We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,265)
Filter reviews
4,265 results
Traveler rating
2,445
1,004
453
205
158
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,445
1,004
453
205
158
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe mai tai barthe pink palacemailani towerbanana breadsurf lanaiazure restaurantpink ladyhistoric sectionsheraton poolwaikiki beachgarden viewbeach boyshistoric roomsoriginal buildingiconic hotelbeach staffbeach chairs
Filter
Updating list...
274 - 279 of 4,265 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2017 via mobile

The hotel was built in the 1920 and it reflect the style of the 1920’s. while the rooms are adequate and the bathrooms cramped, the public areas are stylish and generous. The location is fabulous with Waikiki beach on one side and the downtown on the other. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, the meals were delicious and I found the staff courteous and proficient.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
Thank Listen4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2017

First time staying at the Royal Hawaiian. A great hotel with lots of history. The grounds were well maintained and the beach side bar was amazing. Will definitely need to spend time here again to learn more about the rich history of the hotel known as the "Pink Palace".

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor and ocean view if possible.
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2017 via mobile

One of my pet peeves is 4 star hotels marking themselves are 5 stars. In those cases hard to rate those properties as even 4 stars because you are over-promising and under-delivering.

What I like about this hotel
1. Great spot on Waikiki beach
2. Mai tai bar is a really good spot to chill - great sunset drinks
3. Rooms are spacious

What I don’t like - biggest issue is service
1. I probably emailed the concierge 3 times before coming - never heard back. Good 5 star hotels will help us arrange many reservations in advance
2. Called concierge multiple times over 2 day - no response
3. Called room service to ask for ice - they told me there is a machine 15 rooms down the corridor. I am used to visiting machine at 3/4 star hotels and not at 5 star
4. They charge you $41 for beach chairs
5. Free champagne upon Arrival was one of the cheapest sparkling roses I have ever sampled.

And TripAdvisor, I have heard stories about bad reviews getting censored because that’s not good for your business. Please don’t do that.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled solo
3  Thank honeymoon201192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodWaikiki2, Guest Experience Team at The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2017

Aloha honeymoon201192,

Thank you very much for your honest review during your recent stay at our
property. We greatly appreciate your comments and feedback, and
sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. I’d like to
address your concerns below.

It sounds like the service you received from our concierge team was not the usual smooth process you’ve come to expect from us and we truly apologize for this inconvenience. We have passed this feedback to the manager of the department to ensure it won’t happen again if you stay with us in the future.

We do work with and offer premium experiences to our guests, including our pink chaise lounge sets on our private beach area, and while these may cost more than other places, we do believe in the services we provide. We try our hardest to manage that demand with this exclusive offer that Only the Royal can offer.

We apologize for the multiple disappointments you've faced during your stay with us, and will work to make improvements. Please check your messages, as we would like to connect with you further to obtain additional information from your stay.

Mahalo,
Ayaka H.
The Royal Hawaiian, Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2017

We have stayed at the Royal Hawaiian before (granted it was in the tower) so this time we were looking forward to coming back. We used our Chase Sapphire points to get a garden room in the historical part. We did not have high hopes with points that we would get a nice room -- and we didn't. The view was terrible and the room small, but all well within expectations! Besides we were there for the beach and the nice folks down at the Mai Tai bar.

What we did not expect was how dirty the room would be. There was mold all throughout the grout in the shower. Additionally, the bedside lamp was damaged (two holes in the lampshade and it was bent) and dirty, with what looked like lipstick or blood all on the top. We told the front desk and they promised to have it cleaned. When we got back to the room, nothing was done. The next day we told Guest Services that we expected to be able to use a clean shower. Nothing was done.

This wasn't hard to clean -- just a good scrub brush and some bleach, but all we got were platitudes and lies. I wouldn't spend my money here -- its just not worth it unless you are willing to shell out 600+ a night for the Tower. The staff clearly just doesn't care.

We come to Hawaii twice a year. I can't say we will come back to the Royal Hawaiian again. Cleanliness is a basic and takes the meaning out of this hotel billing itself as "luxury"/

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodWaikiki2, Guest Experience Team at The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2017

Aloha Beth S,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We have reviewed your comments carefully, and are disappointed to learn of your less than memorable stay with us this time around due to the poor level of cleanliness in your guestroom. What you have noted is unacceptable, and we would like to look into this issue immediately. May I please ask that you check your messages so we can follow up on this issue?

Your comments have been shared with our Housekeeping and Guest Service team so that we can ensure the highest level of service and cleanliness is provided to our guests going forward. We truly apologize for the underwhelming experience.

Mahalo,
Ayaka H.
The Royal Hawaiian, Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2017

The check in was slow and not friendly. Once at the desk they rushed and wanted you gone, even though you had waited fifteen minutes as only one receptionist on duty the other two just put up closed sign and left. Lays given to some visitors not all.
Not shown to your room left to fend for yourself .
Room upgrade was OK but if you are in the old building there are no balconies or baths. Comfortable beds. Room make overs were either before ten o clock or after four pm. Pool small and water surface not skimmed very well. Good position by the beach. Had to hear from others that you can use Sheraton facilities also. Coffee shop great and welcome gift lovely. Gardens lush and spectacular. This was our second hotel on Waikiki on this vacation and despite 5 star Xmas decorations and luxury corridors it was not as good as our last hotel. However, it is an experience to stay at a luxury hotel and we enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Ask for the tower rooms not the original building
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ianhb30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews