We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,268)
Filter reviews
4,268 results
Traveler rating
2,448
1,004
453
205
158
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,448
1,004
453
205
158
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe mai tai barthe pink palacemailani towerbanana breadsurf lanaiazure restaurantpink ladyhistoric sectionsheraton poolwaikiki beachgarden viewbeach boyshistoric roomsoriginal buildingiconic hotelbeach chairsbeach staff
Filter
Updating list...
2,735 - 2,740 of 4,268 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2012

After many hours of plane from Argentina via Dallas we arrived to these incredible building in the most perfect location of all waikiki beach. The room was great, beatiful woodden bed and very clean.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerente15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Thank you for visiting us all the way from Argentina. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our beautiful historic architecture, central location and world famous beach. We are also thrilled that you found your guestroom to be so charming and pristine and we greatly appreciate you sharing your experience. Many thanks and best regards from all of us at The Royal Hawaiian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Everything you'd expect from a high end hotel. Love the old style charm and the staff is amazing. Not overly anxious to wait on you hand and foot but there when you need them. I have to admit my experience is tainted because I am a Starwood Platinum member but I always find that for the higher amount of money you pay to stay here it is well worth it when compared to other Starwood properties (i.e. the Moana Westin not as gracious). GM Kelly is wonderful about accommodating special requests when traveling with small children. Food is quite good as well. I travel to HI for business and pleasure a couple of times per year and stay here every time.

If I had to say anything bad about the place it would be that the hotel is obviously old and the old wing could use another round of renovations to stay on par with other similar priced hotels in resort destinations.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ssbmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Mahalo, we are delighted to hear that you find everything to be on the luxury level it should be at our 5 star resort and we greatly appreciate your kind words. Thank you for commenting on our resort's historic charm, our gracious staff, our accommodating General Manager and our delicious dining options. We are grateful for your loyalty to Starwood and we are so pleased that you find our property to provide such value for money.
Until your next visit, aloha and mahalo nui loa from all of us at The Royal Hawaiian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

What an incredible Hotel! The history alone makes it an unforgettable place to stay. Right on the Beach in the heart of Waikiki. The Mai Tai Bar is the place to enjoy your morning coffee and paper - both complementary. The Royal Hawaiian was always too rich for my blood, but the Hotel web site has packages that include Airfare and make an almost reasonable deal - certainly a doable splurge.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a Garden View room. Not much to look at, but it was better than the hotel face next door.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amb_on_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Mahalo nui loa for your wonderful compliments about our Pink Palace. We are so pleased that you had such a fantastic vacation and enjoyed our complimentary morning coffee just steps from the Pacific Ocean. We also appreciate your great recommendation of our accommodation and airfare packages available on our website, and we are so glad that you found the offers useful.
Thank you again for your kind works and aloha from all of us at The Royal Hawaiian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Perfect spot to stay in the heart of Waikiki beach Oahu, HI. This hotel is right on the beach and a block from all major shopping of famous brands boutiques. The famous Mai Tai Bar is there and a reserved beach area. There is a small adult pool, cabanas, and hot tub, with another pool for the kids. They have a famous luau Monday night only, the food is okay, small portions, but the show is what wows you at $150 each. Lots of little cute boutique shops onsite. The Azsure restaurant has amazing food and high prices, but it is worth it for special occasions as the food was great. Recently renovated bathrooms, good sized rooms in the old hotel with peekaboo views of the ocean. Smaller rooms in the newer towers but have better views of the water. Tons of old style charm and elegance. On the down side, have to walk through the shared Sheraton entry to get to your hotel, if you need to take a tour bus you also have to go to the Sheraton to get a ride there. You can hear your neighbors sometimes. Lots of weddings happen here. The local canoe boats dock nearby with their honking horns. Service was always great!

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden room which is in the original hotel, the higher the better try 5th or 6th floors. The Tower rooms are smaller but have better views of the water.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Buzzsaw22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Thank you for sharing such an informative review about your recent stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We are delighted that you found our beachfront location, central to the high end shopping in Waikiki, to be so fantastic, and that you enjoyed our amenities, Aha 'Aina - a Royal Luau, and our award-winning restaurant, Azure.
Mahalo also for your mention of our guestroom renovations and the charm and elegance that pervades.
We do hope that although the main driveway entrance to our resort is from the street that is shared with the Sheraton, you located the easily accessible walkway entrances through the Royal Hawaiian Center and found the offset location to provide a tranquil experience.
We couldn't be happier to hear that you felt our service was great and from all of us at The Royal Hawaiian, we send aloha, thanks and hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed at the Royal Hawaiian for a week to celebrate our one year wedding anniversary, and even before we arrived, we already experienced the aloha spirit through the hardwork and dedication of Ms. Jennifer Kim with the RH Concierge, who assisted us with booking dinner and our spa services. We had an oceanfront dinner at Azure that was out of this world, and we also received a congratulatory card from Ms. Kim on behalf of the hotel. We also had spa services that were awesome at the Abhasa spa. All the hotel personnel that we encountered were nice and cheerful. We stayed in the original building with the hand carved wooden doors, and we absolutely loved the historic feel and charm. I fell in love with the Royal Hawaiian and with Hawai'i, and I can't wait to go back! Mahalo nui loa Royal Hawaiian for our unforgettable trip.

Room Tip: If you love historic places, definitely try and get a room in the original historic building.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wande E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Congratulations on your Wedding Anniversary; thank you for choosing to celebrate with us for sharing that the aloha spirit surrounds our Pink Palace. We are very grateful for your kind words about the excellent service you received from Jennifer, and we thank you so much for providing us with the opportunity to congratulate her on her exceptional work.
We are also pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your ocean front dining experience at Azure Restaurant, as well as your spa services at our onsite Abhasa garden spa.
We appreciate your wonderful recommendations about our charming guestrooms and your kind words about our cheerful service.
Nothing makes us happier than hearing that our guest fall in love with our resort, and we too cannot wait for your return. Until then, best regards and aloha from all of us at The Royal Hawaiian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews