We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel staff ruined my wedding proposal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The hotel staff ruined my wedding proposal”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I was planning to propose for my 6 months and planned this trip accordingly. I requested a tower room on the 16th floor corner for months,. I spoke to everyone at the hotel, documented by emails, dates, times etc. Walter at the front desk, Leimomi, Evan the manager. Starwoods since I am a gold member etc. I even called the day before and they said I had the room. The reason this location was such a big deal is my girlfriend is a balcony fanatic and I was going to propse on the balcony. When I got there, we did not get the room, our balcony was shaded, my girlfriend was bummed and proposing on the balcony was out of the question. I spoke to all the hotel staff, as well as left messages for the general manager, nothing was done to move us. My last hope was to propose on the beach the next day. We had reserved an umbrella and chairs on the beach and my girlfriend loves the beach! I spoke to the staff and they specifically said this was the front row and nothing between the chairs and the water. We come out and there is 2 rows of chaird in front of us, all full and the hotel was full too. Needless to say I did not propose this trip, it was one nightmare after another and zero accomodation from the staff. Would never come again.

Room Tip: Don't come here for a special occasion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank JusJenBlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
We are so sorry to hear that you felt so let down and we sincerely apologize for your experience. We absolutely understand how disappointed you must have been and we really wish we could have done more for your special situation. Unfortunately, due to such high occupancy we could not upgrade you to a Tower Ocean Suite, which are the rooms on the corners of the 16th floor. According to our notes and your booking category, you had requested the second to last room on the 16th floor, which is a regular Tower Ocean guestroom and the balcony is a little shaded due to the curve of the building, and is not a wrap around balcony. We do apologize if this was not made clear to you prior to your arrival.
We are also sorry to hear that your second plan fell through as well. Our beach team can certainly promise front row seating in our exclusive Royal beach section, as they did for you, but cannot control who sits beyond that area as Hawaii beaches are public.
We so hope that you understand our predicament and we apologize again for being unable to provide the exclusivity you had hoped for. We are always here to help or discuss the matter further or assist with any future needs you have.
Thank you for sharing your experience; we are so sorry that your time with us was not what you had envisioned. With kind regards, The Royal Hawaiian Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,168
    898
    399
    177
    125
See reviews for
1,167
1,721
140
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (910)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The Royal Hawaiian is an island of serenity surrounded by the bustle of Waikiki. The property somehow seems isolated despite its location. The service was exemplary, with all levels of staff serving with genuine friendliness and care. The recent renovations maintain the charm of its 1920s heritage, but the amenities are distinctly modern. While the pools are small, we never set foot in them as Waikiki Beach is steps away.

This is an expensive hotel, and while the service, amenities and ambiance certainly exceed expectations, it was still hard not to feel slightly cheated that beach chairs and umbrellas were an additional cost. Perhaps the fact that the vast majority went unused will cause the management to rethink this policy.

Room Tip: Jr. Suites are giant (despite the "Junior" designation).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDRoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you ever so much for your wonderful words about our historic resort. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the serenity and tranquility of our garden oasis in the middle of Waikiki, and found our staff to deliver aloha-spirited service. We are also delighted that you liked our merge of classic charm and modern amenities - mahalo for sharing our love of Hawaiian heritage.
We thank you also for your feedback on our new Beach Reservation policy. We certain don't mean for our guests to feel cheated, in fact it is meant to provide ease of use following previous concerns. We will be passing your comment along to Management and thank you again for sharing your feelings with us - guest feedback is most valued and we are very grateful to you.
Mahalo nui loa until next time, The Royal Hawaiian Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We visited the Royal Hawaiian twice this summer and had a great experience each time. The rooms in the "tower" are newer and offer a large balcony to view Waikiki Beach whereas the original portion of the property has an "old world" feel, like you would have in any stately hotel that's over 100 years old. We had each type of room during our two stays and liked both. Having breakfast at the Surf Lanai looking onto Waikiki Beach is a very unique experience.

If you stay here, be aware the hotel shares services at the Sheraton right next door, such as coin-operated washer and dryers and an airport shuttle, which the Royal Hawaiian person told me the hotel does not offer when I called before the trip.

My only complaint is the check-in lines were unacceptable for a hotel of this stature ($300-$500/night). During both of my stays, for check-in and check-out, I had to stand in line for 5-10 minutes because they had only 2 people working their check-in area, which was too few for a hotel this size.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jelarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for joining us twice this summer and for trying out both our accommodation types - the Historic Section and the Royal Beach Tower. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed both guestroom styles with their own unique features. We thank you also for your kind words about our Surf Lanai Restaurant experience.
We are so sorry to hear that one of our representatives misinformed you about the services available to you as a valued Starwood guest. You are absolutely correct - while we only offer door to door laundry and dry cleaning service at The Royal Hawaiian - the Sheraton next door caters to guests who prefer to self-launder their items. We do also offer the resort shuttle, for a nominal fee, which stops at all four of our Starwood Waikiki properties. It is most concerning to us that this was not communicated to you and we greatly appreciate you letting us know so that we may address this with our ambassadors and ensure all our amenities are made available to every guest.
We are also grateful for your concern regarding the front desk wait times, and we have passed your feedback along to our Front Office Manager to resolve any delays during such high occupancy periods.
Despite these concerns, we are so pleased that you had a lovely stay with us on both occasions. We thank you again for all your excellent feedback and we look forward to your third visit! Until then, best regards and aloha from all of us at The Royal Hawaiian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had an amazing time in Honolulu and would go back over and over again. The Royal Hawaiian was everything we were hoping for and got our money's worth. The pool is small but it was ok. Who wants to spend too much time in it when you have an ocean such as the one there? beach access is good and even though not all the rooms have the best ocean view in town the beauty of everything else (the building the service the food the stores the location the nature) makes it perfect. And for those visiting it... enjoy the bathroom!!! and if you buy the pink robes( for men and women) you wont regreat it!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
We are thrilled to hear that you had such an amazing time in Pink Paradise and would love to return time and time again. Thank you ever so much for sharing that you felt our service and facilities lived up to our reputation and your money's worth, and that the beauty and location of our resort makes for a perfect vacation. We are also so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our modernized bathrooms and our signature pink robes! Mahalo nui loa until next time, The Royal Hawaiian Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed our stay at the Royal Hawaiian Waikiki. We had an ocean view room in the tower with an amazing view. I'd highly recommend the nice view, though it sure comes with a price. I found everything to be over priced and felt a bit nickel and dimed. Even after spending hundreds on a room, you have to pay for a chair on the beach or a surfboard or paddle board. Bar is in the perfect location, drink prices rediculous. Restaurant is right on the beach, but you can't get a breakfast for under $20 a person. Has its pros and cons. It's very nice, though not as fancy as I thought it would be. Pool is tiny which makes it less of a draw for kids which I personally thought was a plus.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shenanae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for your kind words about our Royal Beach Tower guestrooms with their stunning ocean views. We are also so pleased that you found our intimate Royal pool to be the tranquil environment it's meant to be. We are sorry to hear however that you felt a bit nickled and dimed, and that concerns us as we certainly don't wish for our guests to leave feeling that way. Waikiki is an expensive location and we do all we can to make the facilities and dining prices as affordable as possible for our guests, and we greatly value feedback so that our management team can further access our policies and offerings.
Thank you again for sharing this important feedback with us and for letting us know that other than the price point you had a very enjoyable stay.
With kind regards and many thanks again, The Royal Hawaiian Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Each time I stay at this hotel it just gets better! The staff is extraordinary; the rooms well appointed and the food at both Surf Lanai & Azure is delicious. It's a bit pricey, but other than that, I can't say enough good about this place.

Room Tip: Tip: If you want a taste of old Hawaii, definitely ask for the original section of the hotel and no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pasoporaqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Mahalo nui loa for your very kind compliments. Nothing makes us happier than to hear that our guests are so happy with our Royal experience and find everything from our guestrooms, dining and service to be exceptional. Thank you for your loyalty to our resort and for taking the time to write such wonderful words about your stays with us. We can't wait to welcome you back again! With many thanks and aloha from all of us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The Royal Hawaiian has beautiful grounds and history. However, this property is definitely overrated. The service is poor. The staff was indifferent and rude at times. Our tower room was never cleaned before 4:00 p.m.. One day, we actually ran out of toilet paper and called down to the front desk twice to no avail. Finally, my husband found a cleaning cart and took a roll - totally UNACCEPTABLE! We will NEVER stay at this property again. I recommend doing your research before staying at this property. Very disappointing... However, our stay at the North Shore at Turtle Bay was awesome!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Informed12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Aloha and thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you found our manicured garden oasis and classic resort to be so beautiful, but are very sorry that you felt our service levels did not live up to our usual luxury standard. We certainly don't wish for our staff to come across as indifferent, let alone rude, and we sincerely apologize for the experience you had. It is also certainly not up to our Royal standard to have any housekeeping left unattended and we are so sorry for these incidents and so pleased that you brought them to our attention so that we may address this with management and ensure such atypical issues do not occur again in the future.
Thank you again for expressing your concerns - we appreciate it - and we are truly sorry that you left disappointed. We so hope for the opportunity to deliver the true Royal experience for which we are known sometime in the future.
With kind regards and many thanks again, The Royal Hawaiian Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,540 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,013 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Property: The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the iconic Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, ushered in a new era of luxurious resort travel to Hawaii. Situated in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers cultural activities, gold standard signature concierge service, valet parking, doctors-on-call, florist, currency exchange service, Japanese concierge, laundry and dry cleaning, dining service and world-class restaurants and bars, wireless internet access in rooms and all public areas, multi-lingual staff, 24-hour room service, business center, and beach and pool services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing