We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki
Nearby Hotels
Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$329
$300
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$352
$326
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$202
$190
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa(Honolulu)
$204
$199
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$450
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$226
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$221
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$242
$214
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$279
$209
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (4,120)
Filter reviews
4,120 results
Traveler rating
2,359
980
443
195
143
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,359
980
443
195
143
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe mai tai barthe pink palacemailani towerbanana breadsurf lanaiazure restaurantpink ladyhistoric sectionsheraton poolwaikiki beachbeach boysgarden vieworiginal buildingbeach chairsiconic hotelbeach stafftower rooms
Filter
Updating list...
1,854 - 1,859 of 4,120 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I was very disappointed by the staff being somewhat unfriendly and disinterested is saying even hello in the hallways as they passed by. They seem dejected. The rooms are a little dated but large. The restaurants were closed during my visit, due to a Noro Virus outbreak just before I arrived. I was never told about the problem and only found out about it from the local newspaper. After finding out about it and then understanding why the health department had shut down the restaurants, I checked out and moved to another and much friendlier hotel on Waikiki Beach. I could have gotten past the outbreak, possibly, if I had been told about it a check in but, instead, was just told it was due to annual maintenance on the kitchens. Being deceived about such a serious situation - reportedly over 100 people were made ill - is unacceptable. I will compliment the beach activities staff - they were very nice and always helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichCalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear RichCalif,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our resort. We appreciate your feedback and concerns regarding your experience with us and we apologize that we failed to provide the excellent vacation you expect and deserve. We understand your concerns regarding guest communication during the health related situation and we apologize that the our communication protocols were not in place in time to provide you with more detailed information on the happenings. We understand you have spoken with our management on this situation and we have also shared your concerns with our operations team. We also apologize that our ambassadors fell short in providing the exceptional service and aloha spirit that we are all expected to deliver to our guests. We are disappointed in our team's inability to provide an excellent vacation, but we appreciate your honest feedback. Thank you again for your time. We hope you will consider offering us another opportunity to provide you with the warm hospitality for which we are known.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was probably the best hotel I have ever stayed at while in Hawaii and I have been there many times. The hospitality, room size, amenities, pools, hot tubs, beach access, restaurants, grounds, etc are all the best of the best. I absolutely would stay here again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: If you can afford the suites, they are absolutely perfect and very very very spacious.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oniealw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear oniealw,
We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed an exceptional vacation with us here at The Royal Hawaiian. We are also delighted to see that you have named The Royal to be among your top choices for resorts in Hawaii and we are truly appreciative of this. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had a chance to visit Hawaii and we stayed on Oahu and the Big Island. The Royal Hawaiian is that special kind of place that brings the old Hawaii to the present day. We stayed here because it is as old and real as Hawaii gets.
What we loved about The Royal Hawaiian is the amazing service that starts the moment you arrive. We had a lei greeting. We checked in at a desk and not an uncivilized counter. The room was perfect. The entire stay was perfect.
Thank you to all who made us have a perfect vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCTravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear BCTravel2,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your kind remarks regarding your recent stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed an exceptional vacation here and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

From our lei greeting and welcome by bell staff at the driveway, until we sadly left for the airport 11 days later -- the Royal Hawaiian did not disappoint. Our ten nights were heavenly. Check in to our Garden Jr. Suite was a pleasure and processed quickly, professionally with much Aloha. Our suite was lovely, clean and well appointed. We particularly enjoyed the larger walk in closet and extra hall closet space. The separate living room area was a nice treat. Yes, bathrooms are smaller in the historic wings, but well appointed and supplied with higher end toiletries. Our daily maid service was prompt and completed consistently by early afternoon. We were greeted by name, thanks and Aloha from beach services staff and escorted to our pre-reserved beach loungers and cabana on the days we had reserved on line prior to arrival. Special kudos to Miss "T" of beach services for her special service and professionalism. We attended Aha' aina the RH's Ocean Lawn Luau dinner show. It was our third time and we thought the best ever. What a fun evening. All staff encounters were positive, with most including an "Aloha" greeting. We can't wait to come "home" again.

Room Tip: A Jr. Suite will give you some extra room and closet space.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kansasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Kansasman,
Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your lovely review of your recent stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your time here and we could not be happier to know that you felt completely taken care of by our ambassadors. It is always a delight to welcome our guests back year after year and we do truly look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was my third stay at the Royal Hawaiian and I think this is the best hotel to experience a resort-like feeling in Waikiki. It never feels crowded at the Royal Hawaiian. It is like a haven from the crowds of Waikiki. I do enjoy Waikiki, but I like being able to feel like I can get away and the Royal Hawaiian provides that. The service was awesome, the check-in and pool staff always friendly. Yes, the pool is small, but it also not crowded in the pool and we were able to find seats, sometimes with a little patience, but it was better than most resorts I've stayed at. The beach is awesome and can't be beat on Waikiki. The food is expensive, but the shopping center is a short walk away and we often got our lunches from the food court in the mall (great choice and quality with unique local foods.)Of course, sometimes you have to splurge and the food we got was awesome. Our room was spacious and well-appointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Umechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Umechan,
We are delighted to see that you enjoyed a wonderful vacation with us here at The Royal Hawaiian. Thank you for taking the time to share your many kind remarks regarding our resort and service. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews