We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki
Nearby Hotels
$337
$326
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$329
$300
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$222
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$239
$219
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$279
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$450
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (4,125)
Filter reviews
4,125 results
Traveler rating
2,362
981
443
196
143
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,362
981
443
196
143
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe mai tai barthe pink palacemailani towerbanana breadsurf lanaiazure restaurantpink ladyhistoric sectionsheraton poolwaikiki beachbeach boysgarden vieworiginal buildingbeach chairsiconic hotelbeach stafftower rooms
Filter
Updating list...
2,154 - 2,159 of 4,125 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Always wanted to stay at the pink palace, although I did expect politeness at check-in which was no where to be found. I understand there was 11 of us, 4 adults and 7 kids, and they don't accommodate for more than 5 in a family and lucky we had an older teenager but to have the kids in another room in another wing of the hotel and have the receptionist tell us to be patient...well. And even at breakfast when my husband asked if we could order while the waiter was pouring water into the glass, and for him to respond 'just wait', and knowing we were getting in at 7am and no room, these hotels need to get their act together, no customer service. Wonderful spot, pool very small. Gardens well manicured. Celeb spotted Bill Cosby.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firstclass_VClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Firstclass_VClan,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We truly regret to learn that your arrival and dining experiences were anything less than exceptional. We understand that it is exhausting to travel, let alone travel with 7 children, and we apologize that our front desk ambassadors did not display the warm sense of aloha spirit that you deserved. Typically to have rooms guaranteed prior to our standard 3pm check-in we require a room reservation for the prior evening; if prior evening reservations were not made, we always make our best effort to place early arrival guests in their rooms prior to 3pm, but unfortunately our availability does not always allow early check-in to occur. We apologize that we were unable to do this for your family's early arrival. Moreover, we apologize that your request was not met with the appropriate polite manner in which our ambassadors are trained to use. We apologize that our pool did not meet your expectations and we hope your children were able to enjoy the large pool and water slide that we share with our sister property Sheraton Waikiki; this pool is certainly a favorite for children and teens. Thank you very much for your honest feedback regarding your stay with us. We hope you will considering offering us another opportunity to extend our hospitality to you and your family.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My one of two favorite hotel in Honolulu.I have stayed there 5 times.People who work there have pride that they work there.So Classy.So special.They call this hotel "Pink Palace" and this is real palace.They always upgrade me to a nice suite as SPG platinum.Breakfast is expensive but very good.I have not tried tower section but next time I wanna try.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Jimmy S,
We're absolutely delighted that you enjoyed a one-of-a-kind experience with us here at The Royal Hawaiian. Thank you for your kind words regarding our ambassadors, as it's always a joy for us to share these types of praises with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the "Pink Palace of the Pacific" for many years to come.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I had never been to Honolulu before but my husband and I decided to stop there for a few days after a week on Maui. I am so happy that we stayed at the Royal Hawaiian--what a wonderful experience. The hotel seems like an oasis compared to the rest of bustling Waikiki Beach. I am not sure if we will choose to travel back to Honolulu again because it is so busy but if we find ourselves there again, we will definitely stay at the Royal Hawaiian again.

We stayed in a Royal Ocean room which is in the historic wing. However, before we decided on that particular room, we viewed an ocean view room in the tower. We much preferred the Royal Ocean room--it was warmly decorated with dark wood and hints of coral. The tower rooms seemed a little stale and modern for our tastes. Plus, we still had a great view of the ocean. The property is gorgeous and is very historic--American presidents, diplomats, and celebrities have been staying at the hotel since the 1920's. The staff is generally friendly.

My biggest complaint would be that the hotel charges $40 per beach chair yet does not have great food/drink service. We had to ask numerous times for a waiter and when one didn't stop by for 15-20 minutes we finally trekked to the bar.

We also ate at Azure and the meal was very memorable--amazing service.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizg89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear lizg89,
We're delighted to learn that you had an exceptional vacation with us here at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We're also thrilled to learn that the setting and ambiance of our hotel suited your liking, having come from the neighbor island where things are a little more laid back. We apologize that our beach chaise program did not meet your needs and we also apologize that our beach service was inconsistent. We've recently initiated a flag system to assist our servers with efficiency and we've shared your feedback with our managers to ensure the system is properly evaluated and executed. Again, we're delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to the "Pink Palace of the Pacific."
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We booked a last minute 5 day weekend over Valentine's Day/President's Day weekend. We usually stay at The Kahala but it was sold out and The Halekulani does not have a beach. The Royal Hawaiian is the ONLY hotel to stay at on Waikiki Beach if you want any semblance of an upscale BEACH experience.

We booked a 2 story Ocean View Spa Suite for us and a Garden/Grove Historic room for our 2 teenage sons. At check-in as a Starwood member, we were offered an upgrade to a Tower Ocean room for our sons at no extra charge so that they would be in the same wing and closer to us. We almost said no as we had stayed at the hotel many years ago(1990's) before the renovations, and remember the tower rooms to be like a cheap motel 6. We were very pleasantly surprised. The renovated King tower room was very clean with a modern bathroom with glass tiles, had nice Hawaiian decor and large balcony with a nice ocean front view. There was plenty of room for the roll away bed. I would not call it a luxury room in comparison to The Kahala or Halekulani, but it met our needs for a short trip.

Our 2 story spa suite was located on the first floor down a rather dreary hallway from the elevators. The main floor of the suite had a half bath, closet, living room with a large sofa and chairs, small refrigerator (no mini bar??) and a large tv. Upstairs was a large bedroom with king bed with nice linens, 2nd tv, closet, an open bathroom with a very large rain shower (no steam shower..the website is incorrect) and separate toilet. There were switches so you could operate the automatic 2 story drapes on the windows which were needed for privacy due to the location of these suites.. The upstairs was definitely more luxurious than the downstairs which definitely showed signs of wear. If you looked out the upstairs windows thru the greenery past the pool and beach umbrella's, you could see a small sliver of the ocean. The patio was large with a table and 2 chairs and a rattan daybed. The view was of all the lounges and umbrellas at their pool area which were located directly outside of the spa suites. The patio was nice for watching sports on tv while still enjoying the sun and for drinks in the late afternoon while listening to the live Hawaiian music being played in the bar/pool area of The Outrigger Hotel which was next door about 50 feet to our left. (This July we stayed in another Starwood property, The Le Meredien RA Beach hotel on the beach in El Vendrell Spain in a very similar 2 story suite at more than 2 times the price of The Royal Hawaiian, and I must say the quality of the suite at The Royal Hawaiian was far superior!)

Unless you were willing to get up at the crack of dawn, forget about finding a group of 2 or 4 lounges at the small pool. The "kids" pool on The Sheraton Waikiki side of the property was even more busy. Would only go there if i had very small children. We opted to pay to reserve 4 lounges daily on their "private, roped off" section of Waikiki Beach directly in front of the hotel bar and restaurant which are operated by a separate beach activities company. You can do this online in advance via the hotel's website and pick your location. It is $40+ tax for 2 lounges and 1 umbrella, but they are yours all day so you can come and go as you please. We thought it was money well spent for the convenience although we heard many other people complaining about this!! Just don't leave anything valuable there as the huge crowd on the beach starts 2 feet in front of the lounges. We preferred the lounges in the first row (A section mid 30's) about 3/4 of the way down towards The Sheraton Waikiki next-door as they had the best view of the ocean and surroundings.The lounges immediately adjacent to the pool area on the beach had another set of rental lounges with tan umbrellas in front of them that were available to anyone and they blocked most of the water view. Unfortunately the hotel service at the beach lounges was only good 1 out of the 5 days we were there. The other days no one approached us for food or drinks. As with all beaches in Hawaii, be aware that alcohol is not allowed on the beach. When we were hungry or thirsty, we either walked about 20 yards to The Mai Tai Bar or went back to our suite and enjoyed drinks on our patio from alcohol/soda's that was purchased at ABC store in Royal Hawaiian shopping center in front of our hotel. I would have preferred a stocked mimi bar or a menu inside of the refrigerator to order sodas and drinks from the hotel that could be stocked in our bar. I understand that many people complain about prices in Hawaii, but this was a suite in a luxury collection hotel.

Drinks were very good at the Mai Tai Bar. We had 3 lunches, 1 dinner and drinks & appetizers there daily and were never disappointed. Service can be slow during sunset but that is to be expected. The bartenders were all friendly and knowledgeable. We had 1 breakfast, 1 lunch and dinner the last night in their restaurant and the food and service were good.

The grounds of this hotel are lovely. A true oasis in the heart of the "zoo" called Waikiki! There were nice rocking chairs overlooking the coconut grove which were great to sit in an people watch or read a book. The hotel had a few shops that specialized in upscale Hawaiian items.

Overall this hotel exceeded our expectations for a Waikiki vacation based upon our previous stays at this hotel and The Halekulani. We travel to Hawaii regularly (56 trips since our marriage) and would not hesitate to stay here again when we want to be in the center of the action on Oahu or if our 2nd son decides to go to college at UH.

Room Tip: The 2 story Spa suites are located on ground floor of the tower. They have a nice patio. Historic room are larger but have small windows. Tower rooms all have balconies and ocean front views. Beware that some garden rooms face the parking entrance to Sheraton Waikiki next door as well as the delivery area and can be very noisy.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RPV5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear RPV5,
We're delighted to learn that you had an exceptional vacation with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We truly appreciate the time you took write your very thorough and honest review. We apologize that you did not receive consistent service while enjoying the beach and we thank you for sharing this information with us, as this allows us to work with our ambassadors to ensure improvements are made to the service delivery on our beach. We're pleased to learn that you enjoyed dining at our Mai Tai Bar and appreciate your feedback regarding service time during sunset. Thank you for choosing to stay at The Royal; we also hope to welcome you back for many more years to come, especially if your son decides to attend UH Manoa.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our room was a Royal Junior Suite-Garden View Rm (269). We chose this because we wanted to experience the original part of the hotel. We arrived at 2:30 and were told the room was not ready until 4:00 pm. They did offer us an up grade to the tower section however as noted we wished for the older section. When we entered the room we found clothing hung on the back of the restroom door with a used hotel robe. We also found no iron or board in the closet. Other than that the room was ready. This room has a sitting area off to the side however we found the temperature was at least 80+ degrees all of the time and could not sit in there until late at night after the sun was down. The air conditioning was not adequate enough to cool both the bedroom and this sitting area. The sliding windows in the sitting area only open 6" due to safety reasons. There are also louver windows on another wall however we had to notify maintenance that only half of them worked. The staff we encountered were excellent in all areas of the resort. We did also have our breakfast included on this trip. We will pass on option next time since it is a pre-selected set of options that were not to our liking. There is a standard menu available in which one can order from. The grounds are well kept. Pool area has lounges for use with umbrellas (A nice feature when the sun is overhead). They also have lounges on the beach area that have a fee. Great beach area! Great shopping in the entire complex in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Bottom line: Save on this type of room and stay in a standard one or take one in the tower since they have lanai's. I do believe the older section after this stay was not a good choice since it is rather dated and as noted the A/C is not adequate We have also have stayed at the Sheraton Waikiki next door twice in the past and found their rooms were a little more comfortable.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gene8001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Gene8001,
Thank you very much for taking the time to thoroughly review your recent stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We truly regret to learn that aspects of your vacation did not meet your expectations, as this was a very special trip for you. We've shared your concerns regarding the room assignment, breakfast and air conditioner in suite 269 with our management team to ensure appropriate follow-up and improvement. Please know that we appreciate your feedback, as this allows our team to continue to enhance our products and services to better server our guests. We're delighted that you enjoyed our private beach as well as our convenient location for shopping. We hope to welcome you back again to The Royal.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews