We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a horrible hotel...Not sure how they got such a great reputation!?!?!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The Royal Hawaiian was such a disappointment! We have stayed at many different resorts on all of the different islands, but have never been as frustrated by an experience as at this hotel. During the busy Memorial Day holiday weekend, they shut down the pool and the restaurants/ kitchens because of a Novovirus infection but NEVER TOLD THEIR GUESTS. So, we were there for 5 days/ 4 nights and the pool and kitchens were closed for most of it-- RIDICULOUS!

The staff was not helpful or accommodating at all (probably because they were trying to hide the fact that there was an awful virus being spread throughout the hotel), and there was NO ATTEMPT to relocate guests or anything. If we had known about the real reason for the shut-down, we would have found a different hotel ourselves.

I cannot begin to convey the extent of our disappointment with this hotel, the service, and of course the facilities. The fact that this is considered a "Fine Hotels & Resort" property is baffling to me, and makes me wonder why more negative (HONEST) reviews have not been posted about this hotel. Absolutely ridiculous.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else other than the Royal Hawaiian
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank hcfromindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear hcfromindy,
We are truly sorry to learn that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We understand your frustration with our pool and restaurant closure during your stay and we apologize that this hampered your vacation. As a safety precaution for our guests, we made the decision to fully sanitize these high trafficked public areas multiple times, with our last deep clean sanitation requiring the closure. We provided notices in our guest rooms regarding the situation, and we apologize that the information regarding the restaurant and pool closure was not effectively communicated. During this time, we continued to provide food service for our guests through our ballroom kitchen, however we understand it must have been frustrating to not have the option to dine at Azure Restaurant. We sent you a private message requesting more information. We again apologize that our team fell short on delivering the exceptional experience you expect and deserve, and we hope you will consider visiting again.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,853)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,684 - 1,690 of 3,853 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed at The Royal Hawaiian for four nights. It was our first trip to Hawaii and this hotel did not disappoint. From the fantastic view of Waikiki beach and Diamond Head to the excellent service we received from the hotel staff during our stay, would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely go back. It is close to so many restaurants, shopping centers, public transportation but yet still private. All in all, a great stay at a very classy hotel.

Room Tip: Stayed in Oceanfront Tower Room-ask for high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dapval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear dapval,
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed a wonderful vacation with us here on your first trip to Hawaii. It's always a great pleasure to welcome first time visitors and we are truly happy that you experienced a memorable and spectacular stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The main attraction of the Royal Hawaiian for me is the ability to stay somewhat hidden, even peaceful and tranquil in spite of its location smack in the middle of the madness of Waikiki Beach. Just walk to the neighbouring Sheraton and you will quickly appreciate the idyllic setting of the Pink Palace. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and you truly feel like you have arrived in Hawaii.

We tried the Royal Papa'aina Experience at Azure Restaurant and was greatly impressed with the service and knowledge of the staff. The ambience was not as private as we thought even though we had a beachfront cabana to ourselves. Michel's at Colony Surf had a much better atmosphere to enjoy the sunset.

We went for a Tower Ocean room and was a tad disappointed at the small size of the room. The pool and beach area was also a tad small but overall it was still a fantastic experience staying at this iconic hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank davidkwchong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear davidkwchong,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We're delighted to learn that you enjoyed our ideal location and peaceful setting in the heart of Waikiki. We appreciate your feedback regarding the tower room as well as the Royal Papa'aina Experience; this type of information is precisely what we use as we make continuous efforts to enhance and elevate our services. We truly appreciate your honest and thoughtful comments. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I travel to Waikiki at least once a year. I always wanted to stay at the "pink palace" so this time we did. Great location, rooms and wonderful staff! I highly recommend if you're traveling here. Multiple pools too since you can also use the activity pool at the Sheraton next door.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimberlyShediak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Aloha KimberlyShediak,
We're thrilled that you finally had the chance to stay with us at the "Pink Palace of the Pacific." It's always wonderful to welcome guests for the first time. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your experience with us. We hope to welcome you back for many more Waikiki vacations.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Greeted with a cool cloth and non-alcoholic cocktail by an attentive receptionist, I knew we had booked the right venue. The room upgrade helped even more and the attention to detail sealed the deal. It feels like being taken back in time to an era where style and service went hand in hand
Another visit to the Pink palace is inevitable

Room Tip: The Tower has magnificent views- well worth the premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Guy H,
We're delighted to learn that you had an exceptional time with us here at The Royal Hawaiian. It's always wonderful to hear that our little touches help to make all the difference for our guests. Thank you for sharing your kind remarks. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Whow, this is a wonderful property and has so much history, the staff seem to really appreciate your business. It is located in an area that is full of fun shopping and food. Also easy to walk to all places. The property is located right on beach in full view of surfers everyday. Eating on the property is like paradise and is very good food. Our room was excellent with pleaty of beach view. Lots of history at this place and they have kept up with upgrades. Would go back again. Very good visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Aloha William M.,
Thank you so very much for taking a moment to share your lovely review. We truly appreciate the time you took to share your comments and we especially value your kind remarks about our hotel ambassadors; we do take great pride in serving as stewards of this historic property and of aloha, so it's always a pleasure to hear that our efforts are appreciated. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Best time ever. Ok first time to Hawaii but this should not discount my enthusiasm. The hotel was great. Very beautiful and rich in history, I don't pretend to have learned it all being on a honeymoon. The staff was great always helpful and so friendly. Always with the ahola and the mahalo! You will become so accustom to this you will annoy friends and family for weeks if not months after your return. Expect some bitterness from those not able to join you on your wonderful stay at The Royal Hawaiian, and rightfully so. Our only suggested improvement is that the doors have a few inch gap allowing light and sound into the hotel room and being a human that enjoys a cave like bedroom this was slightly distracting. However, the doors are beautifully carved and very unique. I highly recommend the laua, be patient and not in a rush and relax and enjoy the good mood of everyone around you.

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker do not get a room on the smoking optional floor, as the smoke will come into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Aloha Elizabeth E,
We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed a wonderful honeymoon at The Royal Hawaiian. Your enthusiasm and appreciation for the warm aloha showed by our ambassadors is delightful! We do apologize that the door fixture added slight distraction while in the room and we appreciate this honest feedback. Thank you again for your lovely review. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,568 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,124 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $350 - $775 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the iconic Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, ushered in a new era of luxurious resort travel to Hawaii. Situated in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers cultural activities, gold standard signature concierge service, valet parking, doctors-on-call, florist, currency exchange service, Japanese concierge, laundry and dry cleaning, dining service and world-class restaurants and bars, wireless internet access in rooms and all public areas, multi-lingual staff, 24-hour room service, business center, and beach and pool services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing