We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic, vintage, chic Hawaii”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Classic, vintage, chic Hawaii”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We recently spent 11 nights at The Royal Hawaiian in a Junior Garden Suite in the original hotel. This hotel is a beautiful garden oasis right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Waikiki Beach.

For what I imagine is a large hotel it feels small, not busy like the Sheraton next door which has tourist buses pulling up hourly. The recent renovation was very considered. The hotel's decor is classic vintage Hawaii. The art & light fittings a particular highlight.

What we liked about the hotel: it's placement right on the beachfront. Traveling with a baby made frequent trips to the beach/room very easy. The general low key feel of the hotel. The room was spacious, clean and the king size bed comfortable. Our suite had two separate rooms. A very large hotel room and a dedicated lounge room. As described the room looked over the gardens including a large tree with doves right in front of the window. It was quiet at night time except for Saturday night the whole area just seems busier. We also enjoyed some personal service from the hotel including an invitation to a drinks function with the General Manager. Concierge were extremely helpful in arranging car hire, dinner reservations & baby sitting.

What could have been better? We had to request a kettle and basic cutlery items for our room. I enjoy a cup of tea in the morning & at night but had to buy my own tea bags. A percolated coffee machine is in the room as standard and tea/coffee was available in the foyer daily until 9am. But staying in a suite I'd have thought this would have been included. The hair dryer was also very basic (and I left mine at home!). The bathroom is small but more than adequate. We were apply to buy beach mats and umbrella from the ABC shop and sit on the beach, but if you want a beach lounge you'll have to pay an additional US$40 a day which seems very expensive considereding its 'part of the deal' at other beach resorts around the world. The pool is small but right on the beach. Guests can use the Sheraton pool next door but that hotel is extremely busy (so good luck with that). A resort tax of US$35 per day is also charged and covers wi-fi, valet parking. The taxes and extra costs can quickly add up.

Overall we enjoyed staying here and would again (we factored in all taxes/charges before booking). The touch of pink detail everywhere is done with style and you can really feel the history in the place with photo memorabilia placed along corridors (including Bing Crosby with Hula girls!). If a 'tourist hotel' is not for you, then this could be your place to stay.

Room Tip: If you insist on a beach view stay in the tower. These rooms have uninterrupted views of the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank missyv13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Aloha Missyv13,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review. It is with complete joy to read your kind compliments about the resort ambassadors and the exceptional services you and your ‘ohana (family) experienced first hand. In the heart of Waikiki, it is the resort ambassadors, iconic architecture and the lush landscaping that makes The Royal Hawaiian a luxury destination and tranquil escape for our guests.

We will be sure to share your compliments with our ambassadors. We look forward to welcoming your ‘ohana back to our beautiful island home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,043
    858
    384
    171
    118
See reviews for
1,090
1,644
131
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (871)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indian springs, al
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We were impressed with the lovely grounds and friendly staff upon our arrival. Though we were earlier than normal check in, we were sent up to a room. Unfortunately, the room had not been cleaned. We called the desk and were immediately moved to a room down the hall. I tell you this so that you understand that we were prepared to be unhappy after the poor introduction. However, there was not a single flaw in the service for the remainder of our four day stay. We were in a tower room. The room was a good size. We kept our door to the veranda open a lot and enjoyed the sound of the waves from Wakiki Beach.

The concierge did a very good job of directing us or setting up excursions for us. We window shopped several of the shops on property. The operators were friendly whether or not we were making purchases. We enjoyed the historical significance of the property. It was good to see old pictures and read the book about the property provided in our room.

We would definitely stay here and recommend this property to friends.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank N K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Aloha NKK,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We believe The Royal Hawaiian and the resort ambassadors epitomize the elegance and grace unique in the Hawaiian value of ho’okipa. This is the welcoming of guests and strangers alike with complete generosity of Aloha spirit and hospitality. Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our hotel ambassadors are so proud to be a part of The Royal Hawaiian.

We will be sure to share your compliments with our resort ambassadors. We look forward to welcoming your ‘ohana back to our beautiful island home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

I have been staying at this hotel for over 10 years. There are pros and cons.

Pros:
Great location, the most beautiful property in Waikiki, historically significant, on the beach, great service, treat spg elite members very well.

Cons:
Rooms are a hit and miss. The tower rooms are smaller and ok. Recently stayed in the Spa Suite and it was a huge disappointment. The room was dark, furniture was a bit beat up and sparsely decorated. The best rooms are in the newly renovated historic building. Go for the Garden Junior Suite. I have stayed in several and always impressed. Ocean Junior Suite not so much. Advice, check the room out and if not satisfied call front desk for other room options. No two rooms are exactly the same.

Pools! This is a major issue as stated by other reviewers. There are two pools. The pool at the Royal Hawaiian is small and typically overrun with unruly screaming children, splashing and jumping in and out of the pool making is impossible for adult vacationers to relax quietly. Although the pool rules state no running, splashing etc, no one at RH enforces them.

There is a shared family pool between the RH and the Sheraton but it seems the people with small children prefer to sit at the RH pool. RH would be better served to label the resort pool as an adult pool. Families already have a much larger pool available to them. The Sheraton next door does offer an adult pool, but for their guests only. If your ideal is to sit around the pool, relax and perhaps read, I suggest the Sheraton next door.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Peahead59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Aloha Peahead59,

Thank you for the kind compliments and for taking the time to share your experiences at The Royal Hawaiian. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the excellent services provided by our resort ambassadors. The shared pool facility experience is always a favorite amenity with our guest. However, we regret to hear that your experience at the smaller pool was anything less than flawless. Your comments have been shared with our leaders for development. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful island soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I love this hotel - the location is just sublime - staff are lovely - rooms are usually good - doesn't quite meet the 5 star rating - this trip plumbing blocked / lamp broken - rectified quickly by staff but not good enough for the price . Lunch at the Surf Lanai was also very average - our daughter left a rather tasteless chicken noodle dish - much better options elsewhere.. and just to nitpick - No mini bar in the room is outmoded - come on Royal Hawaiian you can do better

Room Tip: Love the old building- Ocean view rooms fantastic but very pricey - Coconut Grove rooms good but ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Papindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Aloha Papindi,

Maholo for the kind compliments and for taking the time to share your experiences. Your feedback is very valuable to us and will be shared with our leaders for development. We look forward to welcoming your ‘ohana back to our beautiful island home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Pink Lady is an excellent place to stay if you are going to be in Waikiki. It is right on the water and just next to some great shopping. The service and rooms are very good. You pay for what you get but it is worth it. Also if your interested in history you should walk around and check out the pictures and plaques of all the people who have stayed there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Aloha Justice P,

Mahalo for your kinds words and for take the time to post a review. We look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Easy walking distance to Waikiki shopping, restaurants and beaches. We went during a busy time of year and the hotel is dwarfed by the nearby complexes. Despite the chaos of the area, the hotel was a sanctuary within a sea of people. This seemed to separate the Royal Hawaiian from the others in the area including the Sheraton next door. I had trouble deciding which one to reserve and I'm glad that I went with the Royal Hawaiian. The noise from the streets are still too loud but that is why you would go to Maui or other islands instead. Overall, the hotel made us feel very comfortable and the staff was attentive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Aloha Michael H

We are delighted to know you had an enjoyable stay with us and took advantage of the unique location The Royal Hawaiian offers. Our unique location is one of the many reasons The Royal Hawaiian is the luxury destination of choice in Waikiki. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Royal Hawaiian soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

"Mommy, we like Kauai, but can we leave early and go to the Royal?". This is why we ended our Spring Break trip, in Honolulu at the hotel that feels like home. The staff is always friendly, remembers us by name, and feel like old friends. The spacious rooms in the historic section are our favorite, and each is a little different than the other, one of the great characteristics of a classy historic hotel. If you like classy elegant hotels with long-time staff on a beautiful stretch of Waikiki Beach, the Royal Hawaiian is for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Aloha Sharon F,

Thank you for taking time to post a review and for the kind words. We are delighted to know you and the ohana had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back for your ohana back for your next Hawaiian vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,455 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,787 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,183 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Property: The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the iconic Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, ushered in a new era of luxurious resort travel to Hawaii. Situated in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers cultural activities, gold standard signature concierge service, valet parking, doctors-on-call, florist, currency exchange service, Japanese concierge, laundry and dry cleaning, dining service and world-class restaurants and bars, wireless internet access in rooms and all public areas, multi-lingual staff, 24-hour room service, business center, and beach and pool services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing