We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,092)
Filter reviews
4,092 results
Traveler rating
2,346
972
439
193
142
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,346
972
439
193
142
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe mai tai barthe pink palacemailani towerbanana breadsurf lanaiazure restaurantpink ladyhistoric sectionsheraton poolwaikiki beachbeach boysgarden vieworiginal buildingbeach chairsiconic hotelbeach stafftower rooms
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,185 - 2,190 of 4,092 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Second time we've stayed here. Everyone was A1 from our check-in person to our cleaning people. Close to everything. We were enjoying the hotel and Waikiki beach area so much, we decided not to hassle the traffic and go to the north shore....just hung out at the beach. Guess we'll have to come back so we can visit the north shore... :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TERRI P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear TERRI P,
Thank you so very much for taking the time to share you kind comments regarding your recent stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We're delighted to learn that you enjoyed your visit, and we also agree that you need to return so that you can visit the fabled North Shore. Waikiki is an iconic and magical place, but the North Shore truly offers unmatched beauty that you must experience! We hope to extend our warm hospitality to you again soon.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had 4 nights at The Royal Hawaiian, after getting engaged, and had a superb time. The rooms are beautifully done and the hotel grounds are step back in time. On arrival we were greeted with leis, a hibiscus tea and some banana bread (with the recipe attached in case we were interested). It's also a completely serene change of pace from the hustle and bustle of the shopping strip outside, and fronts onto a nice stretch of the beach looking east towards Diamond Head. Valet and staff were friendly and the Mai Tai bar is worth checking out, particularly for the live music and dancing.

Makes for a great base-camp too in terms of location as its an easy walk along the strip to Dukes if you want a cocktail or to La Mer if you want to celebrate a special occasion, and an easy drive onto the freeway if you want to check out the other coastlines or the outlet malls.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisJordan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear ChrisJordan55,
We are delighted to learn that you had an exceptional experience with us here at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. Congratulations on your recent engagement; we're thrilled to have played a small role in your "engagement honeymoon" and we most certainly hope to celebrate with you again on your honeymoon. We truly appreciate your kind comments regarding our ambassadors. Again, we hope to welcome you back to soon to the "Pink Palace of the Pacific."
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We just finished our stay at the Royal Hawaiian Hotel in Waikiki Beach. Our expectations were much higher than what we received here at the resort. We were welcomed by with a floral lei and great Bell and Valet attendants, then it started to go down hill from there. We go to check in and the first thing I am asked is; "do you want to upgrade your room to a ocean view for $100.00 a night more?" Gee, not even a welcome to our hotel? Our room was nice and our view of the garden is what I wanted. We did not receive the fresh fruit or banana bread as promised, but we did have the empty tray on our desk! My wife goes in the bathroom and there are no wash cloths. So we call down and the problem is taken care of. we go down to the pool (very small) and so we go out to the beach. The view is beautiful but you have to rent the lounge chairs for $40.00-50.00 a day. We give in and rent the lounge chairs and we wait for drink service. 30 minutes later we just walked to the bar and got our drinks. We go back to the room at 4:00 PM and it hasn't been made up! We call and they said they would send a maid so we leave and come back later on and the room is done. I go into the bathroom and see the coffee that I drank that morning was poured into the sink! No wash cloths again, and no sugar and cream for my next cup of coffee. I flag down a maid in the hallway and ask for a washcloth and she tells me they are working on finding some! What?? The next day comes and we ask the maid if someone could possibly clean our room, and she tells us that our room was not assigned to anyone to clean! OK, now I'm starting to get a little angry. I called down to the desk and they said the problem would be taken care of. The next day, once again, coffee in the sink, no creamer or sugar, and you got it, NO wash cloths! Don't get me wrong, this is a nice place with great location. For the money you pay to stay here, much more attention should be paid to the service aspect. When I told the front desk about our problems he told me to wait till the morning and talk to a front desk manager! Wow, not even an "I'm sorry sir!". Being a part time travel agent, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone but I would tell them to stay at one of the sister resorts, (Sheraton, Moana Surfrider, Princess Kaiulani). I'm not made of money, but when I do spend it for something nice, I would like to be able to enjoy my stay without having so many problems...

Room Tip: Stay in the garden view rooms. Better yet, stay at the Sheraton or Moana Surfrider.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alvin10897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Alvin10897,
It is with great regret that we learn of your disappointment with your recent stay at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. Your noted challenges with housekeeping are unacceptable and we sincerely apologize that your stay was anything less than exceptional due to this. We'd like to ensure this does not occur again and will send you a private message requesting for your room number so that our housekeeping managers can directly address this issue with their ambassadors. Our mission is to deliver the highest level of services and products to our guests and we truly apologize that we could not follow through on this during your stay. We do however appreciate your honest and fair feedback regarding your visit. We hope you will considering giving us another opportunity to extend our hospitality to that you expect and deserve from The Royal.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

From the check-in that included real flower leis and a delicious pink fruity drink, to the fresh fruit and banana bread delivered to our room the first night, our stay was simply amazing. The grounds are breathtaking and very well kept and the open air lobby is stunning. We stayed in the old building and the room was small but beautiful. The pool is small but you have access to the larger pool at the Sheraton next door. We were treated like royalty from check in to check out. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Amanda Z,
We are delighted to learn that you found your recent stay with us to be absolutely amazing. Thank you for taking the time to review The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We truly appreciate your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back again to the "Pink Palace of the Pacific."
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is my third stay at The Royal Hawaiian and it never disappoints. The property is so beautiful and the staff always friendly and helpful. We are spoiled now, no other property could ever compare to the luxurious experience we've had at the Royal Hawaiian.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Online Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Rosanne S,
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed another exceptional stay with us here at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. Thank you for your continued loyalty to The Royal as well as to Starwood Hawaii - we truly appreciate this and we look forward to welcoming you back for years to come.
Warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews