We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills cheap stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #77 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed June 3, 2014

If you want something basic and no frills then this is for you. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Rooms are not that well insulated compared to both the Hilton's we stayed in, you could hear outside noise easily, ie rubbish pickup, trucks etc. Though I would definitely recommend staying somewhere a bit more expensive if you can afford it, much quiter and better facilities. Kitchen was very useful and was clean and well house kept. Concierge was only available during the day and not at night when you need it most. WiFi worked well in the rooms, was fast and reliable.

Room Tip: Ask for one higher up, may be less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smp333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (684)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

431 - 437 of 684 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel is basic but functional. We had a kitchenette with full size fridge/freezer, stove and all basic utensils and dishes .It helped save money, we made most of the meals ourselves. It also has a washer and dryer at a reasonable cost. But most of all is its position on the Waikiki beach. The hotel has no other buildings in front of it and although is not directly on the beach it offered a view of the beach. From the hotel we could walk in both directions to explore the area. It is a good hotel for tourists who are interested in seeing and doing and coming home to sleep and shower. if you plan on spending time in the hotel, it may not be for you. Cleaning could be better. Higher floors offer better view of the Waikiki beach.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rodica n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed here from May 18-25, 2014.The staff are amazingly friendly and very accommodating. I appreciate the security that is involved in getting onto the elevator and into the parking lot. It makes it feel so much safer. It may be a bit inconvenient, but I challenge anyone to say that safer isn't better when travelling abroad.

I enjoyed the convenience of most things surrounding the hotel and was a short distance from Waikiki Beach. The rooms are very nice, clean and comfortable. The kitchenettes are stocked well with utensils, pots and pans so if you want to cook in your room, you can make just about anything.

I would most definitely recommend this hotel but ask for ocean views and higher up floors (I was on the 15th floor and saw tons).

Room Tip: On Friday evenings, they do set off a major fireworks display. You want to be close to Waikiki Beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

It was my second time staying in this hotel. The room is very big, much better than the Aqua Waikiki pearl for the same room type. The cleaning lady is very good always making up the room very tidy. The middle age guy in the front desk is very help like two years ago. The location is little bit far from the DFS, around 10 to 15 mins walk, but if you do not mind walking along the street is a good hotel for the budegt, The old male receptionist is a little bit slow for check in and out and answering the questions, compared with him, the middle age receptionist who worked at the night shift on May 22 is very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smallwood J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I believe this hotel was amazing for the price I paid for it. It wasn't extravagant or anything and was nice in its own way. It is a short walking distance to the beach and lots of shopping areas including a mall that has all high end stores as well as affordable places. I would recommend this hotel if you are on a budget and plan on being out of the hotel most of the time. The staff is very friendly and upgraded my room to a suite with a kitchen for no cost! There is no need to spend all of your money in really expensive hotels when you have places like this that are close to everything and you can still enjoy Waikiki all the same!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monique W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed here for a night at the end of a trip to Hawaii, so we could catch an early flight. We had a family room with kitchen, which we didn't use. The decor was very tired but clean enough. Towels were old, small and thin. Even though we were on the 14th floor there was a lot of traffic noise. I used the business centre to check in for my flight, and the pcs were ancient and slow, with out of date browser software. When I tried to print my boarding pass the printer didn't work. On the plus side, it was close to downtown Waikiki. And there was parking. Didn't have much interaction with staff, but they were pleasant enough. It did the job, but one night was enough.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vicguy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel is a little average for the price you pay, but does the trick if you are wanting to spend more of your time out on the mainland. It is in a good location, walking distance to most shops and bus stops.
There is only wifi in the lobby, which was pretty annoying.
Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cottonkandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#73 of 84 in Honolulu
839 reviews
Ewa Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
491 reviews
Marina Tower Waikiki
#84 of 84 in Honolulu
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
#43 of 84 in Honolulu
326 reviews
Pearl Hotel Waikiki
#74 of 84 in Honolulu
1,242 reviews
Waikiki
Hawaiian Monarch Hotel
Hawaiian Monarch Hotel
#83 of 84 in Honolulu
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Address: 2040 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range: $119 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ambassador Hotel - A Waikiki Hotel, where our ideal Waikiki location meets exceptional value. We are conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, on the island of Oahu, offering something for everyone looking for the perfect Hawaiian Vacation; Oahu Activities, beautiful beaches, Surfing, Hawaii Golf, Shopping in Waikiki, Waikiki Restaurants and much more. Residence-style comforts including Full Kitchens, Free Cable Internet, Cable Televisions, Flat Screen TV's and more. Lounge by our sparkling Swimming Pool or take a short stroll over to gorgeous Waikiki Beach. Just 9 miles from Honolulu International Airport. Conveniently located on the Waikiki Trolley line and bus routes. Shuttle Service by Roberts Hawai’i available. Close to Ala Moana Shopping Mall, Waikiki Beach & other Oahu Activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Honolulu
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing