We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Consistent Holiday Inn experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Ranked #29 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Consistent Holiday Inn experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

This was a very good stay. A few things:

Reception was very friendly. The location is in the middle of everything. For quieter street noise, ask for a higher room floor.

The AC may be a bit week. Maintenance can adjust it lower if you need it.

The pool is decent and you also have a hot tub.

Honestly it was a pleasant stay in Waikiki. If you want quiet, go to Maui.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cgyguy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Aloha Cgyguy30 and thank you for your review of our Beachcomber! We appreciate your kind words about our friendly staff and agree with you totally about our prime central location here in Waikiki. We also appreciate you visiting with us all the way from Alberta and hope you plan to return soon for another vacation in Hawaii. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    1,093
    331
    71
    31
See reviews for
714
852
123
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I just spent the night here on a work trip and it was great. The lobby area is reached by an escalator so that actually cuts down on the random foot traffic through the hotel. People who aren't staying here don't have any reason to go upstairs. The service was impeccable - everyone was very friendly and prompt - plenty of "aloha" for such a large property. As to the previous poster who commented on the location - what do you expect when you book a book a hotel on Kalakaua, in the middle of Waikiki? Tranquility???
As to cost/fees - all of this disclosed on the website when you book. I had a great room on the 21st floor with fantastic views of the beach. I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LBOskiBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Aloha LBOskiBear, Happy Holidays and thank you for your business, support and great observations about our Beachcomber! We feel we have a wonderful hotel, too, and especially appreciate and find your kind words about our team most rewarding - friendly with lots of Aloha. It looks like your recent stay was a short one - hopefully, next time you'll have more time for some well-deserved R&R. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
230 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This was the last stop on our Hawaii trip and it was also the worst one. Hotel is located on a very noisy main road at the Waikiki beach which might be a plus for some as you just step outside and there you are in the middle of Waikiki action. BUT when you arrive first you will be greeted by $30/day parking, which is just plain robbery. Reception staff was very "cold", nothing special. Here is your room on the X floor, take the elevator on the right.

Arriving at the room on the 4th floor we were shocked. Our view from the room was into the neighboring building wall. I mean JUST THE WALL was everything we could see. I immediately called the reception, that this is awful and they offered me to pay and upgrade to "Ocean view". I do not need the ocean view, I just don't want to look at the wall on the distance of 5m. Terrible.

Bathroom is very small with a shower (no tub) and our toilet was leaking badly (clean water from pipe).

Cleaning was OK, but they do not notice things as leaking toilet...come on....

Pool is a joke and there is of course no "resort" of any kind, don't expect it. Waikiki beach is also not recommended as it is like going to supermarket for "resting", go drive to some other beach and enjoy it.

This hotel is certainly for people that are after shopping and do not travel with their own car. If you are a family with kids go some place else, there a really nice hotels in the neighborhood and I would pay more money for certain to avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid low level rooms at ALL COST. There are many rooms looking into walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALiEN2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Aloha ALiEN2108 and thank you for your comments on the Beachcomber. I'm sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and were disappointed in our hotel. We value all of our customers and their feedback and thank you for taking the time. We hope that you did enjoy Hawaii overall, and thank you for choosing us for your vacation destination. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed at Beachcomber for 5 nights in 2 rooms. We are a couple with 3 adult children. We requested 2 doubles with Ocean view. We were on 18th floor and both rooms had fantastic views. The rooms were spacious and bathrooms good. We slept with our sliding door open most nights for fresh air. We didn't really notice the noise. The location was fantastic. We could go shopping or out for the day and come back and have a choice of restaurants or shop till 11pm! The breakfast was adequate with fruit, cooked or waffles. Entertainment as well! James at the tour desk was great. The price we paid was also fantastic. We would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Request high floor with ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillypink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Aloha jillypink and thank you for your kind words about our Beachcomber hotel! We're delighted to hear that your family enjoyed their recent Waikiki stay and agree with you about our fantastic central location and spacious rooms. We truly appreciate your business, especially coming all the way from Down Under and look forward to your return in the future. Happy Holidays and Best Wishes for a joyous 2013! Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The location of HI Beachcomber cannot be beat. It's in the heart of Waikiki with direct access to everything. The beach is a short walk, Macy's is in the lower level, the International Market Place is right next door, there are shops in all directions as well as restaurants. Btw, Marukame Udon is right behind on Kuhio, walk straight back on Dukes, and is a must try for an inexpensive and tasty lunch or dinner.

The customer service was excellent. Upon check-in I felt very welcomed and a valued guest. Both my mom and I were constantly greeted by name.

Our room was on the 6th floor. As expected, it can be a bit noisy. Escpecially in the early morning with commercial trucks beeping away, but it wasn't as bothersome as I had expected. The room itself was very spacious. The mini refrigerator and coffee pot were a plus. The beds were very comfortable. Housekeeping was always very helpful, providing extra towels when requested, being respectful of the DND when posted, and keeping the room very clean.

The pool area is small, but kept clean and is a great area to look down on the street and people watch.

The elevators could be a little tricky at times having to use your card prior to hitting the floor number, escpecially since we were on a lower floor. However, that is definitely a plus for security.

This is not a high end resort, but has most of the amentities to help make for a great stay. Overall, this property is great for the value. I would definitely choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scorpqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Aloha scorpqueen and thank you for your review of our Beachcomber! We're delighted you stayed with us and agree with you about our superb location on Kalakaua Avenue, spacious rooms and great value! Most rewarding to me, however, are your comments about our excellent customer service and helpful housekeeping staff. Our team works hard to take care of the many guests from all over the world and your kind words are truly appreciated. Happy Holidays and Best Wishes for a wonderful 2013! Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We like the location, its right across Waikiki beach, short walking distance to Kuhio beach, close to food court , shopping etc. Rooms are spacious, clean and quiet (16th floor). Staff is very helpful especially the housekeeper, always asked if we need extra towels for the kids. We definitely would stay there again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Aloha JessieS and thank you for your kind words about our Beachcomber! Our team takes great pride in taking care of our many guests and we certainly appreciate it when we hear compliments such as yours, especially about our hard-working housekeepers! We agree with you that our hotel has a great location, and clean, spacious rooms, and we look forward to your return in the not-too-distant future. Happy Holidays! Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

we stayed from the 15th/25th October on the 21st floor we had two rooms one either side of lifts I was a little concerned it may be noisy but heard very little, the view was great the rooms spacious and clean the staff courteous and friendly.The position of the Hotel is amazing everything is within walking distance, it may not be the flashiest Hotel in Hawaii but it met all our needs. Thank You we will be returning very soon.

Room Tip: The lifts are so fast I dont think it matters,the waiting time for the lift was unbelievable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Aloha LindaK and thank you for your kind words about the Beachcomber! We're delighted that you were able to enjoy 10 days with us! Your words sum it up well - rooms were spacious and clean, staff courteous and friendly and location amazing! We certainly appreciate your business, especially visiting Hawaii from Down Under and look forward to your return in the future! Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,667 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#15 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
#35 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 914 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Parc Hotel
Waikiki Parc Hotel
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,390 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 3,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5049 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. It is home to the Magic of Polynesia show, the one and only Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant & Bar, and Macy's Waikiki department store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing