We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Ranked #31 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Excelllent location as just 2 minutes away from the beach and right on main high street, also next door to the international market. Clean rooms and good shower. Free WiFi as well. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LL181184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Aloha LL181184 and thank you for your kind 5-star rating of the Beachcomber! We're delighted that you chose to stay with us and that you enjoyed your visit. We hope that you plan a return trip to Hawaii in the near future and that the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort will again have the opportunity to be your home here in Honolulu. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    948
    1,177
    357
    75
    35
See reviews for
793
927
135
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We booked our stay at the Holiday Inn as a friend was planning on staying there. We were disappointed after one night (last night). The room was just OK. It needed paint. The hallways were a bit dark, the elevator doors had a hard time closing, the toilet ran until we shook the handle, and one of the three lamps was not functioning, plus a loose hinge on the refrigerator door cover. Just plenty to give us a bad taste.

On the positive side, the staff was very friendly and very helpful on this, our first visit to Hawaii. The front desk even gave us options as to where else to stay. We moved across the street to the Outrigger and are delighted. A few more $, but well worth it.

Room Tip: Go across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSPS1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Aloha MSPS1958 and thank you for your comments. Our team takes pride in taking care of our many guests and we're sorry to hear that we did not deliver, meet your expectations. We truly appreciate your detailed remarks and will address them immediately. I am delighted to hear your kind words about our helpful staff and that you did enjoy your Waikiki stay. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Although the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber hotel is not a beachfront hotel, it is less than a block away from the beach and it is right next door to the International Market-Place, Nice! In addition, this hotel located in the heart of the Waikiki shopping district on Kalakaua Avenue. Macy's Department store is attached to the hotel and the famous Jimmy Buffet's Beachcomber restaurant is also attached to the hotel building - very convenient. This Holiday Inn hotel does not have it's own restaurant but it does not need one because on the opposite side of the hotel's check-in counter is one of several entrances to the Jimmy Buffet's restaurant and there are many dining options all around this hotel.

The standard hotel room is more than adequate space - including a small balcony to view the Waikiki street scene and partial views of the ocean (between some tall buildings across the street). The room and bath were clean and reasonably quiet considering the hotel is right on one of Waikiki's main streets.

I would definitely come back to the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber on any return trips to Oahu.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZCasualTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Aloha AZCasualTraveler and thank you for your thorough review of your recent Beachcomber stay! You describe our hotel well and we certainly appreciate your support and business. We look forward to your return to Honolulu and the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort in the not-too-distant future! Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney AUS
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn as a cheaper alternative to the Outrigger on the Beach and it was just as good.
We checked into a partial ocean view room and it was great.
Medium sized room with 2 double beds (and an extra rollaway)
The only downside - room was a little noisy at night (we were up very high) and the buffet breakfast was appalling - but apart from that, I totally recommend this place.
Location is fantastic - right next to the International Market.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieBSydneyAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Aloha JulieBSydneyAUS and thank you for your kind words about the Beachcomber! You're absolutely right - we're an affordable, centrally located alternative to hotels on the beach and we're delighted you opted for our hotel. I'm concerned about your breakfast experience, however, and when you have a moment, please feel free to email me the details. You may send the comments via our hotel website. Mahalo and thank you for your support of the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort. /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Check in was very nice and you get two bottles of water for being a pc member. The rest of the stay not so much. Room was just your basic room and no offer for upgrade for being platinum. View was nice but tv only has basic channels and you can only get ice on a few floors(in your dirty ice bucket). Oh and the AC did not cool so they sent a tech up. He programmed the theremostat to VIP mode and it will actually let you go below 65 degrees. After a few days we decided to check out and move to a real resort. We prepaid for our room so were told that they would not issue any credit for leaving early. Also at check in I was asked for my pc # and when I got home I find out that it is a Non-qualifying stay. So not only did I spend a week in a hotel that I would never stay again I was treated horribly at check out and I don't even get points for it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thetravelingbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Aloha thetravelingbex and thank you for your comments on your recent Beachcomber stay. I'm sorry that we did not meet your expectations, but am glad to hear that you were able to enjoy your time in Hawaii. We are a proud member of the IHG Holiday Inn family, certainly appreciate your Priority Club Rewards program loyalty and support and would like to learn more about your prepaid stay. Please reach out to me so I can better understand your experience and can respond to you personally. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

My firend and I stayed for 1 night at the Holiday Inn Waikiki. We had a very nice oceanview room with 2 double beds. The room was exceptionally clean and the beds comfortable. The staff were very helpful and were happy to assist in every way. We we only staying for 1 night as we were heading out to join the cruise ship the folowing morning. Good tip from the porter who advised that it was cheaper to get a cab from the Hotel to the pier than it was to get the shuttle. Also, you go direct where the shuttle stops at several hotels and takes ages. The cab cost was approx.$17.50. . It was nice to pop into Jimmy Buffett's and sample a brew. Would definitely recommend this hotel to stay at whilst in Waikiki.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room and one with a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crazyblonde007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Aloha crazyblonde007 and thank you for your kind words! We wish you had more time to experience the Beachcomber and the Waikiki area, but perhaps next time? :) Our team appreciates your comments, especially about our helpful staff, nice & clean rooms, etc. Hope you enjoyed your cruise and that you return to Waikiki in the not-too-distant future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights recently after Jetstar cancelled our return flight to Australia and available accommodation was hard to find. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and if we return to Hawaii would definitely stay here. Check in was easy and all staff we had contact with were lovely and helpful. The rooms were very well furnished and the bed was extremely comfortable. Housekeeping also did a wonderful job. Location is perfect right in the middle of Waikiki and close to everything. The only negative was that the pool is quite small but hey, its so close to Waikiki Beach that it didn't really matter! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Aloha jerden and thank you for providing our Beachcomber with a 5-star rating! Our team works hard to take care of our many guests and your kind words are much appreciated. Sorry to hear of your cancelled flight, but we're delighted that you had the opportunity to experience our perfect central Waikiki location and our lovely and helpful staff. We look forward to your returning to the Beachcomber in the coming years! Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#18 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5049 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. It is home to the Magic of Polynesia show, the one and only Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant & Bar, and Macy's Waikiki department store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing