We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uluwehiwehi 'oe i ka'u 'ike la E ka Royal Hawaiian Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Mililani, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Uluwehiwehi 'oe i ka'u 'ike la E ka Royal Hawaiian Hotel”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Our family used to spend Christmas week at the Pink Lady on Waikiki Beach when my celloson was little and performed with the Honolulu Boy Choir. It had been years since I'd been back.

This week, I had two conferences on successive days in Waikiki and just couldn't make myself face the second worst traffic jam in the US for four trips in a row.

I decided to book a room at the Royal Hawaiian. I was not disappointed. The service is friendly and attentive, the hotel looks great after the year-long renovation and I was able to get some much needed rest and relaxation.

My room looked out on Waikiki, was tastefully appointed and very clean and comfortable. The beds deserve a special mention. They are just great.

I went down to the beachside bar to watch the sunset and had a beverage and lovely fresh fish sushi. I ordered dinner in my room as I had some writing to do and was rewarded with an excellent Big Island seafood salad that included a quarter local lobster tail. There was fresh bread and a pretty good house chardonnay.

My wife and I are going back for the next three day weekend as a special treat.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms in the old building are the best. Great atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cellodad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Cellodad,
We are so thrilled to learn that you enjoyed a wonderful stay with with us at The Royal Hawaiian. It is always a treat for us to welcome our kama'aina, especially knowing that our resort brings back some lovely memories for you and your family. Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your kind comments about your mini-staycation. We look forward to welcoming you and your wife for a long weekend.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,142
    892
    396
    174
    122
See reviews for
1,146
1,711
137
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (902)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

First time checking out Hawaii so was not sure what to expect. This hotel is very close to everything- tons of high end shopping and restaurants. Rooms are ok, not huge - and pretty pricey if you want an ocean view. The beach can get a little crowed but the water is so warm and clear - with gentle waves for perfect for learning to surf , paddle board or just float the day away. Good to note this hotel did have direct beach access while many in the area did not but the beaches are public.

Room Tip: If you are going to splurge for ocean view make sure your room is in the middle of the tower - the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear RJ S,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We're delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay here and we appreciate your many kind remarks. We hope to have the wonderful opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

I have stayed at the Royal Hawaiian several times..... my thoughts are that this hotel is more for the Seasoned Travelor. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are very nice. They go out of their way to take care of you. he breakfast buffett is EXCELLENT. I am going there in a couple of days and we will make sure that we eat there even though we are not staying there. The only reason we are staying at the Sheraton is that a teen will be with me and there is more for him to do there. Take the time to walk through this property and have a meal there, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Ken S,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your wonderful comments about our hotel. We appreciate the time you took to share your remarks despite, and while we would have loved to welcome you back this trip, we are delighted that you're just next door at our sister property, Sheraton Waikiki. Perhaps the next time around we will have the great pleasure of welcoming back to the Pink Palace of the Pacific.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Not outstanding service but good with a great feel and atmosphere at the resort.. The Historic Ocean view room was great and although some may feel the room and resort is dated it still well maintained and quite nice!! pool is small but you have the ocean in front with easy access..

Room Tip: Ocean view room in the historic wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomasthetank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear thomasthetank,
Thank you very much for taking a moment to review your recent stay with us. We're delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your comments. We do apologize that aspects of our service did not exceed your expectations, as our goal is provide exceptional experiences for our guests. We appreciate your honest feedback and we hope you will consider offering us another opportunity to provide the outstanding vacation you expect and deserve.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Our party of 6 adults arrived at the Royal Hawaiian after a wonderful stay in a beachfront house on maui. Our holiday just got better and better. The hotel is beautiful, in a welcoming olde world style. Our rooms were perfectly located on the ground floor, so everything was a very easy walk. The surrounding gardens and beach access are stunning and the service was always friendly and cheerful. There are plenty of restaurants in the immediate vicinity, although we gravitated to Dukes several times ( if you go there you must have the dessert!). I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel if you are looking for a little taste of old Hawaii. My only regret was not receiving the banana bread and recipe on checkin as our other guests did!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbiegardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Debbiegardner,
We are absolutely delighted to learn that you enjoyed wonderful stay with us here at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We truly appreciate your many kind remarks regarding your experience with us. Please accept our apologies for the banana bread; we are very sorry to see that it wasn't delivered to your room as it should have been. Thank you however, for bringing this to our attention. Thank you again for your wonderful comments. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I recently spent three nights at the Royal Hawaiian, my second stay after an inaugural visit about six years ago (not reviewed).

We initially booked a garden room in the historic wing, taking advantage of an excellent corporate rate, but upon check-in decided to upgrade to a room with an ocean view in the tower wing.

Along with Halekulani and the Moana Surfrider (also managed by Starwood under the Westin brand), the Royal Hawaiian is one of the three dowager resort hotels in the heart of Waikiki. The Royal Hawaiian's historic wing was built in 1927, and the adjacent high-rise tower appears to date from the 70s or 80s. The hotel enjoys a prime spot on one of the best sections of Waikiki's fabled beach, and is a short walk from shopping malls, restaurants, and Waikiki's other prominent resorts. Although no one should visit Waikiki for quiet seclusion, the hotel's lush rear garden gives you a small sense of what the area must have been like when there was only a handful of big resorts on the beach. When we visited, guests were a mixture of couples and families.

Rooms in both the historic and tower wings are medium-sized, at best. There are no balconies, or "lanais", in the historic wing, but all of the tower rooms have an outdoor area to take advantage of the ocean views. Historic rooms have traditional décor and can feel a bit dark, given relatively small windows, while the tower rooms are brighter. We ended up in a corner room on the 14th floor of the tower wing, and had sweeping views of the beach and Diamond Head. The corner rooms only have one exposure, but do have bigger lanais.

First, the positives: Most staff members seem to have imbibed Aloha spirit, and are friendly and welcoming. MIchele at the front desk was very helpful, as was everyone at the bell desk. The public areas of the historic building are relatively well-preserved, and feature some interesting exhibits from the hotel's 1920s-30s heyday. The room itself was comfortable and reasonably well-appointed, with good bedding and the amenities you'd expect in this category. We didn't sample any of the food, entertainment, or beach facilities, with the exception of the Mai Tai Bar, where the service and drinks were both good.

On the down side, as others have mentioned, the pool is tiny. If a pool is of interest, you'd want to look somewhere else. I believe the hotel was last refreshed about 6-7 years ago, and it's about time for another update. Carpets are battered, and furnishings look a bit frayed. A loose strip of wallpaper slatted in the breeze next to our room. Housekeeping was a weak point - we found hair and a couple of random personal items, presumably from previous occupants, in the bathroom. The "do not disturb" sign was missing, and never replaced. While the room was clean, there should have been more attention to detail. There's a small gym, but not all of the equipment was in working order when I visited.

The hotel charges a "resort fee" on top of the basic rate. I've noticed that when guests question this type of fee, hotel managers often reply that "our pricing is in line with that of other resorts in the area," or something along those lines. I wish resorts in this category would have the marketing savvy to offer an all-inclusive rate. At this price point, I believe many guests would appreciate the chance to avoid feeling "nickeled and dimed." A small example in a similar vein: Guests are given free vouchers for a mai tai at the Mai Tai Bar. A nice touch, until you notice that the free drink is smaller than the one you'd get if you paid. Kind of tacky - and not the approach that makes you want to open your wallet for the resort's other offerings.

The Royal Hawaiian gives you a comfortable stay in a charming historic property in the middle of the Waikiki action. A bit more attention to detail would make the place feel less "corporate" and give guests the sense that they are more than fodder for Starwood's bottom line.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ShiMoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear ShiMoke,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review regarding your recent stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We appreciate your attention to detail in regards to some of our areas of opportunity and we thank you for bringing these items to our attention. We are indeed focused on delivering exceptional vacations to our guests and we are regretful that aspects of your stay did not meet these expectations. Please know that we value your comments and will most certainly share them with our team to ensure proper care is taken to enhance these areas of service delivery and guest experience. Thank you again for your time and feedback.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We chose Hawaii to spend our (delayed) honeymoon & with the help of RandyC@CruisingCo.com we settled on the Royal Hawaiian and we were not disappointed in any way. From our lei greeting to checking in (which we also received a complimentary beverage..yumm) to our room (upgraded with SPG). We had a great view of the garden, the bed was comfy and yes bathroom is small but your not in Hawaii for the bathroom! They gave us a bottle Sparkling wine(which also has the history of the hotel on the back!) ,the banana bread was so good and leaving the recipe a great idea. We took advantage of the beach chairs and umbrellas (which was included in our package) and even had food delivered to us, the encrusted Ahi tuna and the Seafood salad were so good. We also had breakfast in the Lanai restaurant every morning, continental which included pastry,fruit and drink plus the chef had a special smoothie every morning! (also included in our package). The concierge service was awesome they helped with reservations and questions galore. We did have a photographer who supplied us with1 complimentary photo of our trip to the hotel but we did buy more as she took about 70 around the property and they turned out great, (also part of package). We had our anniversary dinner at the Azure right there at the Royal Hawaiian and it was perfect, we settled on the tasting menu and it was beyond good. They even gave us a special desert that said Happy Anniversary. The grounds are beautiful to walk thru. We hope to return and we would definitely like to go back to the Pink Palace. And of course Randy for making the travel plans.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Jean V,
We are so delighted to learn that you enjoyed an exceptional anniversary vacation with us here at The Royal Hawaiian. It's always such an honor for us to play a role in such a momentous occasion and we couldn't be happier to know that you truly enjoyed your special time. Thank you for all of your kind remarks regarding your experience with us. We hope to welcome you back for many years to come.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#9 of 84 in Honolulu
2,520 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,971 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Property: The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the iconic Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, ushered in a new era of luxurious resort travel to Hawaii. Situated in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers cultural activities, gold standard signature concierge service, valet parking, doctors-on-call, florist, currency exchange service, Japanese concierge, laundry and dry cleaning, dining service and world-class restaurants and bars, wireless internet access in rooms and all public areas, multi-lingual staff, 24-hour room service, business center, and beach and pool services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing