We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,266)
Filter reviews
4,266 results
Traveler rating
2,446
1,004
453
205
158
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,446
1,004
453
205
158
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe mai tai barthe pink palacemailani towerbanana breadsurf lanaiazure restaurantpink ladyhistoric sectionsheraton poolwaikiki beachgarden viewbeach boyshistoric roomsoriginal buildingiconic hotelbeach chairsbeach staff
Filter
Updating list...
2,142 - 2,147 of 4,266 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2014

only had cocktails around the pool bar - but those bar ladies know their stuff ! - spent a lovely sunset learning techniques & sharing tips ! - have a wander through the grounds, beautiful old gardens and history

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank flamelily_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear flamelily_12,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your enthusiastic comments regarding your experience at our Mai Tai Bar. We're delighted that even in short evening, our ambassadors left a lasting memory with you. We hope to see again soon.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My husband decided to surprise me for Christmas with a trip to Hawaii. We visit Hawaii often so he booked the Royal Hawaiian remembering that on the last visit I mentioned wanting to stay here. I guess we were lucky to get a room here for 2 nights then we moved to the Sheraton. The hotel is beautiful as was our room, it was small & there was no lanai but we did have a great view. The staff in every aspect of the hotel are wonderful, everyone has a smile on their face & are helpful. The shower was an issue for me since it was so small the water ran out all over the floor so we had to use most of our towels to keep the floor dry. The main areas of the hotels are wonderful, spacious & comfortable. The lobby bathrooms could have been cleaned a little more often. The grounds here are gorgeous & the hotel is in a great location. The pool is small & you need to get down early to reserve a chair. Beach chairs & umbrellas come at a cost & have to be reserved so there may not be anything available the first day of your vacation. The "Beach Boys" were very accommodating. It has taken me this long to write a review because of my disappointment in the hotel & I didn't want to write anything negative.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Tina F,
Thank you for taking the time to share your honest review of The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We truly regret to learn that you time with us was anything less than exceptional. We apologize for the inconvenience caused due to the issues with the shower and we appreciate your feedback on this as well as the lobby restrooms. Our team is trained to deliver the excellent service and products that you expect and deserve, and we truly apologize for our shortcomings during your stay. Thank you again for your honest feedback.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

OK, giving this place 1 star is a bit draconian, but, I give it based on the fact that they claim to not only be a 5 star hotel, but also one of the best 100 hotels in the world. I thus expect the little things to be superb.

Its the little things like the below, that you accept in a 4 star hotel, but not a place claiming to be one of the top 100 hotels in the world.

1) waiting 5 minutes for the valets to stop chit chatting so I could give them my car.
2) My welcome "lay" half heartedly given to me
3) Waiting 10 minute for the concierge, while the head concierge was chit chatting with an old friend
4) The elevator to the "tower" can only be described as "Skanky". (It was dark and dirty). It also failed to open on arriving at the ground floor.
5) Bring nickel and dimed to death, even after paying a $35 resort fee.
6) Trash from the previous guest being under the bed
7) The drain pipe falling out of the sink
8) the ater pressure in the shower was weak.
9) The sand shower, the location of the faucets were highly awkward. Obvious that somebody had put it in without any thought or checkin on the use.
10) A swimming pool not big enough to swim in
11) Complimentary tea that was warm.. This is a real pet piece, a 5 star hotel should really know that tea drinkers need their water boiling, not luke warm.
12) The best. Slippers for the room, but only up to size 8. Guess they recon men don't wear slippers.

So there you have it. Wont be rushing back to this place, particularly at the prices they charged for a so called ocean view that was obstructed.

Room Tip: If in the tower, don't be on floor 5, 8. 11 or 14. They all seem to have tiny balcony's
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear David B,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thorough and honest review of The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We regret to learn that your stay with us did not meet your expectations, however we truly appreciate your honest feedback regarding your experience. Please know that your comments have been shared with our management team to ensure proper follow-up and care is taken to ensure your concerns are addressed and improved upon. We've sent you a private message requesting for the particular room number for the room in which you stayed, as numbers 6-8 appear to be referring to the room. Again, we truly value this honest feedback as well as the time you took to share your comments.
Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Love this beach and all it is about. Honolulu is liking being in the Gold coast of Chicago with a great beach though for swimming and surfing. This hotel is right on the beach. The hotel's service is fantastic and the shopping that is right out your door well like I said if you like the Gold Coast of Chicago this is it.....

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Tina W,
We're thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your time with us at The Royal Hawaiian and the warm Hawaiian waters fronting our resort. Thank you for our enthusiastic comments regarding our service and location; we truly appreciate this. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Couldn't justify the money we spent for our room while the location was good the hotel itself wasn't all that amazing nor was our room it was very average with little 'wow factor'. Prime position though!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
1  Thank Jade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Jade S,
We truly regret to learn that you recent stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort did not meet your expectations. We apologize that we did not deliver the outstanding service and products you expect and deserve. We've sent you a private message should you feel inclined to share more details and suggestions on how we can elevate our services to ensure you receive the 'wow factor' that you most certainly deserve from The Royal.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews