We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than we had expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2009

We stayed at the Royal Hawaiian for the first 3 days of our 3 week honeymoon in Hawaii.

Before arriving we had feared that the hotel, and indeed Waikiki in general, might be a bit tacky. We were pleasantly surprised to find this wasn't the case.

Our room was large enough with a comfy bed and all the amenities you would expect. The hotel restaurants were also very good - we had one of the best meals of our entire stay in Hawaii at the Azure.

The main gripe is with the cost, not only of the rooms but more so of the food and drink. Burger and fries plus a couple of beers at the pool restaurant cost us about $60! Seems a little excessive to me!

Compared to other hotels in Waikiki, the Royal Hawaiian has a favorable location and a good stretch of its own beach.

Overall, I was reasonably impressed with the hotel. It served well as a brief stop at which to recover from jet lag, although I wouldn't necessarily have wanted to stay there for much longer.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank predicttowin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,858)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,970 - 2,976 of 3,858 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2009

My husband and I traveled to Honolulu for our twenty third wedding anniversary. We chose the Royal Hawaiian because we were pretty confident that it would have all the charm of old Hawaii.

We were not far off the mark - the Royal Hawaiian hotel is a beautiful property; with its recent multi-million dollar renovation, the charm and character of old Hawaii was brought into the 21st century without compromising the feeling of Hawaii of days past.

The rooms are reminiscent of the old Hawaii - lots of woods and Hawaiian patterned wall paper and bedding.

The staff was attentive to every detail of our stay. We enjoyed the white sands of Waikiki along with the comfortable lounge chairs and pink umbrellas for shade and relaxation.

The restaurants were excellent, the dining experience made wonderful by the wait staff and food. Not to be missed, breakfast on the patio at the Surf Lanai overlooking Waikiki. The fruit smoothies, varying daily, and the large breakfast menus were a great way to begin the day.

The Azure restaurant for dinner as a celebration for our anniversary was delightful. Our waiter was perfect in his dinner recommendations and his timing of service.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chimakuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We have stayed at other hotels and on other islands and there is nothing like the Royal Hawaiian. It is a cross between "old world" and "modern" settings. The gardens are beautiful, the building fabulous and the service impeccable. One has to only think of a need or want, and the staff fulfills it beyond expectations. Will absolutely return and soon.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigboat4300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

very comfortable room, friendly services, very close to the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zhoulaowu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

I travel to Hawaii twice a year and I am also a SPG Platinum member. This was my first stay at the Royal Hawaiian since the much needed renovations. Upon check in valet was friendly but assumed that we were not guests... once we told them that we were checking in they then catered to us. Upgrade was not avail to an ocean view room so we were given an option of a newly renovated suite in the historic wing with a garden view Vs our confirmed reservation in the beach front tower ocean view. We choose the suite. The room was nice and remodeled with eccentric modern furniture... They do leave little bananna bread treats just for the 1st night. The walls are paper thin and we were able to hear the guests in the other room... Unfortunately, the paper thin walls was the room where the King size bed was. Bath Amenities are great. No fitness center... we were directed to go use the Sheraton's fitness center. Poolside we were not allowed to enter the "Beach Tower Guest Area" because we were staying in the historic wing... I spoke with the employee and expressed to her that we were booked for the Tower Room but was "upgraded" to a historic suite... She told us to speak with the front desk. We didnt bother doing so, but i mentioned it at checkout and was told that the historic guests didnt have access to the beach lounge... i wanted to rip my hair out but let it go...

Overall, I feel that for this iconic "5-star" hotel, should be more attentative to details, as well as recognition to SPG members. Not worth the rate of the rooms. I have been to Hawaii over a dozen times and even as a Platinum SPG member looking foward to the opening of the "new" Royal Hawaiian was greatly dissapointed.

If you are not an SPG member then DO NOT STAY HERE! It IS NOT WORTH THE MONEY!!! If your going to pay $300-$400/night then you might as well stay at the Halekulani Hotel (blocks away - a REAL 5 Star hotel) or at the Kahala Hotel (not on Waikiki Beach but 15 mins away via free hotel shuttle to and from Hotel to Waikiki - This is where the Obama's and many royalties, and celebrities have stayed at).

If you are an SPG member then I would recommend staying at the Westin Moana Surfrider (typical Westin with the feeling of being one guest out of a million, but at least you pay half the room rate then the Royal Hawaiian!). SPG's wanting to really stay at a 5 Star property in Hawaii should only look at The St. Regis on Kaui or other Hotel/Resorts outside of the SPG network.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DBIGMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Want to start off by saying that i truly loved the hotel but i think the highlights were the location and surrounding beauty. Its never good when you have to wait in line 20 minutes for check in to any hotel but one that you are paying $300+ per night, its definatly not good. The loby was beautiful and they did provide us with some juice and a lei apon check in which was nice. As we walked to our room, which was on the first floor, we were struck by the smell of dead, rotting gecko's ( if you live in Hawaii, you might know what this smells like) and it was gross. Upon arrival in our room, we were greeted with lines of ants marching up and down our walls. We called the front desk and when they took forever to respond, we just went back down to the lobby and informed someone. They said they were going to get us a different room and asked if we would like to go to the bar and wait with a Mai Tai which was nice. Our second room was identical and worked out fine. One of the things that really upset me was that they advertise on their NEW website that they have complimentry limo service but when i called to ask for it (already 10 blocks away from the hotel) they informed me that they do not have it anymore and that they dont have any hotel transport so i was going to have to walk back! Urgggggg

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jessie41182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

From the moment you arrive at the Royal Hawaiian you are overwhelmed with amazing beauty. The hotel is absolutely stunning with his beautiful pink architecture, the gorgeous details everywhere. We started out in a tower room but they have not been remodeled and our room really wasn't as amazing as we'd thought it would be. The showerhead wouldn't stay upright, the tub was in need of some serious help, but there was an attached balcony with the most amazing view of the ocean. After expressing some concerns to the hotel staff they immidiately moved us to a room in their updated side of the hotel and assured us they are working on remodeling the tower - which I can't wait to see! The main part of the hotel has been beautifully remodeled with gorgeous wallpaper, beautiful bedding and accent furniture and amazing views of the beach. The amenities are quite nice as well - the most amazing smelling toiletries, the location can't be beat, special section of the beach set up with chairs and umbrellas and towels, and there's even a limo that can be rented free of charge in advance! They have several dining options on-site, we also visited the Polynesian Culture Center (amazing!), swam with dolphins on Ko'Olina (highly recommended) and drove up the North Shore. I had the most amazing birthday vacation at the Royal - the hotel itself is just the most beautiful place I've ever seen so far, walking distance to shopping, but it definitely makes you never want to leave!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gc_robb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,569 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,128 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $328 - $794 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the iconic Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, ushered in a new era of luxurious resort travel to Hawaii. Situated in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers cultural activities, gold standard signature concierge service, valet parking, doctors-on-call, florist, currency exchange service, Japanese concierge, laundry and dry cleaning, dining service and world-class restaurants and bars, wireless internet access in rooms and all public areas, multi-lingual staff, 24-hour room service, business center, and beach and pool services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing