We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,345)
Filter reviews
4,345 results
Traveler rating
2,476
1,016
465
213
175
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,476
1,016
465
213
175
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the mai tai bar the pink palace mailani tower banana bread surf lanai azure restaurant pink lady sheraton pool historic section garden view original building iconic hotel beach staff tower rooms beach chairs old hawaii an umbrella
Filter
Updating list...
2,190 - 2,195 of 4,345 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

This was the first hotel we stayed at on our Christmas Hawaii trip.We had a regular ocean view studio room(two adults,one child 9 years).The room fit us nicely and was clean but a little outdated with the decor.The balcony was a nice size but the railing was a little wobbly so I didn't let my son go out on it.The beach was unbelievable!!It was perfect for everyone,no rocks,small enough waves to learn how to surf,and the bar was close to the beach chairs.The beach chairs you have to purchase for $50 dollars a day and are behind a rope but if you want you could bring your own towels and find a spot for free.Remember there's no drinking or smoking on the beach and on the balconies in Hawaii,it's the law,bummer,but it keeps the beaches nice.The food was great and so was room service.In the bathroom they also had one of those toilets that sprays and dries you clean... Lol,very cool!!The pool is very small but they give you bracelets for free to use the Sheraton pool which has 3slides,adult pool,and you could eat there and charge it to your room.I would could back here because we loved Waikiki beach and the shops are walking distance.It was great here !! The guys that teach surfing lesson were super nice and taught my son how to surf...thanks!

Date of stay: December 2013
Thank TravelWithChrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Aloha TravelWithChrissy,
We're delighted to learn that you and your family enjoyed a wonderful vacation with us here at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We're very fortunate to sit on what we consider to be the most beautiful location on Oahu's south shore and we're thrilled that you and your family took full advantage of our beachfront location - and what better place to learn how to surf than Waikiki! We hope to have the wonderful opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I didn't have the opporunity to stay at this hotel but I will definitely stay here in the future, the hotel has a old world spanish/art deco type feel and gorgeous just to walk through!! And as a double plus bonus if you go downstairs there is a long hallway full of historical artifacts from the hotel!

Date of stay: July 2013
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank KerisaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear KerisaM,
Thank you so very much for taking a moment to share your comments about our resort. It's always wonderful to hear from visitors who truly appreciate our history and beautiful architecture/design. We hope to have the wonderful opportunity to welcome you to The Royal for future vacations.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed at The Royal Hawaiian for the first time during Pro Bowl Week in Honolulu. The hotel is the second oldest in Waikiki yet is still exhibits an understated elegance. The property is older but in a classic way. The grounds are still wonderfully maintained and the staff are extremely patient and hospitable. The standard rooms are large enough, particularly those with a "Garden View". Our room had a quaint balcony with seating for 2 overlooking the Garden Entry way.
Keep in mind that the hotel has a "historical" designation so significant remodeling is not allowed. That being said, the walls are a little thin and sometimes noise from the hallway can be heard. In spite of that issue, guests are usually very respectful when walking thru the hallways and we had very little noise issues even during a very busy time of the year, the Pro Bowl.

Room tip: keep in mind that if you book with an agency, you get great comps, like free drinks, free deck chairs, continental breakfast etc..
Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ma7514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear ma7514,
Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay with us. You certainly visited during an exciting time, as the Pro Bowl festivities in Waikiki are always fun to experience. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our resort's understated elegance and classic charm; as stewards of this historical resort and iconic place in Waikiki, we always enjoy hearing from guests who appreciate our place in history. We're thrilled to have had the opportunity to welcome you to The Royal Hawaiian for the first time, and we hope this the first of many more stays with us.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Staying here right now in the tower, also stayed a week ago. Beautiful location, rooms are quite nice but the accessories could use a revamp. Most of the staff are outstanding, the odd one or two exceptionally rude. The air con in both the rooms I have had over my two stays, is so noisy you can't have them on at night, they would keep you awake. Hate to be here in the heat of summer! And to add to that, both rooms have had paper thin walls. I can literally here every word my neighbour is saying. I know their names, everything they are talking about and when she offered to make coffee at 7am this morning, I was going to say yes I would love one!! There is no privacy and I don't want to be awake because my neighbours are! I find this quite annoying. Don't come if you have secrets or your neighbours will know everything!!!! Location right on the beach and near the shops is fantastic.

Room tip: No interconnecting doors to help with neighbour noise.
Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fizam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear fizam,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your review of our resort. We apologize for the inconvenience experienced due to noise levels of surrounding rooms. We've sent you a private message requesting for your reservation information; if you're still staying with us, we'd be happy to have our Guest Service Manager assist with a room move. We appreciate your feedback and most certainly would like to make every effort to ensure your stay with us is as pleasant as can be.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My wife and I spent a few days at The Royal Hawaiian on a recent Hawaiian vacation. I’ve always had a soft spot for what many affectionately call “The Pink Palace”. On arrival we received a very warm welcome, with the traditional lei and a glass of their signature Pink Lemonade. We were seated at a desk for our check-in formalities, which made for a comfortable start.
The hotel consists of the original building and a newer tower. The majority of rooms in the original building do not have balconies. We always choose to stay in the more modern tower in which, I believe, the rooms are larger and all possess spacious balconies overlooking Waikiki Beach. Our room also had outstanding views to Diamond Head. The additional cost for rooms with a premium view is well worth it. Sitting on the balcony watching the sun go down each evening is a real delight. For some reason the sunsets in Hawaii are never to be forgotten.
The rooms and bathrooms, although comfortable and spacious, could perhaps do with a slight modernization. The in room coffee making machine was appreciated, it made a great cup of coffee.
Breakfast in the main restaurant, situated literally on the beach, was a most pleasant experience. Their Eggs Benedict must be tried, perhaps one of the best I have ever tasted.
The spacious gardens and verandahs located around the property makes for a very relaxing ambience, especially sitting on their rocking chairs. There were several weddings on the lawns which we enjoyed watching during our stay.
Their famous Mai Tai Bar in the garden beside the beach is a not to be missed attraction, especially at sunset where guests and locals alike gather to listen to the live Hawaiian band that plays till late. Light snacks were also available. We made several new friends at the Mai Tai Bar.
There are several excellent shops in an arcade within the property and the piece de resistance is “Newts” Hawaiian shirt and Panama hat shop located by the garden. More great shops, galleries and restaurants can be found in the Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center that stretches along Kalakaua Avenue which is the main tourist and shopping street in Waikiki.
One should consider a stay at this iconic property an experience that you will always remember.
John Pond

Room tip: Ask for room with view to Diamond Head, the extra cost is well worth it. We prefer the rooms in the newer Tower Building.
Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnpond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear johnpond,
We're overjoyed to see that you and your wife enjoyed a lovely vacation here with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. Thank you for sharing your detailed and colorful recount of your stay, as it's always delightful for us to hear about the many details that make our guests' stays memorable. We could not agree more with you about the breathtaking Hawaiian sunsets - they're truly among the world's most beautiful. We'll be certain to share your praises for our Eggs Benedict and our Mai Tai Bar with our culinary and restaurant teams. We truly appreciate your kind comments and we hope to have the wonderful opportunity to welcome you back to the "Pink Palace of the Pacific."
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews