We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pink Palace - Oasis in the heart of Waikiki” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pink Palace - Oasis in the heart of Waikiki”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

My family have recently stayed in a garden view suite in the historic wing at the Royal Hawaiian for 14 days over the Christmas/New Year period. We had a truly magical time. The Royal Hawaiian is an oasis, right in the heart of central Waikiki Beach.
While this hotel doesn’t have all the mod cons that newer establishments such as Trump and Halekulani have, it makes up for it and more, in many other ways.
The Royal Hawaiian is special, and you feel that right from the moment you arrive. The lobby and public areas were beautifully decorated with divine pale pink Christmas trees and there were carol singers in the lobby each evening through the holiday period. The place just has a lovely vibe.
The management team hosted a magical Children’s Christmas Party for all the children staying in the hotel. They served hot chocolate and cookies and each child received a personalized gift from Santa Claus. Such a lovely touch.
The grounds are quite spectacular, and it is hard to believe that you are only footsteps away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. The lawns are expansive and the public areas are grand and spacious. You really do feel like you are staying in a palace.
Although the swimming pool is small, it is very warm and sheltered and not too busy. Very pleasant indeed. We spent many days around the pool and were always impressed with the pool service – complimentary smoothies and fresh fruit were handed around daily, and the food service for lunch was consistently good.
We stayed in a garden view suite which was spacious and very comfortable for our family (two adults and two children – 4 years and 6 years). The room was traditionally decorated in keeping with the rest of the resort and everything in the room was in pristine condition. The size of the room works perfectly for a family, with two bathrooms and two televisions.
Finally, I would like to make special mention of Cori Hara, Director of Guest Experience. Cori went “above and beyond” and exceeded all our expectations to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. She really knows what customer service is about. We will be back next year, and will be recommending to all our friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Porschagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Aloha Porschagirl

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review. It is with complete joy to read your kind compliments about our hotel ambassadors and the exceptional services you and your ‘ohana (family) experienced first hand. In the heart of Waikiki, it is the hotel ambassadors, iconic architecture and the lush landscaping that makes The Royal Hawaiian a luxury destination and tranquil escape for our guests.
We believe The Royal Hawaiian epitomizes the elegance and grace unique in the Hawaiian value of ho’okipa. This is the welcoming of guests and strangers alike with complete generosity of Aloha spirit and hospitality. Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our ambassadors are so proud to be a part of The Royal Hawaiian.
We will be sure to share your compliments with our ambassadors and with Cori Hara. We look forward to welcoming your ‘ohana back to our beautiful island home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,989
    846
    375
    167
    116
See reviews for
1,061
1,609
127
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (851)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Just perfection. Great location. Beautiful property right on the beach. Great place for a honeymoon or a business convention. Also so close to everything beautiful. A bit pricey like all places and things in Hawaii so venture out a bit to save some food money.

Room Tip: Worth a little extra for ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at The Royal Hawaiian. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the comforts of your guest room and the service you were provided.

We appreciate your loyalty and I hope your family will return to our address again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna,BC,Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have just returned from a short two week rest at the Royal Hawaiian and as usual had a great stay.Thank you to all the staff .....Kelly,Monica,Wendy,Gerrard,John, and a special thanks to the Waikiki beach beach services for a great time on the beach.
Ted Bush the owner of Waikiki beach services and Chuck the beach manager took us out on the outrigger canoe. We had the time of our lives riding the surf.This is a must do if you go to Hawaii.
Also ,Chuck who is Ted's right hand man couldn't have been more helpful in looking after our beach chairs and making this a relaxing vacation.
All the staff we saw during our stay were truly full of the ALOHA spirit and we will be back for more fun in 2013

Room Tip: We like the Historic rooms in the old building .High ceilings and more room is good for us but if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank letitride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Aloha letitride

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Royal Hawaiian. We sincerely appreciate your recognition. Our unique destination, unrivaled accommodations and exceptional hotel ambassadors are the foundations of The Royal Hawaiian. We pride ourselves on our personalized service, and we are delighted that you were able to experience this first hand. I will be sure to share your kind comments with each hotel ambassadors and their mangers. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Hawaiian as our ohana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights with our 2 kids (ages 6 and 8) in two adjoining rooms. Very nice greeting when you arrive (with fresh flower leis for the girls and kukui nut necklaces for the guys, cold towels and fresh juice) but check-in was slow. We were able to check in early which was appreciated. Love the location as you are slightly set back from the craziness of Kalakaua Avenue (hotel grounds set in behind the Royal Hawaiian shopping centre).

We had a room in the older section (no lanai but windows open). Rooms are thoroughly modern with mini-fridges, high ceilings and beautiful amenities. Note there is a mandatory "resort fee" which includes wi-fi, self-parking and discounted kids meals (we did not eat at the hotel). Because we had two adjoining rooms we had to pay a $25 connection fee each night as well as the resort fee for both rooms which I found annoying as one room was for the children (no self-parking necessary!).

One of the highlights of our stay was taking the tour of the hotel with Thelma, Director of Cultural Services. We learned so much about the history of the "pink palace", the area and the islands. Thelma was a wonderful guide.

The fitness centre, located in the lower lobby, had the usual equipment (treadmill, elliptical, bike, weights) all in working order. The pool itself is small but you have access to the Sheraton next door which has a kids pool with waterslide and two hot tubs (which kids can also use). The hot tub at the Royal Hawaiian is only for adults.

I found the beach attendants to be extremely friendly and helpful - shout out to "T"! We did an outrigger canoe ride (which we purchased from them and charged to the room). It was slightly pricier than other companies further down the beach but they supplied the extra paddlers (as were only 4) and included pictures in the price ($25 pp).

We had drinks one afternoon at the famous Mai Tai Bar which was very enjoyable. Did not eat other meals at the hotel as the hotel is within walking distance of many (more reasonably-priced) options.

Overall a wonderful stay in a historic charming hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dms666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Aloha dms666,

Thank you for taking the time to share the details from your stay at The Royal Hawaiian.

We agree that our Cultural Director, Thelma Kam is a gem to the resort. She is one of our foremost cultural voices with many inspiring stories to share for a lifetime. The resort’s cultural tour is well attended and loved by many of our guests. We will be sure to share your kind compliments with her.

We are delighted to know you had an enjoyable stay with us and took advantage of the unique location The Royal Hawaiian offers. Our unique location is one of the many reasons The Royal Hawaiian is the luxury destination of choice in Waikiki. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you and the ohana back to The Royal Hawaiian for your next Hawaiian Holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Since our son was born we prefer to have a separate sleeping area for him. This is the reason we decided spend the equivalent of a small car to stay at the Royal Hawaiian Hotel. I'm not kidding, we stayed for almost two weeks in a garden view suite and it cost the price of a small-ish second-hand car. Ouch.

We arrived around 9pm at night and received a lovely welcome. Unfortunately when we got to our suite we were bitterly disappointed, it looked NOTHING like the video in the website, VERY dated and weirdly set out, it had two double beds in the bedroom (how romantic) which were the oldest, most well-used (read: uncomfortable) beds I've ever been in. As it was so late and we had to get our 1yr old to sleep we made the best of it but contacted reception to see what could be done. We were told that there were no other rooms. After a number of phone calls the next morning we finally went down to reception - by that time I was starting to get upset that we had prepaid for our room and were not having any luck getting the room we paid for. (Perhaps a good reason not to pre-pay hotels!!) Finally we got someone to help us and were moved to a suite exactly as described/shown on the website. Yay success!

Other than that we enjoyed our stay - the staff were great, friendly and helpful. The location is fantastic. Unfortunately we had two days without the pool as it had to be drained and repaired but the beach is right there so no drama.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally_Sutherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Aloha Sally_Sutherland,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. While we regret to hear of your disappointment in the original suite assignment, we are pleased to know that everything worked out and you enjoyed the comforts of suite and the services you were provided.

We look forward to welcoming back to The Royal Hawaiian for your next Hawaiian Holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights and had the best time. I went during November when it was considered low season. The rooms were pristine, the staff was SO accommodating and it's right next to high end boutiques. You will love this place! It's just the right amount of fun and relaxation all wrapped up in a super luxurious hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Aloha JR R,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at The Royal Hawaiian. Our staff strives to provide uncompromising service to all our guests and I am pleased to read you experienced this first hand.

Thank you for your kind words and I hope you will choose to visit the Royal Hawaiian again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Royal Hawaiian has earned themselves a loyal customer, if I ever have the chance to come back to Oahu. At the "Pink Palace" they truly treat you as if you were living in a palace. I stayed in an oceanfront room with family, and the view was gorgeous. Housekeeping knew us by name, and made sure we were always comfortable. A specific lady-who I forget the name of, but has worked there for about 37 or 38 years she said, was wonderful to us.

On top of that they have a great store downstairs, comfortable beds, great views, and wonderful staff. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone who is going for the beach, shopping, or as a retreat.

The only complaint I have is the shower. With how the shower head aimed, it made it easy for water to escape in the back, and flow onto the floor. You have to position it just right, because the first night here I soaked the floor. But I do believe the shower is a small price to pay for everything else!

Great job!

Room Tip: Ask them for whatever you want, they will more than likely be able to get it for you! They are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xKissingFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Aloha xKissingFire,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide uncompromising service to all our guests and we are pleased to hear you experienced this first hand.

Your comments regarding the positioning of the showerhead will be shared for follow-up. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to your next visit to The Royal Hawaiian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,435 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,101 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Property: The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the iconic Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, ushered in a new era of luxurious resort travel to Hawaii. Situated in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers cultural activities, gold standard signature concierge service, valet parking, doctors-on-call, florist, currency exchange service, Japanese concierge, laundry and dry cleaning, dining service and world-class restaurants and bars, wireless internet access in rooms and all public areas, multi-lingual staff, 24-hour room service, business center, and beach and pool services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing