We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“*Dream Honeymoon*”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“*Dream Honeymoon*”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We chose Hawaii to spend our (delayed) honeymoon & with the help of RandyC@CruisingCo.com we settled on the Royal Hawaiian and we were not disappointed in any way. From our lei greeting to checking in (which we also received a complimentary beverage..yumm) to our room (upgraded with SPG). We had a great view of the garden, the bed was comfy and yes bathroom is small but your not in Hawaii for the bathroom! They gave us a bottle Sparkling wine(which also has the history of the hotel on the back!) ,the banana bread was so good and leaving the recipe a great idea. We took advantage of the beach chairs and umbrellas (which was included in our package) and even had food delivered to us, the encrusted Ahi tuna and the Seafood salad were so good. We also had breakfast in the Lanai restaurant every morning, continental which included pastry,fruit and drink plus the chef had a special smoothie every morning! (also included in our package). The concierge service was awesome they helped with reservations and questions galore. We did have a photographer who supplied us with1 complimentary photo of our trip to the hotel but we did buy more as she took about 70 around the property and they turned out great, (also part of package). We had our anniversary dinner at the Azure right there at the Royal Hawaiian and it was perfect, we settled on the tasting menu and it was beyond good. They even gave us a special desert that said Happy Anniversary. The grounds are beautiful to walk thru. We hope to return and we would definitely like to go back to the Pink Palace. And of course Randy for making the travel plans.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Jean V,
We are so delighted to learn that you enjoyed an exceptional anniversary vacation with us here at The Royal Hawaiian. It's always such an honor for us to play a role in such a momentous occasion and we couldn't be happier to know that you truly enjoyed your special time. Thank you for all of your kind remarks regarding your experience with us. We hope to welcome you back for many years to come.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,140
    891
    396
    174
    122
See reviews for
1,143
1,711
137
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (903)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Valley, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is our second time staying at this elegant hotel. From the moment you arrive, and are greeted with leis, and a juice drink while checking in at the desk (seated, so you shouldn't get tired) to the "Aloha" at the end of your stay, it is truly gracious living. It is not cheap, but worth every penny to be so well treated. We will stay there every time we are in Waikiki. Be sure to see the orchids in the gallery.

Room Tip: Get a room in the "Historic" section. It reeks of old world glamour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Ron181,
We are absolutely delighted to learn that you enjoyed another spectacular vacation with us here at The Royal. It is always a joy for us to welcome back our guests year after year and most certainly look forward to sharing our aloha with you for many more years to come.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Everything was fantastic. Only thing that could have improved the visit was better service at breakfast and at the luau on Monday (took awhile for our wait staff to check on us). However, the rooms, location, and food quality were all fantastic! Definitely great perks for Starwoods guests also- front desk hooked us up at check-in!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Campbell743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Campbell743,
We're thrilled to learn that you enjoyed an exceptional vacation with us here at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We apologize for the hiccup in excellent service delivery at our breakfast and luau, and we thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope to welcome you back again very soon!
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

There were a few issues, but they were quickly resolved by Rick, Director of Front Office. It was the BEST vacation week of our lives! Thanks to the following associates for contributing to a remarkable experience: Byron (Surf Lanai Pool Dining); Dolly (Housekeeping); Chuck (Pool Manager). Hopefully, Royal Hawaiian will become our annual retreat.

Room Tip: An expansive view of the ocean from the tower building, and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phanny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Phanny S.,
Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your review. We apologize for the challenges you experienced and we're delighted that our team was able to quickly resolve the issues allowing you to enjoy the best vacation week of your lives! Your kind remarks are truly appreciated and look forward to welcoming you back again to the "Pink Palace of the Pacific."
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I graduated from High School on Oahu and remember the Royal Hawaiian from the early 70s when the gardens reached all the way from the building to Kalakaua Avenue (before they shoe-horned the Sheratin in front). Yet whenever we stay in Honolulu, we always stay at the "Pink Palace". It's as close to Old Hawaii as you can now get, especially since they have closed the International Market Place. The last time we were there was for Memorial Day weekend this year and splurged on the tasting menu in one of the private cabanas. When work means that we stay at other hotels on Waikiki (like the Hilton Hawaiian Village-which is only good if you have a family), when we are on our own, we always return to the Royal Hawaiian.

Room Tip: We like to stay in the historic rooms which are small but lovely. And these are the ones we can affo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Deborah1977,
We are so delighted to learn that you enjoyed another wonderful stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian. It's always great to welcome back return guests, and even more rewarding to know that our resort brings back nostalgia from days past. We take great pride in our job as stewards of this special building and area, and we are so thrilled that you appreciate our efforts to maintain the magic of Waikiki and The Royal. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed 5 nights over the 4th of July holiday. We greeted in a very warm & friendly manner and given juice while while we waited to check in. It took a while as we were in a line and not all of the positions were filled by staff. I was very tired after having traveled so far so I really didn't appreciate the wait. We stayed in the historic part of the hotel. Our room number was 130. The carpet in the lobby and hallways seems rather worn and needs replacing. The door to our room was carved wood and really nice. Our room had been remodeled and was nice. The bathroom was rather small with no tub only a shower. The shower had some black mold here and there. There was no ac vent in the bath or fan but the window opened to the sound of birds singing in the morning. Our view would have been better if not for the massage tents blocking any real view of the landscape . Our room had a door which could adjoin to the room next door if desired. That was a issue as I could hear the guy next door talking/snoring and so on. That would be my biggest gripe. Otherwise as far as the room goes it was great. The room service as far as the food quality was fair. The guys that delivered it were extremely polite and knowledgable . I booked the stay through Starwood and got a $75.00 per day credit on food or spa treatments. We used ours for room service breakfast and when approached cautiously it can be had for $75.00 for 2 persons. It's expensive but room service generally is. A small pot of coffee was $11.00 (3 to 4 cups ). 5 small pancakes cost $20.00. Nothing else came with them other than the Vermont maple syrup which was good. The outdoor bar was okay. The bar staff was great with the exception of 1 table waiter. I wish I would have gotten his name. He had zero personality and stood out from all of the rest. He wore white sunglasses. He was just short of rude. The bar menu needs help. I ordered Korean chicken wings @ $18.00 and that's what I got. But that's all I got. It didn't come with anything else. Slaw ? Fries ? Come on guys. You can do better than that ! On the Fourth of July I had blue berry mojitos and they were excellent. The drinks are expensive but you need to consider where you are. They were having a cookout featuring German potato salad and Hawaiian Chicken . I think it's called Huli chicken. 1 / 2 chicken and potato salad was $20.00. My wife and I split one and it was amazing ! The chef was very friendly and informative. We were celebrating our anniversary and they brought a bottle of champagne to our room with 2 glasses ! It was appropriately pink as is the entire building. Umbrellas and chairs go for $50.00 per day on the beach. There is a $35.00 daily resort charge that includes valet parking. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel. It's landscaped in a beautiful way. It's away from the Main Street and the clouds yet next to a mall via a trail that winds through lush a beauty. We will definitely return. Oh yeah....the pool is really really small.

Room Tip: This hotel pays attention to detail. You won't find that at the Sheraton next door. It's a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Richard A,
Thank you for taking the time to share your very thorough review of your recent stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian. We can see from your review that a few aspects of your stay were less than extraordinary and apologize for our shortfalls in these areas, particularly the unpleasant experience at the Mai Tai Bar as well as the wait at check-in. We're delighted that you had the opportunity to enjoy our Pink, White and Blue party at the Mai Tai Bar and we appreciate your kind remarks regarding the Huli Huli Chicken plate. It's always a joy for us to welcome guests for special occasions such as anniversaries and we thank you letting us play a small part in your momentous celebration. We hope to welcome you back again.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We were greatly welcomed, and greeted by staff with Leis. However, that was the best part of our stay. After making our way to our room we discovered it was filthy, the countertops had not been cleaned, and the dust had clearly accumulated. The weather is humid, and the air conditioner, broken, to top it off our bedding was dirty! The mattress' are hard as rocks. We had to accommodate house keeping at 10 pm and step out of the room with sleepy children for proper room cleaning. There is nothing royal about the Hawaiian, I would have been better off at a motel 6. Best part of this hotel is the beach access, but you don't have to stay at the Hawaiian to have access to the beach or grounds. Next time ill stay elsewhere. This is our first time in Hawaii and it was an unpleasant stay.

Room Tip: Personally look at the rooms before you book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank jnperez530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear jnperez530,
We truly regret to learn that your stay with us was anything less than exceptional due to our shortfalls in service. We are quite disappointed and embarrassed to know that you were incorrectly checked-in to a room that properly prepared for guests. We understand the challenges involved with traveling with children and keeping them comfortable and we cannot apologize enough for inconveniencing your family at this late hour for a room cleaning. Please know that your review was shared with our management team to ensure proper care is taken to follow-up with the appropriate departments and ambassadors responsible for your particular room. We truly apologize that this unpleasant experience put a hamper on your first trip to Hawaii and we hope you will consider offering us another opportunity - in the future - to provide the wonderful vacation you expect and deserve from The Royal Hawaiian.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#9 of 84 in Honolulu
2,518 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,964 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Property: The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the iconic Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, ushered in a new era of luxurious resort travel to Hawaii. Situated in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers cultural activities, gold standard signature concierge service, valet parking, doctors-on-call, florist, currency exchange service, Japanese concierge, laundry and dry cleaning, dining service and world-class restaurants and bars, wireless internet access in rooms and all public areas, multi-lingual staff, 24-hour room service, business center, and beach and pool services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing