We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand dame is needing a lift” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
395 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Grand dame is needing a lift”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

My husband, son and I stayed one night on two ocean front rooms at this property - prior to boarding a Hawaiian cruise. The view from our adjoining ocean front tower rooms was spectacular. We were eager to stay at this grand dame of a property, but it's in need of a few cosmetic lifts.
First, after a 10 hour flight having to wait in line for more than 20 minutes to check in was a little disconcerting, especially as there were unmanned desks. Had I not had the time to stand and look around I'm sure I'd not have noticed the frayed and separating rug in the check in area - it's big and clearly once was beautiful. I tried to keep my eyes on the lush courtyard but it wasn't easy. We got to our rooms and were more than ready to freshen up before a walk on the gorgeous beach and dinner. I was surprised by the things overlooked in the room: a beautifully carved wood bed tray was placed on the bed but was covered in a thick layer of dust; the bathroom had an updated sink and vanity and fancy commode (to appeal to the Japanese tourists especially) but the tub/shower combo is circa 1975. I know oriental guests stayed previous to us in our room because to my horror their hair was in the tub- I am blonde and my husband is bald, so there was no mistaking that. Dust covered the phone and around the tv, too. For the price I expect a clean room. Truly.
The banana muffins brought to us were wonderful and again I couldn't rave more about our ocean front views, but the lack of cleanliness in both rooms (our son's was in similar state) was disappointing.
I hope the hotel upgrades the showers to match the rest of the bathrooms, and also notes the attention needed to dusting. Not sure we would stay here again unless these improvements are made - there are plenty of other options. Based on the view and old charm I wanted to love this stay - left a little disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kwagmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear kwagmeister,
We truly regret to learn that your stay with us was hampered by the wait time at check-in as well as the cleanliness of your room and bathroom. This is most certainly not the experience we'd like our guests to have and we apologize for our shortfalls in these areas. Please know that we've shared your review with our management team, particularly our director of housekeeping who has requested for the room numbers in which you and your son stayed so that we can follow-up with the ambassador responsible for ensuring the rooms meet our cleanliness standards. We've sent you private message requesting for this information. We truly appreciate your honesty, as this allows us to continually enhance our service and products.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,991
    847
    375
    167
    116
See reviews for
1,062
1,611
127
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (851)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

I stayed here for a night while on a business trip. Though the property is beautiful and the location is desirable, the hotel itself isn't very private. I felt like any person walking off the main boulevard or staying at the adjoining hotel had access to the property and people kept walking through it.

Good restaurant and service though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear adelly,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your review of The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We appreciate your feedback regarding your experience and we're pleased to share that your concerns are have also been brought to our attention by other guests and our management and security team is currently making efforts towards enhancing the sense of privacy on our resort grounds. Our location in the heart of Waikiki makes it a challenge for our security team, however let us assure you that efforts are currently being made in this direction. Thank you again and warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
233 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

It is difficult to add to what has been written about the Pink Palace already. You know it has a commanding location on Waikiki Beach. You know it is expensive, is part of the Luxury Collection of hotels and has an old portion and a new tower. It has the usual assortment of shops, restaurants, pools and beach as well as terrific landscaping and a lush feel.

We spent two nights in the old section (two double beds) with a view of the ocean through a double window. A nice view, to be sure. The room was small, and the bathroom very small, indeed. This is consistent with the time it was built (1927) and would be OK for some guests. I found it to be too small and interfered with our enjoyment of the stay. We are not big people, but kept bumping into each other in the space and had to function serially, not in parallel.

The service was very good, as one expects at this price point, and staff were helpful. The wireless internet was really horrible -- slow, spotty, unreliable. We could not jump on and jump off as we do at home, meaning that we spent too much time updating, time which would have been better spent in other ways. I still don't know what the problems were, just that my efforts to overcome them (connecting travel router, fixing disconnected ethernet cabling, etc.) were all in vain. Signal strength was fine in room and in public areas. All five of our devices had the same problems connecting and maintaining a connection.

Come for the location and the feeling of old time sophistication and charm. Bring your money with you as you will need to spend freely to take advantage of many things (as is true up and down the beach). Two lounge chairs with umbrella at the beach are $40 plus tax in the section of sand closest to the hotel. Just over the chain separating the hotel beach from the public beach, running parallel to the ocean, the space is free. We paid for two chairs and, in addition to the very nice view of the beach and ocean and Diamond Head, I had a view of some older folks immediately in front of me, including an inappropriately sized speedo which is now etched in my memory. Dumb luck and certainly not the fault of the hotel... You may reserve your chairs and umbrella in advance (as well as pay in advance) through the hotel website, which includes a handy may showing the location of the chairs you are purchasing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OttoSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear OttoSchwartz,
Thank you very much for taking the time so share your very thorough review of The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We appreciate your honest feedback regarding your room and we apologize that these accommodations did not satisfy your expectations. We also apologize for the challenges you experienced with the wifi at the resort; we have shared this with our director of IT for follow-up. We know you have many choices when selecting a resort in Waikiki and we truly thank you for choosing The Royal Hawaiian. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to have the wonderful opportunity to welcome you back again.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kahului, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Amazing service, and great location. Best hotel on Waikiki! Family spot with access to the Sheraton adult infinity pool, it's the best of both worlds! Hotel is far enough off the main drag that you don't get the traffic noise pollution, and you're connected to the high end outdoor mall!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1627729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear 1627729,
Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your wonderful review of The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We're thrilled to learn that you enjoyed a spectacular vacation with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

People: Super nice, hospitable, smart and helpful. From the initial greeting (lai, fruit drink upon arrival) to concierge to the MaiTai bar to housekeeping. You won't find nicer people.

Setting: Rooms are great, the breakfast (right on the beach) is excellent and the grounds are beautiful.

For Kids: Local pool is small and not really kid friendly. However, as a Starwood member, you get to use the Sheraton pool next door (1 minute walk) which has slides, a large pool and plenty of kids. Our daughter (7) loved it. Breakfast is perfect for the kids as well - all that you need. More on that under....

Food: MaiTai Bar is a great spot for happy hour and drinks. 2 Free drink coupons given upon arrival. Chicken wings (Korean) are the best app that we tried. Breakfast is served next to the MaiTai Bar and is really high quality. If Starwood, you get 2 free continental breakfasts included which includes some really good homemade granola, fresh squeezed juices, pastries etc. You can add on for $15 and the banana-macadamia french toast add-on is absolutely worth it. We did not go to Azure but there are SO many places within walking distance - Wolfgang's (steakhouse) Happy Hour is amazing.

Other than that: The Beach has zero undertow and the water is clean and turquoise as you could imagine. Local snorkeling is worth it as is swimming with dolphins. Tons of options for both - concierge can help here. The Head of Marketing/Sales (Charlene) is a gem - the place is in good hands with her involved.

Such a good stay - really tough to pinpoint any issues with this place - we will be back.

Room Tip: The Garden Suite is a great get and worth the Starwood Suite Upgrade Award.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isramerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Isramerican,
We're delighted to learn that you and your family enjoyed a wonderful vacation with us here at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thorough review of our accommodations, dining options and service. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
222 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Since I was a kid, I have always wanted to stay at the Pink Palace but would normally never be able to afford it. SPG points made my dream come true! I loved the "pinkness" of everything, the orchid leis and the classic Hawaiian decor! I had booked 1 night here and 1 night at the Sheraton to try the infinity pool and much preferred this hotel. Only thing is that the pool snack bars closed too early. Great location, could walk to several shopping centres and restaurants. Hopefully we can come back for a longer stay someday!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tikibird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Tikibird,
We're delighted that you had the opportunity to live out your dream to visit The Royal Hawaiian and we hope that our "Pink Palace of the Pacific" was everything you dreamed of and more. We also hope to have the wonderful opportunity to welcome you back again someday!
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Our first time at this hotel and we were very happy. With a lei greeting we felt welcome and special. The staff we got to know- Monica, Sora were excellent, friendly, pleasant and quick to solve any problems. All staff were ready to help and respond to our needs ranging from directions to bus routes. So lovely to have the hotel on the beach, we participated in hotel activities - historic tour of hotel withThelma - excellent, lei making - fun, entertainment - excellent. The hotel is very pretty, relaxing and conducive to a lovely holiday in paradise. The atmoshphere seems reminiscent of times gone by, and I feel they have kept that unique quality that was present in 1927. I had always hoped to stay here and am still feeling excited that we did. We would definitley return.

Room Tip: For good natural light in the historic side check that your room has 2 sets of windows if facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Brenda J,
We're delighted to learn that you enjoyed an exceptional stay with us here at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, and we truly appreciate your many kind words regarding your experience and our ambassadors. It's always wonderful to hear about how our guests enjoyed the various cultural activities at the resort! We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,436 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,103 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Property: The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the iconic Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, ushered in a new era of luxurious resort travel to Hawaii. Situated in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers cultural activities, gold standard signature concierge service, valet parking, doctors-on-call, florist, currency exchange service, Japanese concierge, laundry and dry cleaning, dining service and world-class restaurants and bars, wireless internet access in rooms and all public areas, multi-lingual staff, 24-hour room service, business center, and beach and pool services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing