become a popular favorite among many visitors and locals alike. We appreciate you choosing to visit with us all the way from Melbourne and look forward to your return soon. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#39 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5049 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. Next door to the International Marketplace and home of the new Maui Brewing Co. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing