We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waikiki Beachcomber by Outrigger
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (2,888)
Filter reviews
2,888 results
Traveler rating
1,054
1,302
399
88
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,054
1,302
399
88
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe holiday innjimmy buffetsjames speightacross the streetgreat locationmaui brewing companythe cheesecake factorywaikiki beachmagic of polynesiathe international marketplacepartial ocean viewcentral locationkalakaua avenuestreet levelhigher floorhousekeeping staffdiamond head
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,808 - 1,813 of 2,888 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2012

stayed Beachcomber for 2 nights - great location and good price for the last minute extension of vacation. Rooms are clean/comfortable !! Front desk staff not overly friendly or helpful but rest of employees very nice!!! Pool experience good - fun way to spend a few hours with other hotel guests!! Location of the hotel makes very easy access to Waikiki anywhere with a very short walk !!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtravelJunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

This hotel is the Jam! I meet up with a big group of friends (approx) 20 once a year. We have stayed at other hotels, and have found this to be the nicest. They are reasonably priced for the value you get. Rooms are clean, maid service is great, comfy beds, pretty nice view, hotel staff is super friendly (which you don't always get with our big group.) The location is superb. It is centrally located to everything we like. Shopping, food, bars, across the street from Duke's, and the beach. Jimmy Buffet bar is attached to this hotel, and they have an awesome band that plays there (very fun). The best part of this hotel for me is the amazing pool/hot tub. Perfect for those days you don't want to go to the beach, but still want to lounge. They even have a poolside bar with daytime Happy Hour! Weeeee. If you go in there, make sure to play the hook game. Last but not least, the coordinator Sheryl got our group rooms on the same floor. It is so much easier on us to have closer rooms. Other hotels have not done this. I truly love this hotel. Alec I hope you've put us in for next year :)

Room Tip: Try to get the side of the hotel that faces Diamond-head. This side has a much better view of the beach.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dixie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Had a great time at this well maintained Holiday Inn. Very impressed. Staff were great. Bonus, Jimmy Buffet's Margarittaville is the on site food and beverage facility and across the street is Duke's bar and grille. Location, location, location.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteamboatScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

This was definitely one the best trips I've been on in a long time! We stayed at the Beachcomber 5 days - 4 nights and enjoyed every minute. The group I was with stayed on the 11th floor and had the partial ocean view. The view was so-so, but none of us stayed in the rooms long enough that it became an issue. Since there were nearly 30 of us staying, the staff made sure everyone of us was treated very well and accommodated. Some of us had three to a room and the hotel did not charge us for an extra cot.The rooms were amazing, comfortable, and well made. The group is already planning our return trip and we will be staying here again. The place itself is in the center of Waikiki and everything (including some of the best bars and restaurants) are within walking distance. The hotel bar and restaurant (Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville) is fairly good. If your just in the mood for something to snack on or drink, it offers reasonably priced food and drinks. ASK FOR THE SHARK BITE!

Room Tip: Honestly, you're not gonna spend a lot of time in your room. Get your money's worth out of the trip and go with a cheaper place.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeeEvanNeher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

I travel to O'ahu every year with a group of college friends. This year was our fifth trip, and the third time we stayed at the Beachcomber. This place is that nice.

The location can't be beat, especially for the price. A central location on Kalakaua Street means that all of Waikiki is within walking distance. The beach and Duke's are right across the street, and Top of Waikiki is next door. Views from any room are magnificent, and calling my room a "partial" ocean view is a huge undersell - sitting on the balcony on the 11th floor provided a fantastic vista of both the International Marketplace and the ocean.

The staff is phenomenal, from the bell boys downstairs to the front desk employees and the housekeepers. This was our first stay at the property after it was rebranded a Holiday Inn, but the changeover was absolutely unnoticeable and the employees really exemplified the concept of "ohana" that we'd come to expect.

Do yourself a favor and stay here.

Room Tip: At a minimum, get a partial ocean view. You won't be disappointed.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyingReverend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Waikiki Beachcomber by Outrigger, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2012

Aloha FlyingReverend and thank you for your kind words! We are especially thrilled to hear from a repeat guest that's been here 3 times! Mahalo! Yes, our location is superb, but we're most proud of our team, our ohana and we'll continue to work hard to earn your business, over and over again. Mahalo, Dean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews