We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,267)
Filter reviews
4,267 results
Traveler rating
2,447
1,004
453
205
158
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,447
1,004
453
205
158
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe mai tai barthe pink palacemailani towerbanana breadsurf lanaiazure restaurantpink ladyhistoric sectionsheraton poolwaikiki beachgarden viewbeach boyshistoric roomsoriginal buildingiconic hotelbeach chairsbeach staff
Filter
Updating list...
2,137 - 2,142 of 4,267 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in early jan and had a great stay overall.
Couple of things to improve:
The checkin experience wasn't smooth. Couldn't find our SPG number in the system and weren't going to offer us the enhancements which go with that. Sorted out eventually, but not what you want to be doing after a 5hr flight late at night with two kids under 2 waiting for their room.
Coffee at breakfast - you guys need a Barista. We ended up going to Gorilla in the cafe and Island Vintage coffee instead of paying 6.00 for coffee at the breakfast room.
Our room was ok (junior suite) but looked out the back of the hotel onto a grey roof (I'd suggest planting some greenery in there to make it a nicer place to look at).

Overall we loved our stay and none of the above should stop you from staying at the RH, I'm just hoping the manager will read this and improve some things for our next stay.

Stayed: January 2014
3  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear DABuster,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your comments and recommendations regarding your recent stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We apologize for the issues you experienced at check-in, as we know how challenging it is to travel with small children, especially during the odd hours. We also apologize that our am coffee did not meet your expectations and we thank you for your honest feedback. Your suggestions are greatly appreciated and have been shared with our management team. We hope to have the wonderful opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Brief: the location is great, the hotel very beautiful but not all employees are five star material. We arrived by car and had to get out on our own where we should go. Then one from the bell desk came and welcomed us clearly annoyed and did not inform us that valet parking is included in the resort fee. Also, he did not even let me keep the car outside until after check-in. The concierge desk also was rather unhelpful during our stay as often they preferred to chat with colleagues, were chatting on the phone and/or the concierge desk was empty! Not close to five star material ( to be fair, the front desk staff was great!).

Regarding room: we stayed in a very nice old style Junior Suite. However, it was located mall side and on Friday night there was music keeping us awake until 2am. When pointing this out at check-out, we just received the answer that they, apparently, are aware of it and it gets loud.

To sum up: it was a nice place to stay but they should make sure that the staff also can be considered to be five star material. For us it was a rather medium end of a great vacation - comparing this place to others we stayed in before (Four Seasons, Peninsulas, St. Regis etc.), it just was a good hotel but nothing more.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank MAB2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear MAB2910,
We regret to learn that your stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian was anything less than exceptional and we appreciate all of your honest an fair feedback regarding your experience. Please accept our apologies regarding your arrival experience. You're absolutely correct in that our bell men should have been present to greet you and open your vehicle door immediately upon arrival; thank you for sharing this feedback. Additionally, your comments regarding your observations of our concierge are greatly valuable, as we take great pride in delivering excellent concierge service, and to hear that you did not experience this is quite disappointing for us. We also apologize for the unpleasant ambiance experienced due to the entertainment at the Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center and we regret to learn that our team did not offer a room move, as is typically provided in an effort to resolve such issues. Again, we really truly appreciate your honest feedback regarding your experience. We hope you will considering offering us another opportunity to extend our hospitality to you.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The Royal Hawaiian is a quiet, relaxing and very peaceful environment. The staff is amazingly helpful and friendly. This Hotel is an oasis in the midst of Waikiki. Highly recommend and will surely return. Thanks RH for a most wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Our side room (5th floor) overlooked the roof. Staying here 9 days wish we would have had a better view. Room very comfortable, though.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Shannon C,
We're delighted to learn that you enjoyed a wonderfully relaxing vacation with us here at The Royal Hawaiian. We can't thank you enough for your words of praise for our ambassadors. We look forward to welcoming you back again!
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Just returned from another great stay at the Royal Hawaiian. My wife and I visit Hawaii often and we have always stayed at the Royal Hawaiian when on Oahu. The service was excellent as usual, in particular Bryan at the Mai Tai bar (great Aloha spirit!). The food is good, loved the breakfast buffet. The understated beauty and elegance of the hotel is something to be appreciated. Also the convienence of the nearby ABC store makes traveling easier. We will be visiting Hawaii again later this year and look forward to staying on Waikiki at the Royal Hawaiian.

Room Tip: We have always stayed in the Ocean Tower for the view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Aloha vff2900,
We're delighted as ever to learn that you enjoyed another wonderful stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. Thank you for sharing your kind comments regarding Bryan at the Mai Tai Bar; we'll be sure to pass this along to him. It's always such a joy to hear from our guests, especially when the message is about one our spectacular ambassadors. We look forward to welcoming you back to the "Pink Palace of the Pacific."
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The hotel is beautiful. The location is perfect for walking and for easy access in and out of the city. The restaurant and bar were excellent. Food was wonderful and servers were very attentive.The staff were the best. Definitely want to return for another visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Warren A,
We're thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. Thank you for your kind words regarding our location, dining options and friendly ambassadors. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews