We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Right in the middle of everything....if that's what you are looking for” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Ranked #30 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Right in the middle of everything....if that's what you are looking for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Nice hotel in the middle of Waikiki. It has everything you need....clean rooms, dining options and the like. Problem for me was that it is too centrally located. If you are looking for a nice, quiet place to relax....this might not be the best choice, so look around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chuckw47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Aloha chuckw47 and thank you for your comments about our Beachcomber hotel! Yes, you're right about our central location, but we hope that the benefits of being in a convenient location outweighed the Waikiki activity level. Our team works hard to take care of our many guests and we truly appreciate your business and support. Mahalo and Happy New Year! /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    1,145
    344
    72
    31
See reviews for
754
891
130
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

If you are looking for a centrally located hotel, this is it!!! There is a Macy's onsite. Waikiki Shopping Plaza (with the 2 level Victoria Secret!!!), Ross Dress for Less, ABC store, International Market Place and restaurants including Cheesecake Factory is closeby!! What more could you want?? We had a king room with balcony. We really liked the room decor and the comfy bed was a bonus after a long haul flight!! We will stay here again!! We recommend this hotel to anyone looking at being close to everything. The beach is minutes away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank js4rq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Aloha js4rq, thank you for your kind words and for visiting us all the way from Brisbane! We certainly agree with you that the Beachcomber has a most central Waikiki location and your description of the area will serve future visitors well. We're also delighted to hear that you enjoyed our room decor and comfortable beds. Mahalo for your recommendation and hope you and yours have a happy 2013! /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
79 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

My husband stayed here for 7 nights from Thanksgiving day. We found the staff on the front desk very helpful. Our allocated was room was close to the lifts and my husband was concerned about noise, so we nicley asked if there were any other options and we were give 2 or 3 (I can't remember) other rooms to look at. We happily chose a room on 20th floor overlooking the International Marketplace. This was quieter than our previous stay on teh other side, and had a lovely view across the Moana to the beach. The room was spacious and clean. Housekeeping looked after us nicely.
We were disappointed that our room key no longer gained access to the Pink trolley for free, but other than that had no complaints.
We used the gym , which was adequate for a decent workout and the pool was good for a swim and we enjoyed the hot tub on a couple of occasions in the evening. Unfortunately it wasn't open one morning at 8am, whcih would have been nice for a swim before breakfast.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Aloha JohnandLisa, thank you for your review and for choosing the Beachcomber as your home here in Honolulu two years in a row! We truly appreciate your business and our team is most grateful for your kind words about our helpful front desk and housekeeping. We wish you a happy 2013 and look forward to your return to Hawaii in the near future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

This was a very good stay. A few things:

Reception was very friendly. The location is in the middle of everything. For quieter street noise, ask for a higher room floor.

The AC may be a bit week. Maintenance can adjust it lower if you need it.

The pool is decent and you also have a hot tub.

Honestly it was a pleasant stay in Waikiki. If you want quiet, go to Maui.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cgyguy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Aloha Cgyguy30 and thank you for your review of our Beachcomber! We appreciate your kind words about our friendly staff and agree with you totally about our prime central location here in Waikiki. We also appreciate you visiting with us all the way from Alberta and hope you plan to return soon for another vacation in Hawaii. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

I just spent the night here on a work trip and it was great. The lobby area is reached by an escalator so that actually cuts down on the random foot traffic through the hotel. People who aren't staying here don't have any reason to go upstairs. The service was impeccable - everyone was very friendly and prompt - plenty of "aloha" for such a large property. As to the previous poster who commented on the location - what do you expect when you book a book a hotel on Kalakaua, in the middle of Waikiki? Tranquility???
As to cost/fees - all of this disclosed on the website when you book. I had a great room on the 21st floor with fantastic views of the beach. I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LBOskiBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Aloha LBOskiBear, Happy Holidays and thank you for your business, support and great observations about our Beachcomber! We feel we have a wonderful hotel, too, and especially appreciate and find your kind words about our team most rewarding - friendly with lots of Aloha. It looks like your recent stay was a short one - hopefully, next time you'll have more time for some well-deserved R&R. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
245 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

This was the last stop on our Hawaii trip and it was also the worst one. Hotel is located on a very noisy main road at the Waikiki beach which might be a plus for some as you just step outside and there you are in the middle of Waikiki action. BUT when you arrive first you will be greeted by $30/day parking, which is just plain robbery. Reception staff was very "cold", nothing special. Here is your room on the X floor, take the elevator on the right.

Arriving at the room on the 4th floor we were shocked. Our view from the room was into the neighboring building wall. I mean JUST THE WALL was everything we could see. I immediately called the reception, that this is awful and they offered me to pay and upgrade to "Ocean view". I do not need the ocean view, I just don't want to look at the wall on the distance of 5m. Terrible.

Bathroom is very small with a shower (no tub) and our toilet was leaking badly (clean water from pipe).

Cleaning was OK, but they do not notice things as leaking toilet...come on....

Pool is a joke and there is of course no "resort" of any kind, don't expect it. Waikiki beach is also not recommended as it is like going to supermarket for "resting", go drive to some other beach and enjoy it.

This hotel is certainly for people that are after shopping and do not travel with their own car. If you are a family with kids go some place else, there a really nice hotels in the neighborhood and I would pay more money for certain to avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid low level rooms at ALL COST. There are many rooms looking into walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALiEN2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Aloha ALiEN2108 and thank you for your comments on the Beachcomber. I'm sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and were disappointed in our hotel. We value all of our customers and their feedback and thank you for taking the time. We hope that you did enjoy Hawaii overall, and thank you for choosing us for your vacation destination. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed at Beachcomber for 5 nights in 2 rooms. We are a couple with 3 adult children. We requested 2 doubles with Ocean view. We were on 18th floor and both rooms had fantastic views. The rooms were spacious and bathrooms good. We slept with our sliding door open most nights for fresh air. We didn't really notice the noise. The location was fantastic. We could go shopping or out for the day and come back and have a choice of restaurants or shop till 11pm! The breakfast was adequate with fruit, cooked or waffles. Entertainment as well! James at the tour desk was great. The price we paid was also fantastic. We would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Request high floor with ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillypink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Aloha jillypink and thank you for your kind words about our Beachcomber hotel! We're delighted to hear that your family enjoyed their recent Waikiki stay and agree with you about our fantastic central location and spacious rooms. We truly appreciate your business, especially coming all the way from Down Under and look forward to your return in the future. Happy Holidays and Best Wishes for a joyous 2013! Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
#34 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#17 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5049 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. It is home to the Magic of Polynesia show, the one and only Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant & Bar, and Macy's Waikiki department store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing