We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoy our return visits ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We have stayed at the Royal Hawaiian often, it is very friendly, outstanding service. The hotel is in the perfect location, you can walk to restaurants and around the city. We suggest you try the blueberry pancakes, breakfast is wonderful & delicious and the scenery is perfect. Enjoy. Aloha,
Suzanne O

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Suzanne O,
It's always truly wonderful to hear from our return guests! Thank you so much for your continued loyalty to The Royal Hawaiian and Starwood. We look forward to your next visit.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,923)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,732 - 1,738 of 3,923 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

We are on our second day of a seven day stay and encountered a slight issue that was more than resolved by the front office manager. The Pink Palace was our best vacation ever, back in 2000, so we had high hopes. So far it looks like this stay may be even better.

Will report back later...

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear R S,
Thank you so very much for taking a moment to share your experience with us. We do apologize for the inconvenience experienced and we thank you for noting that our front office manager resolved the issue efficiently. We truly appreciate your kind and honest feedback. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed here two nights with family. The hotel provided the extra help we need with a family member who needed a wheelchair and made sure she was as mobile as possible, it was so fantastic of them to help. I must say from the moment we drove up to the moment we left, everyone we came into contact with was so friendly and helpful, trying to make sure our every need (even wants!) was attended to. I believe this hotel had the best service of any we have stayed. The location is lovely, the hotel is beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvtrvl525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear luvtrvl525,
We are absolutely delighted to learn that you and your family enjoyed two exceptional nights with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We take great pride in delivering spectacular experiences and we couldn't be happier to know that you and your family experienced and appreciated the warm aloha from all of our ambassadors. We hope to welcome you back again soon to the "Pink Palace of the Pacific."
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We were so, so thankful that we chose to stay at the Royal Hawaiian for our Waikiki vacation. We were there for three nights, and were hoping to do nothing but walk to great restaurants and lay on the beach. Mission accomplished. The beach chairs and service were perfect, and Royal Hawaiian really does have the largest beach space of any of the hotels on Waikiki, so it was exactly perfect for our trip. The hotel is gorgeous - we loved how open it was and how regal it felt without being fussy or formal. The location on the main drag is great - we were able to easily walk to plenty of restaurants and shops and even walked from the hotel to the top of Diamond Head one morning (8 miles round trip - but such a good workout). Highly recommend this property!

Room Tip: We liked being in the tower because the rooms seemed newer and the views were great. We stayed on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessica j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear jessica j,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your review of our resort. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed a lovely three night stay with us and we appreciate the many kind remarks about our location, beach services and ambiance. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Our 11 night stay at the Royal Hawaiian in May 2014 did not disappoint. Perfectly located on the Waikiki strip and on the beach meant easy access to (designer) shops, restaurants, tour and water activities. The hotel is also located at the nicer end of Kalakaua Avenue.

We were happy with our Traditional room (rm 397) although not much of a view, it didn't matter because really, who stays in their hotel room when in Hawaii?! The king bed and pillows were super comfy and the room was tastefully decorated with classic charm.

It was convenient having access to restaurants and pools from neighbouring hotels Sheraton Waikiki, Outrigger and Moana Surf Rider, where you can charge back to your room at the RH.

Only negative was the $20/$50 p/2hr (depending on the position on the beach) beach lounge hire - thought this was a bit rich particularly when you pay $35 a day extra for hotel room charge!! So we just sat on towels on the beach.

Over all, a great trip and lovely hotel with friendly, helpful staff. Aloha!!


Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Kelly M,
Thank you for sharing you lovely review of our resort. We're thrilled to learn that you enjoyed an exceptional 11-night stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian and we appreciate your many complementary remarks regarding your experience with us. We also appreciate your feedback about our beach chaise rental program and we thank you for honest and fair comments. We do hope to welcome you back again to the "Pink Palace of the Pacific."
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed at this resort for 4 nights recently and were very impressed with the beauty of this hotel, it is set back off from the main street so you dont hear any noise but very convenient to restaurants and shopping. The staff were all very professional from the time we checked in to checkout. Our room was very clean and spacious, the bed was very comfortable and bathroom was updated and clean as well. We were greeted at check in with a lei and drink and to find delicious banana bread waiting for us in our room was a surprise. This resort is on the best stretch of Waikiki beach it is wide compared to some of the other hotels on the beach, The historical presence of the hotel is kept up very well. We are very happy that we made the decision to stay at this hotel during our stay in Honolulu, would definitely stay here again when returning to this island.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tdotson68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Tdotson68,
Thank you so very much for taking a moment to share your experience at The Royal Hawaiian. We are truly delighted to learn that you enjoyed a wonderful 4 night vacation with us here. We appreciate your many kind words regarding our resort, ambassadors and overall ambiance. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

My husband and I recently had to take a quick trip to Honolulu. The original plan was to stay only one night. But the moment that we arrived at this hotel, we made an immediate decision to change our flights and stay one additional night just to enjoy this hotel. It is a "feel good thing" just to walk into the hotel.

The location of the hotel is terrific. It has access to the main boulevard but is protected from the hustle and bustle behind a mall, right on the beach. And the grounds and gardens are tropical and very well maintained.

The hotel has years of history but is beautifully updated. The individual hotel room doors are all hand carved.

We had a late dinner in the outdoor bar right at the beach. Good food and live entertainment. Breakfast is also served outside right at the beach. Great menu and good food.

All of the staff that we had the opportunity to come in contact with were very professional and accommodating and friendly.

Each night we received a lovely little treat. The chef's special banana muffins were delivered to the room complete with his recipe. How nice!

Whenever we have the chance to return to Honolulu, there is no doubt that we will choose this hotel to stay.

Aloha

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jban2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear jban2013,
We are absolutely delighted to learn that you enjoyed at truly spectacular stay with us here at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. It's always a pleasure for us to welcome our kama'aina guests and we couldn't be happier to know that you will return again on your next trip to Oahu.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,594 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,182 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $385 - $798 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the iconic Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, ushered in a new era of luxurious resort travel to Hawaii. Situated in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers cultural activities, gold standard signature concierge service, valet parking, doctors-on-call, florist, currency exchange service, Japanese concierge, laundry and dry cleaning, dining service and world-class restaurants and bars, wireless internet access in rooms and all public areas, multi-lingual staff, 24-hour room service, business center, and beach and pool services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing