We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,264)
Filter reviews
4,264 results
Traveler rating
2,444
1,004
453
205
158
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,444
1,004
453
205
158
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe mai tai barthe pink palacemailani towerbanana breadsurf lanaiazure restaurantpink ladyhistoric sectionsheraton poolwaikiki beachgarden viewbeach boyshistoric roomsoriginal buildingiconic hotelbeach staffbeach chairs
Filter
Updating list...
2,137 - 2,142 of 4,264 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Just returned from another great stay at the Royal Hawaiian. My wife and I visit Hawaii often and we have always stayed at the Royal Hawaiian when on Oahu. The service was excellent as usual, in particular Bryan at the Mai Tai bar (great Aloha spirit!). The food is good, loved the breakfast buffet. The understated beauty and elegance of the hotel is something to be appreciated. Also the convienence of the nearby ABC store makes traveling easier. We will be visiting Hawaii again later this year and look forward to staying on Waikiki at the Royal Hawaiian.

Room Tip: We have always stayed in the Ocean Tower for the view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Aloha vff2900,
We're delighted as ever to learn that you enjoyed another wonderful stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. Thank you for sharing your kind comments regarding Bryan at the Mai Tai Bar; we'll be sure to pass this along to him. It's always such a joy to hear from our guests, especially when the message is about one our spectacular ambassadors. We look forward to welcoming you back to the "Pink Palace of the Pacific."
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The hotel is beautiful. The location is perfect for walking and for easy access in and out of the city. The restaurant and bar were excellent. Food was wonderful and servers were very attentive.The staff were the best. Definitely want to return for another visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Warren A,
We're thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. Thank you for your kind words regarding our location, dining options and friendly ambassadors. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The hotel has great stature. A grand old Hawaiian hotel. Great architecture and location. BUT, it has not been properly maintained. It should not be in Starwood's Luxury Collection...it is a low end Starwood property.

The rooms are dated, musty, worn. The towels are frayed, even the beach towels. They have such a small pool that only a few guests can enjoy it, and with trying to eke out every dollar of revenue, they take up 1/3 of the space with cabanas for rent.... come on. The best part about the place, from a service aspect, is the MaiTai bar....go there for great drinks, nice bartenders....and many vacation stories from the local color that you are sure to see there.

Room Tip: Stay at the Sheraton next door. Better amenities. better rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kewark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear kewark,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review of The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We regret to learn that our resort did not meet your expectations and we apologize for our shortcomings. Please know that your comments were shared with our executive management team, as we value such feedback because it allows us to evaluate and enhance our products and services to best serve our guests. Thank you again for sharing your honest feedback.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

only had cocktails around the pool bar - but those bar ladies know their stuff ! - spent a lovely sunset learning techniques & sharing tips ! - have a wander through the grounds, beautiful old gardens and history

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank flamelily_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear flamelily_12,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your enthusiastic comments regarding your experience at our Mai Tai Bar. We're delighted that even in short evening, our ambassadors left a lasting memory with you. We hope to see again soon.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My husband decided to surprise me for Christmas with a trip to Hawaii. We visit Hawaii often so he booked the Royal Hawaiian remembering that on the last visit I mentioned wanting to stay here. I guess we were lucky to get a room here for 2 nights then we moved to the Sheraton. The hotel is beautiful as was our room, it was small & there was no lanai but we did have a great view. The staff in every aspect of the hotel are wonderful, everyone has a smile on their face & are helpful. The shower was an issue for me since it was so small the water ran out all over the floor so we had to use most of our towels to keep the floor dry. The main areas of the hotels are wonderful, spacious & comfortable. The lobby bathrooms could have been cleaned a little more often. The grounds here are gorgeous & the hotel is in a great location. The pool is small & you need to get down early to reserve a chair. Beach chairs & umbrellas come at a cost & have to be reserved so there may not be anything available the first day of your vacation. The "Beach Boys" were very accommodating. It has taken me this long to write a review because of my disappointment in the hotel & I didn't want to write anything negative.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Tina F,
Thank you for taking the time to share your honest review of The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We truly regret to learn that you time with us was anything less than exceptional. We apologize for the inconvenience caused due to the issues with the shower and we appreciate your feedback on this as well as the lobby restrooms. Our team is trained to deliver the excellent service and products that you expect and deserve, and we truly apologize for our shortcomings during your stay. Thank you again for your honest feedback.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews