We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical Haven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We were lucky enough to stay nine nights in the Garden View suite. Our children (ages 9 and 6) were accommodated with a roll-in bed and converted chaise lounge - they were happy as they had the TV in their 'bedroom'. The gardens were beautiful and we delighted in seeing the hanging lanterns in the trees in the evening. We really enjoyed viewing the historical photos throughout the hotel.

I will admit the Garden View suite is more of a "roof view" (as reviewed by Dan P) but we really didn't spend enough waking hours to care. The suite is a little tired but this not a modern, minimalist, trendy hotel so it more or less adds to the charm. The carpets are looking a little tired but the room was clean and tidy. The kids were thrilled to have cable TV and we were satisfied with the amenities. For those of us with laptops, the use of the disabled powerpoint on the side of the desk would have been most useful.

Mostly, the staff at the hotel were fantastic - helpful, responsive and polite. My husband arrived the day before myself and the children, however we were still treated with a traditional lei and hearty welcome to the hotel. Coupons for Mai Tai drinks were definitely appreciated though service, even at not-so-busy times in the Mai Tai Bar, took a little effort to find. On many occasions we were overlooked to have orders taken. Azure for breakfast was super delicious. My favourite was the French toast with berry coulis but it's a tough call - eggs Benedict just as scrumptious. Our kids really enjoyed their breakfast choices. If you have young children, ask the staff for a plastic takeaway cup for their drinks though. Skim (low fat) milk is available for coffee/tea, just ask the staff.

I would suggest the bracelet making and koi fish feeding activities for the younger guests. Good fun and not too taxing. We enjoyed the use of the Sheraton pool as well (grab a chair early - it gets busy!) Would I do the luau again? Maybe. Although it was very informative, fun with nice food, it was quite expensive.

Shops and restaurants a-plenty just a stroll away and there's no lack of ABC Stores, they are fantastic and stock everything you need and didn't know that you needed. The Hawaiian Shopping Center is on the tourist strip and Peet's (just outside the Sheraton) will get you your better coffee hit, as will the Starbuck's nearby.

For a chilled-out day just head to the beach, right at the doorstep. Again, gets quite busy but it's not too 'surfy' nor deep for the kids so grown-ups can relax a little more. Nothing like stepping off the beach at sunset straight into the Mai Tai bar.

We have great memories and photos of the hotel and Hawaii in general. A fun day out in a hire car is also recommended. Ask the Concierge to organise and you will be dropped to the rental office. Sealife Park was good fun, though entry is expensive. Plenty of scenic lookouts for great photo opportunities. Cheeseburger Beachwalk thoroughly recommended - my kids have never enjoyed a burger so much, nor has their mum! Polynesian Cultural Center also recommended.

Hawaiian Airlines disappointed our entry/exit to Hawaii though. In-flight tablets, though promised when booking, were nought! Kids' meal orders must be confirmed - ours missed out on the way to Hawaii and I noticed several children without kids' meals when leaving Hawaii as well.

Room Tip: Stay in the historic building to gain more essence of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3068Snow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear 3068Snow,
Thank you for taking the time to provide a very thorough review of your stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian. We're delighted to learn that you and your family enjoyed your time here with us and we thank you for sharing your kind comments and honest feedback regarding your experience. We apologize for the relaxed service you experienced at Surf Lanai for breakfast and we thank you for sharing this with us. We know you have many choices when selecting a resort in Waikiki and we thank you for choosing The Royal. We hope to have the wonderful opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,920)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,856 - 1,862 of 3,923 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

This was the first hotel we stayed at on our Christmas Hawaii trip.We had a regular ocean view studio room(two adults,one child 9 years).The room fit us nicely and was clean but a little outdated with the decor.The balcony was a nice size but the railing was a little wobbly so I didn't let my son go out on it.The beach was unbelievable!!It was perfect for everyone,no rocks,small enough waves to learn how to surf,and the bar was close to the beach chairs.The beach chairs you have to purchase for $50 dollars a day and are behind a rope but if you want you could bring your own towels and find a spot for free.Remember there's no drinking or smoking on the beach and on the balconies in Hawaii,it's the law,bummer,but it keeps the beaches nice.The food was great and so was room service.In the bathroom they also had one of those toilets that sprays and dries you clean... Lol,very cool!!The pool is very small but they give you bracelets for free to use the Sheraton pool which has 3slides,adult pool,and you could eat there and charge it to your room.I would could back here because we loved Waikiki beach and the shops are walking distance.It was great here !! The guys that teach surfing lesson were super nice and taught my son how to surf...thanks!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank TravelWithChrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Aloha TravelWithChrissy,
We're delighted to learn that you and your family enjoyed a wonderful vacation with us here at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We're very fortunate to sit on what we consider to be the most beautiful location on Oahu's south shore and we're thrilled that you and your family took full advantage of our beachfront location - and what better place to learn how to surf than Waikiki! We hope to have the wonderful opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I didn't have the opporunity to stay at this hotel but I will definitely stay here in the future, the hotel has a old world spanish/art deco type feel and gorgeous just to walk through!! And as a double plus bonus if you go downstairs there is a long hallway full of historical artifacts from the hotel!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank KerisaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear KerisaM,
Thank you so very much for taking a moment to share your comments about our resort. It's always wonderful to hear from visitors who truly appreciate our history and beautiful architecture/design. We hope to have the wonderful opportunity to welcome you to The Royal for future vacations.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed at The Royal Hawaiian for the first time during Pro Bowl Week in Honolulu. The hotel is the second oldest in Waikiki yet is still exhibits an understated elegance. The property is older but in a classic way. The grounds are still wonderfully maintained and the staff are extremely patient and hospitable. The standard rooms are large enough, particularly those with a "Garden View". Our room had a quaint balcony with seating for 2 overlooking the Garden Entry way.
Keep in mind that the hotel has a "historical" designation so significant remodeling is not allowed. That being said, the walls are a little thin and sometimes noise from the hallway can be heard. In spite of that issue, guests are usually very respectful when walking thru the hallways and we had very little noise issues even during a very busy time of the year, the Pro Bowl.

Room Tip: keep in mind that if you book with an agency, you get great comps, like free drinks, free deck chair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ma7514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear ma7514,
Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay with us. You certainly visited during an exciting time, as the Pro Bowl festivities in Waikiki are always fun to experience. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our resort's understated elegance and classic charm; as stewards of this historical resort and iconic place in Waikiki, we always enjoy hearing from guests who appreciate our place in history. We're thrilled to have had the opportunity to welcome you to The Royal Hawaiian for the first time, and we hope this the first of many more stays with us.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Staying here right now in the tower, also stayed a week ago. Beautiful location, rooms are quite nice but the accessories could use a revamp. Most of the staff are outstanding, the odd one or two exceptionally rude. The air con in both the rooms I have had over my two stays, is so noisy you can't have them on at night, they would keep you awake. Hate to be here in the heat of summer! And to add to that, both rooms have had paper thin walls. I can literally here every word my neighbour is saying. I know their names, everything they are talking about and when she offered to make coffee at 7am this morning, I was going to say yes I would love one!! There is no privacy and I don't want to be awake because my neighbours are! I find this quite annoying. Don't come if you have secrets or your neighbours will know everything!!!! Location right on the beach and near the shops is fantastic.

Room Tip: No interconnecting doors to help with neighbour noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fizam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear fizam,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your review of our resort. We apologize for the inconvenience experienced due to noise levels of surrounding rooms. We've sent you a private message requesting for your reservation information; if you're still staying with us, we'd be happy to have our Guest Service Manager assist with a room move. We appreciate your feedback and most certainly would like to make every effort to ensure your stay with us is as pleasant as can be.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in a garden view suite, in the historic RH, and I appreciated the hotel more and more each day. The room had a great amount of space, with a large bathroom, but I think they need a designer to come in and make the space really shine. The hotel is so quiet, yet you are a 100+ feet away from a shopping mall. There is a great breakfast area next to the beach, Azure Restaurant ( at night for great fish), and the always hopping Mai Tai Bar (closes by midnight). Everyone working is very friendly. The pool is small, but they do have lounge chairs on the beach, in a roped off area which looked like a good idea ( fee involved). Remember there is a $36 a day resort tax, so if you don't like it don't stay. There is a RH tower connected, a Sheraton next door, and a Westin 5 minutes away. All the properties have a sharing agreement, so ask about that. There are also lots of beach activities, so that might interest some people.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Mike741776 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear unclemike1776,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your review of The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We're delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay here with us and we appreciate your kind comments and honest feedback regarding your experience. We hope to have the wonderful opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My wife and I spent a few days at The Royal Hawaiian on a recent Hawaiian vacation. I’ve always had a soft spot for what many affectionately call “The Pink Palace”. On arrival we received a very warm welcome, with the traditional lei and a glass of their signature Pink Lemonade. We were seated at a desk for our check-in formalities, which made for a comfortable start.
The hotel consists of the original building and a newer tower. The majority of rooms in the original building do not have balconies. We always choose to stay in the more modern tower in which, I believe, the rooms are larger and all possess spacious balconies overlooking Waikiki Beach. Our room also had outstanding views to Diamond Head. The additional cost for rooms with a premium view is well worth it. Sitting on the balcony watching the sun go down each evening is a real delight. For some reason the sunsets in Hawaii are never to be forgotten.
The rooms and bathrooms, although comfortable and spacious, could perhaps do with a slight modernization. The in room coffee making machine was appreciated, it made a great cup of coffee.
Breakfast in the main restaurant, situated literally on the beach, was a most pleasant experience. Their Eggs Benedict must be tried, perhaps one of the best I have ever tasted.
The spacious gardens and verandahs located around the property makes for a very relaxing ambience, especially sitting on their rocking chairs. There were several weddings on the lawns which we enjoyed watching during our stay.
Their famous Mai Tai Bar in the garden beside the beach is a not to be missed attraction, especially at sunset where guests and locals alike gather to listen to the live Hawaiian band that plays till late. Light snacks were also available. We made several new friends at the Mai Tai Bar.
There are several excellent shops in an arcade within the property and the piece de resistance is “Newts” Hawaiian shirt and Panama hat shop located by the garden. More great shops, galleries and restaurants can be found in the Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center that stretches along Kalakaua Avenue which is the main tourist and shopping street in Waikiki.
One should consider a stay at this iconic property an experience that you will always remember.
John Pond

Room Tip: Ask for room with view to Diamond Head, the extra cost is well worth it. We prefer the rooms in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnpond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear johnpond,
We're overjoyed to see that you and your wife enjoyed a lovely vacation here with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. Thank you for sharing your detailed and colorful recount of your stay, as it's always delightful for us to hear about the many details that make our guests' stays memorable. We could not agree more with you about the breathtaking Hawaiian sunsets - they're truly among the world's most beautiful. We'll be certain to share your praises for our Eggs Benedict and our Mai Tai Bar with our culinary and restaurant teams. We truly appreciate your kind comments and we hope to have the wonderful opportunity to welcome you back to the "Pink Palace of the Pacific."
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,594 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,182 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $385 - $798 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the iconic Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, ushered in a new era of luxurious resort travel to Hawaii. Situated in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers cultural activities, gold standard signature concierge service, valet parking, doctors-on-call, florist, currency exchange service, Japanese concierge, laundry and dry cleaning, dining service and world-class restaurants and bars, wireless internet access in rooms and all public areas, multi-lingual staff, 24-hour room service, business center, and beach and pool services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing