We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,291)
Filter reviews
4,291 results
Traveler rating
2,456
1,009
457
206
163
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,456
1,009
457
206
163
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the mai tai bar the pink palace mailani tower banana bread surf lanai azure restaurant pink lady historic section sheraton pool waikiki beach garden view beach boys historic rooms original building iconic hotel beach chairs beach staff
Filter
Updating list...
2,149 - 2,154 of 4,291 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My wife and I spent a few days at The Royal Hawaiian on a recent Hawaiian vacation. I’ve always had a soft spot for what many affectionately call “The Pink Palace”. On arrival we received a very warm welcome, with the traditional lei and a glass of their signature Pink Lemonade. We were seated at a desk for our check-in formalities, which made for a comfortable start.
The hotel consists of the original building and a newer tower. The majority of rooms in the original building do not have balconies. We always choose to stay in the more modern tower in which, I believe, the rooms are larger and all possess spacious balconies overlooking Waikiki Beach. Our room also had outstanding views to Diamond Head. The additional cost for rooms with a premium view is well worth it. Sitting on the balcony watching the sun go down each evening is a real delight. For some reason the sunsets in Hawaii are never to be forgotten.
The rooms and bathrooms, although comfortable and spacious, could perhaps do with a slight modernization. The in room coffee making machine was appreciated, it made a great cup of coffee.
Breakfast in the main restaurant, situated literally on the beach, was a most pleasant experience. Their Eggs Benedict must be tried, perhaps one of the best I have ever tasted.
The spacious gardens and verandahs located around the property makes for a very relaxing ambience, especially sitting on their rocking chairs. There were several weddings on the lawns which we enjoyed watching during our stay.
Their famous Mai Tai Bar in the garden beside the beach is a not to be missed attraction, especially at sunset where guests and locals alike gather to listen to the live Hawaiian band that plays till late. Light snacks were also available. We made several new friends at the Mai Tai Bar.
There are several excellent shops in an arcade within the property and the piece de resistance is “Newts” Hawaiian shirt and Panama hat shop located by the garden. More great shops, galleries and restaurants can be found in the Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center that stretches along Kalakaua Avenue which is the main tourist and shopping street in Waikiki.
One should consider a stay at this iconic property an experience that you will always remember.
John Pond

Room Tip: Ask for room with view to Diamond Head, the extra cost is well worth it. We prefer the rooms in the newer Tower Building.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnpond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear johnpond,
We're overjoyed to see that you and your wife enjoyed a lovely vacation here with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. Thank you for sharing your detailed and colorful recount of your stay, as it's always delightful for us to hear about the many details that make our guests' stays memorable. We could not agree more with you about the breathtaking Hawaiian sunsets - they're truly among the world's most beautiful. We'll be certain to share your praises for our Eggs Benedict and our Mai Tai Bar with our culinary and restaurant teams. We truly appreciate your kind comments and we hope to have the wonderful opportunity to welcome you back to the "Pink Palace of the Pacific."
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Royal Hawaiian on Waikiki beach on January 10 to 12. We we booked in a garden view room and when we asked to upgrade they requested $100 per night for upgrade. The garden view was more like a roof view. The room was a bit outdated and a little worn and torn.
We were given several coupons for free cocktails at the cafe (but we don't drink) and there was a private party that booked the terrace while we were there. The beach location is fantastic.The lobby and the grounds are beautiful. The staff is very polite and professional. They offered a free traditional Hawaiian ceremony (that we missed unfortunately). Traffic in the Waikiki area is horrible. Everything is very expensive.

Room Tip: Garden view not that great.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Dan P,
We regret to learn that aspects of your stay with us were anything less than exceptional. Our welcome elixir coupon is valid for a special cocktail or non-alcoholic beverage and we apologize that our ambassadors did not properly communicate this to you. This feedback is valuable to us as it allow us to evaluate our service to deliver and make improvements to ensure our guests experience the excellent service they expect and deserve. Our Makahiki Ceremony did indeed take place during your stay, and we're sorry to learn that you were unable to view this cultural event. We do truly appreciate your honest feedback and we hope to have the wonderful opportunity to welcome you back again soon to The Royal Hawaiian.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We spent 2 days here on our way back from Australia so we could get some relaxation after a hectic trip. We made the right choice! Checking in was great! Sat down, got Leis, drinks and personalized service. Got upgraded to a Junior Suite with living room, bedroom and large bathroom. I had reserved chaise lounges on the beach so we went to the beach and were escorted to relaxation under large umbrellas facing the ocean. Spent 2 days on the beach and in the water.

We did take a break to go to the Mai Tai bar for the best Mai Tai's ever. Ate lunch on the patio, nice, breakfast on the terrace, very good, and dinner at Azure. Fantastic, delicious !

Service everywhere was great! Smiles and more smiles!

Can't wait to go back!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Traveler2121212121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Traveler2121212121,
It's always joy to hear from our delighted guests. Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments with us. We too look forward to your next visit to the "Pink Palace of the Pacific."
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Spent the long MLK weekend at The Royal, and things could not have been better. The entire property is so relaxing, with wonderful staff that is not too intrusive but nearby and helpful at all times. I have been to Honolulu so many times, but this was, by far, our best stay. Thank you Royal Hawaiian!

Room Tip: I love the traditional rooms...so big and quiet!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank college_mom093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear college_mom093,
We're absolutely delighted to learn that you enjoyed a wonderful MLK holiday with us at The Royal Hawaiian. Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments about our ambassadors as well! We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in early jan and had a great stay overall.
Couple of things to improve:
The checkin experience wasn't smooth. Couldn't find our SPG number in the system and weren't going to offer us the enhancements which go with that. Sorted out eventually, but not what you want to be doing after a 5hr flight late at night with two kids under 2 waiting for their room.
Coffee at breakfast - you guys need a Barista. We ended up going to Gorilla in the cafe and Island Vintage coffee instead of paying 6.00 for coffee at the breakfast room.
Our room was ok (junior suite) but looked out the back of the hotel onto a grey roof (I'd suggest planting some greenery in there to make it a nicer place to look at).

Overall we loved our stay and none of the above should stop you from staying at the RH, I'm just hoping the manager will read this and improve some things for our next stay.

Stayed: January 2014
3  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear DABuster,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your comments and recommendations regarding your recent stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We apologize for the issues you experienced at check-in, as we know how challenging it is to travel with small children, especially during the odd hours. We also apologize that our am coffee did not meet your expectations and we thank you for your honest feedback. Your suggestions are greatly appreciated and have been shared with our management team. We hope to have the wonderful opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews