We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its Very Pink!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was probably the best hotel I have ever stayed at while in Hawaii and I have been there many times. The hospitality, room size, amenities, pools, hot tubs, beach access, restaurants, grounds, etc are all the best of the best. I absolutely would stay here again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: If you can afford the suites, they are absolutely perfect and very very very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oniealw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear oniealw,
We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed an exceptional vacation with us here at The Royal Hawaiian. We are also delighted to see that you have named The Royal to be among your top choices for resorts in Hawaii and we are truly appreciative of this. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,920)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,694 - 1,700 of 3,924 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had a chance to visit Hawaii and we stayed on Oahu and the Big Island. The Royal Hawaiian is that special kind of place that brings the old Hawaii to the present day. We stayed here because it is as old and real as Hawaii gets.
What we loved about The Royal Hawaiian is the amazing service that starts the moment you arrive. We had a lei greeting. We checked in at a desk and not an uncivilized counter. The room was perfect. The entire stay was perfect.
Thank you to all who made us have a perfect vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCTravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear BCTravel2,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your kind remarks regarding your recent stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed an exceptional vacation here and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

From our lei greeting and welcome by bell staff at the driveway, until we sadly left for the airport 11 days later -- the Royal Hawaiian did not disappoint. Our ten nights were heavenly. Check in to our Garden Jr. Suite was a pleasure and processed quickly, professionally with much Aloha. Our suite was lovely, clean and well appointed. We particularly enjoyed the larger walk in closet and extra hall closet space. The separate living room area was a nice treat. Yes, bathrooms are smaller in the historic wings, but well appointed and supplied with higher end toiletries. Our daily maid service was prompt and completed consistently by early afternoon. We were greeted by name, thanks and Aloha from beach services staff and escorted to our pre-reserved beach loungers and cabana on the days we had reserved on line prior to arrival. Special kudos to Miss "T" of beach services for her special service and professionalism. We attended Aha' aina the RH's Ocean Lawn Luau dinner show. It was our third time and we thought the best ever. What a fun evening. All staff encounters were positive, with most including an "Aloha" greeting. We can't wait to come "home" again.

Room Tip: A Jr. Suite will give you some extra room and closet space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kansasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Kansasman,
Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your lovely review of your recent stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your time here and we could not be happier to know that you felt completely taken care of by our ambassadors. It is always a delight to welcome our guests back year after year and we do truly look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was my third stay at the Royal Hawaiian and I think this is the best hotel to experience a resort-like feeling in Waikiki. It never feels crowded at the Royal Hawaiian. It is like a haven from the crowds of Waikiki. I do enjoy Waikiki, but I like being able to feel like I can get away and the Royal Hawaiian provides that. The service was awesome, the check-in and pool staff always friendly. Yes, the pool is small, but it also not crowded in the pool and we were able to find seats, sometimes with a little patience, but it was better than most resorts I've stayed at. The beach is awesome and can't be beat on Waikiki. The food is expensive, but the shopping center is a short walk away and we often got our lunches from the food court in the mall (great choice and quality with unique local foods.)Of course, sometimes you have to splurge and the food we got was awesome. Our room was spacious and well-appointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Umechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Umechan,
We are delighted to see that you enjoyed a wonderful vacation with us here at The Royal Hawaiian. Thank you for taking the time to share your many kind remarks regarding our resort and service. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is the grand old dame of hotels in Waikiki. Expect to pay a hefty price, and prepare to be in a crowded place. The architecture, entrance and garden are simply exquisite. It is a photo op hotel---an opportunity not missed by the Japanese honeymooners. There is a nice smallish swimming pool but the chairs around it are a battlefield---some get up at 6am just to make sure that their chair will be theirs by 10am. Chair umbrellas on the beach run 40 dollars per day. The rooms are below par for a hotel of this grandeur---so small, in fact, that the closet for clothes is in the bathroom---not exactly the place to keep them dry.

There is wifi at 35 dollars per day---it works well in the main area and the garden rooms, but is pathetic in the (more expensive) beachfront "tower" rooms---the connection is lost about every second minute.

Room Tip: There are beachfront rooms in the renovated "Tower". They are much more expensive than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank LucDevroye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear LucDevroye,
Thank you for taking a moment to share comments regarding your recent stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. It's always delightful to hear the appreciation our guests have for our historic building, so thank you very much for sharing. We do apologize however that our room accommodations and beach and pool offerings did not completely meet your needs and we thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope to have the wonderful opportunity to welcome you back again.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I was fortunate to be a guest at the Royal Hawaiian on my first trip to Hawaii. The Royal Hawaiian reminds me of the Del Coronado and the Brown Palace, historic hotels with beautiful woodwork, crystal and floral carpets. Wooden rocking chairs face a park-like square one one exit from he lobbey while another leads to the Mai Tai Bar and the beach with its pink umbrellas. It could easily be 1934 not 2014. It is an older hotel but it has aged with grace and beauty. My friends were here to be married on the beach and the hotel sent up chocolate-covered strawberries and pink champagne. The room wasn't huge but it had a wonderful view of the beach. I could listen to the waves as I fell asleep in the beautiful bed while the wooden ceiling fan turned overhead. The service was excellent and the food was delicious. Sipping a piña colada from a fresh pineapple at the Mai Tai Bar while listening to Hawaiian music was a wonderful start to an unforgettable vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LindaW2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear LindaW2009,
We are so delighted to learn that you enjoyed an exceptional vacation with us here at The Royal Hawaiian. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your many kind remarks regarding our resort. It is always wonderful to when we hear that our guests share our appreciation for the resorts historic charm and ambiance. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

So my family stayed at the Royal Hawaiian in late June for three days and the place is gorgeous! Rooms were spacious and clean and the grounds are amazing. You can't beat the location - right on Waikiki beach and then it backs up Kalakua ave with all the shops and restaurants. The pool is nice but small and the restaurant is facing the beach. I give it a Poor because the service was really bad - all over - at the restaurant I actually had to find the waiter to give him my drink order and then I had to continue to chase him down (it actually took awhile to figure out which waiter I had). Other people actually started walking out. This was for lunch and we had a similar experience at breakfast. When I was sitting at the pool I had to flag down the waiter who was far more interested in serving the females in bikinis than me (a forty something male!). Turn down service knocked on our door at 9:30 at night - when I was in bed just about to go to sleep. I can't imagine a hotel with this awful service can stay in business so I'm assuming that maybe they had some unexpected employee turnover or a new Manager who has no idea what he or she is doing. So if you stay there, I suggest going off the property for food and drink!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Larry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Larry J,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian. We regret to learn that your trip did not meet your expectations and we apologize for our shortfalls in service delivery. Our team is trained to provide exceptional service and we are disappointed that this was not the case during your stay. Please know that we've shared your review with our team to ensure that these areas of opportunity are addressed and enhanced. We again apologize that we fell short in our service delivery promise. Thank you again for your feedback and time.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,594 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,182 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $382 - $797 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the iconic Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, ushered in a new era of luxurious resort travel to Hawaii. Situated in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers cultural activities, gold standard signature concierge service, valet parking, doctors-on-call, florist, currency exchange service, Japanese concierge, laundry and dry cleaning, dining service and world-class restaurants and bars, wireless internet access in rooms and all public areas, multi-lingual staff, 24-hour room service, business center, and beach and pool services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing