We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Party @ the End of the World” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber) (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #29 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Party @ the End of the World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

This hotel is the Jam! I meet up with a big group of friends (approx) 20 once a year. We have stayed at other hotels, and have found this to be the nicest. They are reasonably priced for the value you get. Rooms are clean, maid service is great, comfy beds, pretty nice view, hotel staff is super friendly (which you don't always get with our big group.) The location is superb. It is centrally located to everything we like. Shopping, food, bars, across the street from Duke's, and the beach. Jimmy Buffet bar is attached to this hotel, and they have an awesome band that plays there (very fun). The best part of this hotel for me is the amazing pool/hot tub. Perfect for those days you don't want to go to the beach, but still want to lounge. They even have a poolside bar with daytime Happy Hour! Weeeee. If you go in there, make sure to play the hook game. Last but not least, the coordinator Sheryl got our group rooms on the same floor. It is so much easier on us to have closer rooms. Other hotels have not done this. I truly love this hotel. Alec I hope you've put us in for next year :)

Room Tip: Try to get the side of the hotel that faces Diamond-head. This side has a much better view of the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dixie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    1,072
    327
    71
    30
See reviews for
698
837
122
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Steamboat Springs
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Had a great time at this well maintained Holiday Inn. Very impressed. Staff were great. Bonus, Jimmy Buffet's Margarittaville is the on site food and beverage facility and across the street is Duke's bar and grille. Location, location, location.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteamboatScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

This was definitely one the best trips I've been on in a long time! We stayed at the Beachcomber 5 days - 4 nights and enjoyed every minute. The group I was with stayed on the 11th floor and had the partial ocean view. The view was so-so, but none of us stayed in the rooms long enough that it became an issue. Since there were nearly 30 of us staying, the staff made sure everyone of us was treated very well and accommodated. Some of us had three to a room and the hotel did not charge us for an extra cot.The rooms were amazing, comfortable, and well made. The group is already planning our return trip and we will be staying here again. The place itself is in the center of Waikiki and everything (including some of the best bars and restaurants) are within walking distance. The hotel bar and restaurant (Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville) is fairly good. If your just in the mood for something to snack on or drink, it offers reasonably priced food and drinks. ASK FOR THE SHARK BITE!

Room Tip: Honestly, you're not gonna spend a lot of time in your room. Get your money's worth out of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeEvanNeher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

I travel to O'ahu every year with a group of college friends. This year was our fifth trip, and the third time we stayed at the Beachcomber. This place is that nice.

The location can't be beat, especially for the price. A central location on Kalakaua Street means that all of Waikiki is within walking distance. The beach and Duke's are right across the street, and Top of Waikiki is next door. Views from any room are magnificent, and calling my room a "partial" ocean view is a huge undersell - sitting on the balcony on the 11th floor provided a fantastic vista of both the International Marketplace and the ocean.

The staff is phenomenal, from the bell boys downstairs to the front desk employees and the housekeepers. This was our first stay at the property after it was rebranded a Holiday Inn, but the changeover was absolutely unnoticeable and the employees really exemplified the concept of "ohana" that we'd come to expect.

Do yourself a favor and stay here.

Room Tip: At a minimum, get a partial ocean view. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingReverend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Aloha FlyingReverend and thank you for your kind words! We are especially thrilled to hear from a repeat guest that's been here 3 times! Mahalo! Yes, our location is superb, but we're most proud of our team, our ohana and we'll continue to work hard to earn your business, over and over again. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

I made a points reservation using my Priority Club points (25k per night) and arrived early on a weekday. They did not offer early check-in though I was Platinum but they did offer to call my cell phone when my room was ready which was a nice benefit. I was assigned a very poor location room - even as a Platinum - 7th floor overlooking the International Market and the ample noise that bellows up from this area. The property called it "partial ocean" view though that required squinting to look between two buildings to see a slight glimpse of the water. I did not expect a suite but given that this is a 25+ floor hotel, I'd expect management to provide Priority Club Platinum members something a bit better than a low floor - very limited view - room. The room itself was clean, spacious and comfortable. My only issue with the room was the very slow wired internet service (no WiFi was available). Water pressure was very good and no issues with hot water availability.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Aloha HockeyStL., thank you for being a loyal IHG Priority Club member and thank you for all of your comments on our hotel! My apologies for the sub-par delivery of Platinum standards during this busy month. I hope you return to Honolulu in the near future and if you do, please contact my office and we'll do everything possible to take care of your requests. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed at the Beachcomber for 3 nights last week on the 23rd floor. We were upgraded from partial oceanview to oceanview. Room was clean, bed was comfy, staff was friendly. Quailty seemed on par with Holiday Inn Expresses on the Mainland.

Only complaint is the elevators (the only reason this hotel got a 4 for me!). If you don't put your room key in quick enough, the up elevator starts going down to street level. The lobby line got a little crazy at times, and the elevator would stop at almost every single floor on the way down.

Very central to everything on Kalakaua. RIght across the street from the Royal Hawaiian Center, 5 min walk to Beachwalk, and 5 min walk past the Royal Hawaiian hotel to get to the beach. If you're looking to get out of town, there are Budget and Hertz car rental desks in the Hyatt a block away.

If you're expecting a tropical resort, don't stay here. If you want something clean, affordable, and walkable to everything, Holiday Inn Beachcomber is great.

Room Tip: HIgh floor gets you away from most of the noise, but remember that you're still on the main drag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wpg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel. Two were on points and two paid. We had a room on the 7th floor front facing the street. It is partial ocean view. After the first night we had to move WE had no sleep there was a party going on below and lots of noise. We were moved to the side on the 11th floor. This room is much more quiet. You are in the middle of everything which is convenient. The staff is not very forgoing with information they dont tell you were the elevator is they dont tell you that you need to insert your card in order to press your room numbers.
You have to figure alot out on your own.
We stayed 4 nights at the Aston Waikiki Beach and that is at the quiet end of the strip but the staff was more professional.
The rooms at the Holiday Inn are alot bigger and the room we have now is quiet but the amount of times we had to go to the front desk to correct mistakes made by them turned me off so i would definately choose the other hotel first but each person will have different experiences and that was ours.
The rooms were clean and good size apart from that it was okay.

Room Tip: ask for high floors alot of noise from street if you are in the front of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheryl_wd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Aloha sheryl_wd! Thank you for your comments on our hotel - we really appreciate hearing from our many guests. I apologize that you had to deal with excessive noise; and not having been told about the elevators is not acceptable - this has been addressed and should not recur. You also mention other mistakes - feel free to share details with me if you can recall them. You can email me here at the hotel. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Park Shore Waikiki
#16 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,073 reviews
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#8 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
#33 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 902 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Parc Hotel
Waikiki Parc Hotel
#28 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,358 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#23 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 3,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. It is home to the Magic of Polynesia show, the one and only Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant & Bar, and Macy's Waikiki department store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing